What did you makan today? The 2nd story!

Elite in shanghai enjoying life huh ð

peasant kah kia working like a dog.....

....gie

jin pai mia one

Anyone know how the Lor Neng with soft yolk was made? Slow / Low temp cooking?

2qny35z.jpg

If I can recall, these are the steps ...

1. Add Salt into Water to Boil ...

(This is to assist in peeling and solidifying the egg white incase the egg cracks when Boiling)

2. Bring Temp down to just below Boiling ... Very Slow Bubbling ... 

(This is to prevent the egg from cracking or alternatively, you can use a pin to puncture the bottom of the shell)

3. Shake Egg Vigorously before lowing into water ...

(This is to Separate the Yolk from the Membrane so it stays in the centre and not the side)

4. Low Temp Boiling for 5mins 45sec - 6mins ...

5. Remove Eggs and set in Cold Water to Shock ... Peel after 5mins ...

5. Prepare a Zip Lock Bag with Cool Braising Sauce ... 

6. Put Eggs into Zip Lock Bag and leave it in the fridge over night ...

(Eggs will float in a Pot of Sauce so you will not get an even Braised Colour so its easier this way)

My Wife use this method to Braise Eggs when she makes Braised Duck and Pork Trotter ... Hope it works for you ...

Edited by Chowyunfatt
  • Praise 11

3. Shake Egg Vigorously before lowing into water ...

Somehow that doesn't sound quite right

Long Long time no eat this liao.

Went to eat yesterday and realised price went up by so much.

$5 plus excluding otak for this.

Laksa $5 really ex. Nowadays, all f**king things ex. One plate fried Hokkien prawn mee at Kallang Airport HC $8 though taste is
  • Praise 13

Laksa $5 really ex. Nowadays, all f**king things ex. One plate fried Hokkien prawn mee at Kallang Airport HC $8 though taste is

Pa walked into kitchen

Me: pa, I open one for u to try

Pa: ok, open the ugliest one

Ma: there's no ugly one, all nice

Me: nah, u choose one (from string of three)

Pa: wah! This one Kia si Lang

Me: why?!

Pa: this one must be u bao one

Me: ya....how u know

Pa: center never bao properly, water went in already

Laughter broke out in the kitchen

Me: ok lor....like that also can tell

post-145464-0-93755200-1495885931_thumb.jpg

post-145464-0-75466100-1495885963_thumb.jpg

• Praise 20

Pa walked into kitchen

Me: pa, I open one for u to try

Pa: ok, open the ugliest one

Ma: there's no ugly one, all nice

Me: nah, u choose one (from string of three)

Pa: wah! This one Kia si Lang

Me: why?!

Pa: this one must be u bao one

Me: ya....how u know

Pa: center never bao properly, water went in already

Laughter broke out in the kitchen

Me: ok lor....like that also can tell

Dinner w wife at IMM

Pork chop fried rice, wonton soup and xiaolong bao 3 styles: normal, salted egg yolm and chili crab

post-168056-0-14732500-1495898652_thumb.jpg

post-168056-0-48983900-1495898660_thumb.jpg

post-168056-0-71622200-1495898667_thumb.jpg

• Praise 25