Bystander50 5th Gear August 19, 2016 Share August 19, 2016 On 8/19/2016 at 2:21 AM, Joseph22 said: How they send to you?? This type not under dangerous good declaration?? Fire extinguishers can't be dangerous right, depends on which angle you view it from. Sent via sea shipping. On 8/19/2016 at 4:21 AM, Chickenfarm said: Nowadays, HomeFix and even NTUC Fairprice also got sell. The next time you do grocery shopping, just drop one into the cart. I had bought 1 from Giant few years ago. Spray can type like insecticide. Doubt that is of much use in a real fire, but $10 only. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear August 19, 2016 Share August 19, 2016 On 8/19/2016 at 1:40 AM, Count-Bracula said: Does it work? I want the PHOOOOOOOOSH type and the the pew pew pew ones Tested fired both ,,, it works though, can feel the pressure coming out from the nozzle. Probably every 6 months just give it 1 or 2 squeeze to see if the pressure remains. Rather not trust the indicator on it. SG has SCDF approved list of fire extinguishers refilling companies, but not sure if they are willing to refill those not bought from them. If not, just discard and buy online again since I doubt the refilling will be cheap. On 8/19/2016 at 2:01 AM, Lala81 said: Bro, got link? Most basic fire insurance only cover damage to structure. And where to show the invoice of all the things u bought, the equipment etc? All are likely lost in the fire. Eh this is not zheng hu building. Pay contractor, every damn thing need to cash upfront one. Insurance payout not so simple one. https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r.1.14.160.1F538q&id=521010749293&ns=1&abbucket=14#detail Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 19, 2016 Share August 19, 2016 (edited) On 8/19/2016 at 6:08 AM, Bystander50 said: Tested fired both ,,, it works though, can feel the pressure coming out from the nozzle. Probably every 6 months just give it 1 or 2 squeeze to see if the pressure remains. Rather not trust the indicator on it. SG has SCDF approved list of fire extinguishers refilling companies, but not sure if they are willing to refill those not bought from them. If not, just discard and buy online again since I doubt the refilling will be cheap. https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r.1.14.160.1F538q&id=521010749293&ns=1&abbucket=14#detail hmm pretty cheap but the sea shipping should be more than its cost due to the size. Edited August 19, 2016 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear August 19, 2016 Share August 19, 2016 On 8/19/2016 at 6:18 AM, Lala81 said: hmm pretty cheap but the sea shipping should be more than its cost due to the size. I can't remember how much, but I combined with other stuffs for my home reno then. Spread the shipping costs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic August 19, 2016 Share August 19, 2016 i thought got expiry date? On 8/19/2016 at 2:36 AM, Adrianli said: I buy home insurance, free 2 kg CO2 extinguisher. No need buy at all. After 10 years liao, the CO2 extinguisher indicator still in the green zone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic August 19, 2016 Author Share August 19, 2016 On 8/19/2016 at 6:43 AM, Little_prince said: i thought got expiry date? Expiry date is for show one lah. Required only to cover backside. I used to service all the fire extinguishers onboard ship, from water to foam to dry powder to CO2 and various fire fighting system, water sprinkler system and halon flooding system. Just ensure the weight and pin not activated can liao. Onboard ship, it is annual check and sign off, till 5th year, replace with new units. Water extinguisher - Remove cover and check pin not activated. Remove top cover and then remove CO2 canister to ensure not puncture and water level is at the marking. Foam extinguisher - Remove cover and check pin not activated. Remove top cover and then remove CO2 and "OX blood" canister to ensure not puncture and water level is at the marking. Dry powder and CO2 - Check safety pin in place, gauge indicator is in green and weigh the extinguisher. Lastly, sign name and date on label on extinguisher. Do some many times until now 15 years later still can remember the steps vividly. