Victor68 Turbocharged August 18, 2016 Share August 18, 2016 I think the jag and merc diesels get really loud as they age. There are 2 diesel jags and 1 diesel merc parked at my block. The noise they produce can compete with those vans. Even those renault taxi quieter than them. I think most taxi are diesel. So far, many taxi I don't hear lout engine noise leh. The ones that are noisy usually belong to the badly maintained taxi. Especially the merc taxi, most are quiet leh. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged August 19, 2016 Share August 19, 2016 I think most taxi are diesel. So far, many taxi I don't hear lout engine noise leh. The ones that are noisy usually belong to the badly maintained taxi. Especially the merc taxi, most are quiet leh. That is why I say those diesel car seem to be louder than taxi... I hear them everyday. Sound gets worse as they accelerate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ganwb79 5th Gear August 19, 2016 Share August 19, 2016 The quietest TD i come accross is the Citroen, from the outside. At 11-12km, though u could breakeven, i would say not recommended as TD, due to the DPF, needs some mileage w sufficient revs to keep the DPF clean. With insufficient mileage, DPF servicing, emission issues will catch up faster than usual. The cost n inconvenieces that ensues, may not make it worthwhile then. As a min, perhaps 16-17k km mileage /yr? Once a week during non-peak hours I'll just take the car out and cruise around on expressways for about 30-40 mins to clear the DPF... The car consumes next to no fuel when cruising Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kelin123321 Clutched April 16, 2017 Share April 16, 2017 Dear All, Need your help to address my issue. Purchased new Kia Carens diesel in Oct 2016, enginee warning sign keep coming 5 times within 5 months, who should i complain to ? C&C said it was faulty of O2 senser, changed and sign coming again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic April 16, 2017 Share April 16, 2017 Still C&C. Dear All, Need your help to address my issue. Purchased new Kia Carens diesel in Oct 2016, enginee warning sign keep coming 5 times within 5 months, who should i complain to ? C&C said it was faulty of O2 senser, changed and sign coming again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 16, 2017 Share April 16, 2017 (edited) Dear All, Need your help to address my issue. Purchased new Kia Carens diesel in Oct 2016, enginee warning sign keep coming 5 times within 5 months, who should i complain to ? C&C said it was faulty of O2 senser, changed and sign coming again. Locate the sensor lo. Learn to DIY clean it. Otherwise where got time to go down to their workshop all the time? It's call the MAP sensor aka mass air pressure sensor. Ppl got a lot of names for it. Turbo sensor lah, boost sensor lah, O2 sensor lah. It's common for engine oil vapour to accumulate on the sensor...and also the turbo, intercooler and throttle body... basically the intake system. It's how combustion engine is. Even for a turbocharged petrol engine. There's this thin film of oil vapour running in the system. Once the fresh engine oil becomes filled with gunk and carbon the O2 sensor and throttle body gets covered with the contaminated oil vapours. An additional oil change after 5K km helps....to minimize the sensor from throwing the error code so often. Clean oil vapour from fresh engine oil will give the sensor less issue. The engine is like an oven but its contents are mainly engine oil and diesel in your case so these will produce their own vapours when the engine is at running temperature. The vapours are contained by recirculation into the air intake system so that it's not released and contaminate our air. The hot and contaminated vapours tend to screw up the MAP sensor. 1-2 years or so spoil it's common. You can Google more...for example the PCV return hose. It's the hose that does the recirculation. I hate that dirty hose. There are ways to plug it but I dun want to openly recommend it as it pollutes the environment. Can Google for drawings on how ppl get it "fixed". Not legal of course. Not a 100% solution though. More frequent oil change actually does more to help minimize. Once in a while engine flush to flush out the carbon build up. For me I keep a can of quick dry electronics contact cleaner and a can of throttle body cleaner in the boot (both from 3M). I also have an OBDII diagnostic tool to clear error codes. Dun have time to always go down to dealer's workshop. Comprain no use. You will see more and more ppl driving TC engine asking about how to deal with the issue. Edited April 16, 2017 by Watwheels 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kelin123321 Clutched April 17, 2017 Share April 17, 2017 Locate the sensor lo. Learn to DIY clean it. Otherwise where got time to go down to their workshop all the time? It's call the MAP sensor aka mass air pressure sensor. Ppl got a lot of names for it. Turbo sensor lah, boost sensor lah, O2 sensor lah. It's common for engine oil vapour to accumulate on the sensor...and also the turbo, intercooler and throttle body... basically the intake system. It's how combustion engine is. Even for a turbocharged petrol engine. There's this thin film of oil vapour running in the system. Once the fresh engine oil becomes filled with gunk and carbon the O2 sensor and throttle body gets covered with the contaminated oil vapours. An additional oil change after 5K km helps....to minimize the sensor from throwing the error code so often. Clean oil vapour from fresh engine oil will give the sensor less issue. The engine is like an oven but its contents are mainly engine oil and diesel in your case so these will produce their own vapours when the engine is at running temperature. The vapours are contained by recirculation into the air intake system so that it's not released and contaminate our air. The hot and contaminated vapours tend to screw up the MAP sensor. 