Recommend a book to a fellow reader

Lala81

38 minutes ago, YumiKousaka said:

Just to share some experience about buying books 

If you are a big reader, not sure if you hear about Book Depository? It's a place where you can get brand new books and usually on a very good price.

I bought two books from a carousell seller and paid her 40 SDG. Welllll... i got to say, it's not considering too expensive.

But loll the funny thing is that i receive two books just now (3-4 weeks after the order placed), and there is a receipt inside the parcel. two books actually cost 24.85 SGD!

So yupppp... the seller basically mark up twice the price and sell it lollll

Wellll.... it's my fault also that I nvr check the price 😂but share this so you guys wont fall for it lolll

Join this thread. Welcome

On 9/18/2016 at 5:53 PM, Lala81 said:

Ok was inspired by some of the bookworm threads in HWZ.

Reading books maybe considered old fashioned in this day and age. I was clearing out some books and comics out from my parents' storeroom as they are undergoing renovation, so was inspired to start this thread.

You can strongly recommend a book or the book you are currently reading.

Of course there are sites like goodreads. But I'm curious if any of you still read actively. Any genre is fine except for tiko ones.

I read mostly fantasy/urban fantasy/thrillers and more "serious" books.

Currently I'm reading this. Thinking, fast and slow by Danial Kahneman.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/11468377-thinking-fast-and-slow

Do chip in with what you are reading or what you think is a MUST READ!  [grin]

heyyyy~thanks for linking me to this thread!  lolllll cuz im searching for good books to read too.

How is this "thinking, fast and slow"? recommend to read? 

1 hour ago, YumiKousaka said:

heyyyy~thanks for linking me to this thread!  lolllll cuz im searching for good books to read too.

How is this "thinking, fast and slow"? recommend to read? 

It's something that goes into detail on the studies/experiments that they tried to conduct to help show cognitive biases innate in all humans.

Recommended but it's not the easiest book to read at times. Esp if u read and pick up later.

Read these 3 over a number of weeks.

The immortalists. ....Chloe Benjamin

The fishermen......chigozie obioma

Similar themes...some siblings learn of when or how they die and things begin to unravel.

A brief history of China....Jonathan Clements

Rise and fall of dynasties linked to climate change, which brought about human migration. All along I had presumed human factors at work like corrupted officials.

Read 29% of this but gave up. Just can’t go on maybe written too Long ago, not used to the wordings.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18478222-twelve-years-a-slave?ac=1&from_search=true&qid=5K6UmVllgx&rank=1

Now reading this,

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36809135-where-the-crawdads-sing?ac=1&from_search=true&qid=pveSHLHlFP&rank=1

Read this half way from NLB skip the queue line. Waiting to get it back in 4 weeks through my hold placed list. I placed hold in early December last year, Obama has many fans.
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/38746485-becoming?ac=1&from_search=true&qid=TSQQRBYWxk&rank=1

19 minutes ago, Cloud9 said:

Finished reading “Where the crawdads sing” touching I had cried..

Read this one cry faster... and harder for me😂

18F303B3-2922-4E61-AA38-FC28421D1056.jpeg

Reading currently....

https://www.ethosbooks.com.sg/products/this-is-what-inequality-looks-like

Unlimited copies available during CB from nlb for e-book. What many helping hands, what leave no one behind, what inclusive society....empty words leh.

Reading slowly...in between chapters read 6 books by Richard Stark of the Parker series. Enjoyable light reading. Reminds me of 古龙小说 for some reasons.

The mourner.

The score

Slayground

Plunder squad

2 more cannot remember. Ha.

On 5/20/2020 at 8:40 PM, TangoCharlie said:

Reading currently....

https://www.ethosbooks.com.sg/products/this-is-what-inequality-looks-like

Unlimited copies available during CB from nlb for e-book. What many helping hands, what leave no one behind, what inclusive society....empty words leh.

Reading slowly...in between chapters read 6 books by Richard Stark of the Parker series. Enjoyable light reading. Reminds me of 古龙小说 for some reasons.

The mourner.

The score

Slayground

Plunder squad

2 more cannot remember. Ha.

haha coincidentally this is also what I started reading today.

I didn't know NLB had unlimited e-books for this period. 

https://www.nlb.gov.sg/biblio/203024529

5 minutes ago, TangoCharlie said:

Only Singaporean authors. This book has hundreds on waiting list when I checked some months back. Mai tu liao.

oh ok.

haha i thought so good deal.

recently finished "Roots" by Alex Hailey - super good read, 

before that it was Becoming by Michelle Obama - highly recommended 

Currently reading "The Hate you Give" - not reached the ending yet, but so far is very very good

An oldie, relevant for Singapore is OB Markers, my Straits Times Story, very revealing! 

If you like to be scared, either Full Dark, No Stars or 4 Past Midnight (both by Stephen King) are really good.