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 19, 2016 Share August 19, 2016 (edited) On 8/19/2016 at 5:59 AM, Bystander50 said: Fire extinguishers can't be dangerous right, depends on which angle you view it from. Sent via sea shipping. I had bought 1 from Giant few years ago. Spray can type like insecticide. Doubt that is of much use in a real fire, but $10 only. Depend because its compress air. Edited August 19, 2016 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic August 19, 2016 Share August 19, 2016 CK Building ordered to close entirely in interest of public safety: BCA..... The engineers' findings showed that the fire had affected the structural integrity of the fourth to sixth storeys as well as the steel roof of the six-storey industrial building, said BCA. ..... http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/ck-building-ordered-to/3055006.html 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic August 19, 2016 Share August 19, 2016 On 8/19/2016 at 12:29 AM, Count-Bracula said: Talk about extinguisher, anyone have this at home? Where to buy? I buy from http://www.fireextinguisher.sg/Fire-Extinguisher-Price-Singapore.html 2kg ABC dry Powder is recommended for house use. I also bought the fire blanket, this is for oil fire, like in a kitchen. Now they have a value pack which is quite good. http://www.fireextinguisher.sg/Home-Value-Pack.html 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dleodleo Twincharged August 22, 2016 Share August 22, 2016 On 8/19/2016 at 2:36 AM, Adrianli said: I buy home insurance, free 2 kg CO2 extinguisher. No need buy at all. After 10 years liao, the CO2 extinguisher indicator still in the green zone. Buying home insurance should be fine I think. My previous neighbour's house caught fire. Partial living room was burnt. She didn't bought any home insurance but bought the HDB compulsory fire insurance. I dun knw where she went to but she told me that she went to the office, told them she had no money to "restore" her house. End up they painted the living room, restore the electricity and change the main door for her. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic August 22, 2016 Share August 22, 2016 On 8/22/2016 at 1:48 AM, Dleodleo said: Buying home insurance should be fine I think. My previous neighbour's house caught fire. Partial living room was burnt. She didn't bought any home insurance but bought the HDB compulsory fire insurance. I dun knw where she went to but she told me that she went to the office, told them she had no money to "restore" her house. End up they painted the living room, restore the electricity and change the main door for her. The basic HDB compulsory fire insurance that may cover only the four walls in the house. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged August 22, 2016 Share August 22, 2016 On 8/22/2016 at 2:16 AM, 13177 said: The basic HDB compulsory fire insurance that may cover only the four walls in the house. It's only about $6 for 5 years don't expect much coverage except structural wall Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dleodleo Twincharged August 24, 2016 Share August 24, 2016 On 8/22/2016 at 2:16 AM, 13177 said: The basic HDB compulsory fire insurance that may cover only the four walls in the house. That's why I dun knw where she went to appeal. As long as I know the basic HDB fire insurance is to "protect" HDB just the building structure. Not inclusive of interior. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic August 24, 2016 Share August 24, 2016 Later I ownself check ownself fire extinguisher 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Staff69 Hypersonic August 24, 2016 Share August 24, 2016 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=af8YGYVe7Ys 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic August 24, 2016 Author Share August 24, 2016 Photos of my 11 year old fire extinguisher. No expiry date on it. Still in good working condition. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 24, 2016 Share August 24, 2016 (edited) On 8/19/2016 at 7:26 AM, Kb27 said: I buy from http://www.fireextinguisher.sg/Fire-Extinguisher-Price-Singapore.html 2kg ABC dry Powder is recommended for house use. I also bought the fire blanket, this is for oil fire, like in a kitchen. Now they have a value pack which is quite good. http://www.fireextinguisher.sg/Home-Value-Pack.html Oil fire cannot use extinguisher? I checked the nearby DIY store. It's 50 dollars for a 2kg. Edited August 24, 2016 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Staff69 Hypersonic August 24, 2016 Share August 24, 2016 On 8/24/2016 at 2:20 AM, Adrianli said: Photos of my 11 year old fire extinguisher. No expiry date on it. Still in good working condition. Fire Extinguisher 001.jpg Fire Extinguisher 002.jpg Fire Extinguisher 003.jpg Fire Extinguisher 004.jpg you pass it to me for safe keeping, when you need it then you pm me i bring over ↡ Advertisement 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...