1-2 years or so spoil it's common. You can Google more...for example the PCV return hose. It's the hose that does the recirculation. I hate that dirty hose. There are ways to plug it but I dun want to openly recommend it as it pollutes the environment. Can Google for drawings on how ppl get it "fixed". Not legal of course. Not a 100% solution though. More frequent oil change actually does more to help minimize. Once in a while engine flush to flush out the carbon build up. For me I keep a can of quick dry electronics contact cleaner and a can of throttle body cleaner in the boot (both from 3M). I also have an OBDII diagnostic tool to clear error codes. Dun have time to always go down to dealer's workshop. Comprain no use. You will see more and more ppl driving TC engine asking about how to deal with the issue. Spent half day back to C&C today, nothing done but reset the ECU. staff said it's not the only case, they reported to Korea, hopefully will update me in 2 months. Upset purchase, noisy engine with a bit shaking Locate the sensor lo. Learn to DIY clean it. Otherwise where got time to go down to their workshop all the time? It's call the MAP sensor aka mass air pressure sensor. Ppl got a lot of names for it. Turbo sensor lah, boost sensor lah, O2 sensor lah. It's common for engine oil vapour to accumulate on the sensor...and also the turbo, intercooler and throttle body... basically the intake system. It's how combustion engine is. Even for a turbocharged petrol engine. There's this thin film of oil vapour running in the system. Once the fresh engine oil becomes filled with gunk and carbon the O2 sensor and throttle body gets covered with the contaminated oil vapours. An additional oil change after 5K km helps....to minimize the sensor from throwing the error code so often. Clean oil vapour from fresh engine oil will give the sensor less issue. The engine is like an oven but its contents are mainly engine oil and diesel in your case so these will produce their own vapours when the engine is at running temperature. The vapours are contained by recirculation into the air intake system so that it's not released and contaminate our air. The hot and contaminated vapours tend to screw up the MAP sensor. 1-2 years or so spoil it's common. You can Google more...for example the PCV return hose. It's the hose that does the recirculation. I hate that dirty hose. There are ways to plug it but I dun want to openly recommend it as it pollutes the environment. Can Google for drawings on how ppl get it "fixed". Not legal of course. Not a 100% solution though. More frequent oil change actually does more to help minimize. Once in a while engine flush to flush out the carbon build up. For me I keep a can of quick dry electronics contact cleaner and a can of throttle body cleaner in the boot (both from 3M). I also have an OBDII diagnostic tool to clear error codes. Dun have time to always go down to dealer's workshop. Comprain no use. You will see more and more ppl driving TC engine asking about how to deal with the issue. Anyway, thanks for kind reply 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kahn23 1st Gear April 18, 2017 Share April 18, 2017 U drive diesel car soo seh ... older generation will think the car is cheapo and dirty. Some ask, you buy wrong car ah ? True story. Better buy petrol if want glam glam 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jq1988 4th Gear April 18, 2017 Share April 18, 2017 (edited) time to let go any diesel car if you have one...better value now than later.... for new buyer, please stand away from it asap! Edited April 18, 2017 by Jq1988 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 18, 2017 Share April 18, 2017 U drive diesel car soo seh ... older generation will think the car is cheapo and dirty. Some ask, you buy wrong car ah ? True story. Better buy petrol if want glam glam That's why their older generation. No update. Go & google BMW X5 M50D 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ipaq4444 1st Gear April 26, 2017 Share April 26, 2017 bookmark for reading later 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic April 26, 2017 Share April 26, 2017 bookmark for reading laterDon't need to bookmark Liao lahKin go buy pickup van lorry Today coe Tua Lao sai 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic April 27, 2017 Share April 27, 2017 That's why their older generation. No update. Go & google BMW X5 M50D The older generation oso say Redifussion & Corolla is da best..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged April 27, 2017 Share April 27, 2017 The older generation oso say Redifussion & Corolla is da best.....Finally test driven one today.. it's an eye opener.Can't really tell any noise. Was told the servicing interval is 36k or 2 years. Dunno tio bluff or not though Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xanavi 4th Gear April 27, 2017 Share April 27, 2017 Finally test driven one today.. it's an eye opener. Can't really tell any noise. Was told the servicing interval is 36k or 2 years. Dunno tio bluff or not though Confirm tio bluff. Simi 36? I service my Vito last time then every 10k if not more. Max 15k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic April 27, 2017 Share April 27, 2017 Finally test driven one today.. it's an eye opener. Can't really tell any noise. Was told the servicing interval is 36k or 2 years. Dunno tio bluff or not though What did u test drive? Btw, service interval for my Sorento diesel is 6 mths/10k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged April 27, 2017 Share April 27, 2017 What did u test drive? Btw, service interval for my Sorento diesel is 6 mths/10k Jag. Sorry it's 34k or 2 years... Just checked the brochure.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic April 27, 2017 Share April 27, 2017 Jag. Sorry it's 34k or 2 years... Just checked the brochure..Very ambitious service intervals...... XE or XF diesel? ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...