Putumayam 1st Gear September 21, 2016 Share September 21, 2016 (edited) Again mis conception ,,, low COE price doesnt mean the road will be more crowded.. the quota still same. the only way to make road less crowded is to reduce th quota release. when deregister car more than register car, negative growth.Its a chicken and egg analysis based on demand and supply. If COE was 1 million not all quotas will be taken up and the roads will definitely be less crowded. To be more specific, the vehicle growth formula will change based on existing price demand n supply. Edited September 21, 2016 by Putumayam ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heman75 Supercharged September 21, 2016 Share September 21, 2016 Its a chicken and egg analysis based on demand and supply. If COE was 1 million not all quotas will be taken up and the roads will definitely be less crowded. To be more specific, the vehicle growth formula will change based on existing price demand n supply. demand is always there ... 1million coe may see excess but the next round when roll over it can drop to 1dollar and all snap up. so it is still quota that counts. price is just an indication of acceptance level. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic September 21, 2016 Share September 21, 2016 roadshow at Waterway Point Wah demand so strong 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Valrosx 3rd Gear September 21, 2016 Share September 21, 2016 Compared to 2012 2013 when COEs reached highs of 90+K, 50k now is actually a sustainable level to maintain the current car population. If COE goes down, and the roads can more crowded, cant imagine how driving is even possible. Plus the govts push for a carlite future Singapore, its rather unlikely to see the 20k COEs again. All govt needs to do is moderate the vehicle growth further to sustain current COE. COE quota is fixed leh, 100,000 COE means 100,000 (whatever the "market" price for COE), there won't be extra +1 car on the road. And with every bidding having surplus (unsuccessful) bidders COE will most likely not go down $50k this year, as many more on the $40k fence will jump in once prices breaks the support level and dealers being dealers, bid higher to secure your car. Many more COE are also being renewed, so no "fresh" COE are recycled into the market, thus sustaining that $50k level. Anyway its been year after year after year, i hear la, see la, talk to people la about COE, gets really tiring and bored at times on subject COE. Have the $, whether $15k / $50k / $90k COE, do your financial planning prudently then buy that car, short and simple. No $, don't kpkb about govt policy on COE / loan restrictions / higher season or parking charges, why not ask ourself, why we can't earn more $$$. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heman75 Supercharged September 21, 2016 Share September 21, 2016 no more Renaults or any french rubbish for me. Never never. ya in singapore context not good.. i sold my 2yr old renault GS only slightly above paper value after over trade. no one want so either drive till ten years or dont buy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged September 21, 2016 Share September 21, 2016 Compared to 2012 2013 when COEs reached highs of 90+K, 50k now is actually a sustainable level to maintain the current car population. If COE goes down, and the roads can more crowded, cant imagine how driving is even possible. Plus the govts push for a carlite future Singapore, its rather unlikely to see the 20k COEs again. All govt needs to do is moderate the vehicle growth further to sustain current COE. Harlow, whether coe is $1 or $1mil, the quota is fixed. Got nothing to do with congestion 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heman75 Supercharged September 21, 2016 Share September 21, 2016 COE quota is fixed leh, 100,000 COE means 100,000 (whatever the "market" price for COE), there won't be extra +1 car on the road. And with every bidding having surplus (unsuccessful) bidders COE will most likely not go down $50k this year, as many more on the $40k fence will jump in once prices breaks the support level and dealers being dealers, bid higher to secure your car. Many more COE are also being renewed, so no "fresh" COE are recycled into the market, thus sustaining that $50k level. Anyway its been year after year after year, i hear la, see la, talk to people la about COE, gets really tiring and bored at times on subject COE. Have the $, whether $15k / $50k / $90k COE, do your financial planning prudently then buy that car, short and simple. No $, don't kpkb about govt policy on COE / loan restrictions / higher season or parking charges, why not ask ourself, why we can't earn more $$$. yup.. car to me is luxury items and i rather it stay that way in singapore. reduce quota as much as possible and make road clear. i dont believe in the saying some die die must have car due work or family. if car is very expensive and beyond reach, job that require car will eventually see the company providing one. also you will eventually see more options like taxi or private with fix regular arrangement. it becomes business opportunities when car becomes non affordable. Harlow, whether coe is $1 or $1mil, the quota is fixed. Got nothing to do with congestion ya .. his concept is funny .. he said moderate the coe growth to sustain the price level. not to ease the conjestion. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Axela72 5th Gear September 21, 2016 Share September 21, 2016 yup.. car to me is luxury items and i rather it stay that way in singapore. reduce quota as much as possible and make road clear. i dont believe in the saying some die die must have car due work or family. if car is very expensive and beyond reach, job that require car will eventually see the company providing one. also you will eventually see more options like taxi or private with fix regular arrangement. it becomes business opportunities when car becomes non affordable. ya .. his concept is funny .. he said moderate the coe growth to sustain the price level. not to ease the conjestion. Basically focus on his own self interest lah 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic September 21, 2016 Share September 21, 2016 Will the COE results be released today to potential buyers, or only tomorrow? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leion Clutched September 21, 2016 Share September 21, 2016 Will the COE results be released today to potential buyers, or only tomorrow? https://ocoe.lta.gov.sg/PaInternetAction.do Can check here Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Putumayam 1st Gear September 21, 2016 Share September 21, 2016 Harlow, whether coe is $1 or $1mil, the quota is fixed. Got nothing to do with congestionAgree that quota is fixed, but like i said, obly if you think the formula is fixed. But u also have to factor in government intervention that messes with the growth rate, release in quotas etc. All these are dependent on market conditions and govt policy gog fwd. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged September 21, 2016 Share September 21, 2016 Agree that quota is fixed, but like i said, obly if you think the formula is fixed. But u also have to factor in government intervention that messes with the growth rate, release in quotas etc. All these are dependent on market conditions and govt policy gog fwd. Harlow..watever formula, gov intervention, etc. It only affects the quota. Coe price got nothing to Do with number of cars on the road. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heman75 Supercharged September 21, 2016 Share September 21, 2016 Harlow..watever formula, gov intervention, etc. It only affects the quota. Coe price got nothing to Do with number of cars on the road. I think he knows just that he way he phrases it got misunderstood. that is the power of words. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic September 21, 2016 Share September 21, 2016 https://ocoe.lta.gov.sg/PaInternetAction.do Can check here Thanks, I guess if I can't find my NRIC - that means the company didn't bid for me this time round? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leion Clutched September 21, 2016 Share September 21, 2016 Thanks, I guess if I can't find my NRIC - that means the company didn't bid for me this time round?Try again later only 100 bids now Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic September 21, 2016 Share September 21, 2016 car buyers and people waiting on the sidelines hoping for big drop. people who have bought cars hope it remains high. LLST Thanks, I guess if I can't find my NRIC - that means the company didn't bid for me this time round? so what did you buy in the end? usually the bigger AD after lunch they start to key in. wait and see Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic September 21, 2016 Share September 21, 2016 I wonder if there's a staff member at these dealers, who simply sits at a PC and punches in quotes and watches the prices :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
havcove 1st Gear September 21, 2016 Share September 21, 2016 Thanks, I guess if I can't find my NRIC - that means the company didn't bid for me this time round? try searching at around 3pm.. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...