Carbon82 Moderator August 1, 2016 Share August 1, 2016 Let put all our political belief aside and wish Nathan a speedy recovery or a painless passing. Afterall, he is just like any other poineer generation, that deserved to be loved and respect, for his contribution to national building. ↡ Advertisement 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 1, 2016 Share August 1, 2016 Be like me. I do not know anything about him or what he did as president or how much he was paid as president. So...no comments. The only Sg president I know is Dr Wee Kim Wee. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic August 1, 2016 Share August 1, 2016 On 7/31/2016 at 4:42 AM, RadX said: As above image.jpeg Wish him have a speedy recovery ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dleodleo Twincharged August 1, 2016 Share August 1, 2016 Please note that he wasn't selected to be a president for nothing. He risked his life to accompany the hijackers to fly to Kuwait, in exchange for the safe release of the Singaporean hostages. He contributed a lot to Singapore national building. I respect him a lot and wish him speedy recovery. Read here for more info: http://eresources.nlb.gov.sg/infopedia/articles/SIP_490_2004-12-23.html Nathan was transferred to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in 1966, and later moved to the Ministry of Defence where he served as the director of the Security and Intelligence Division (SID) between 1971 and 1979.8 During his tenure as SID director, Nathan dealt with a number of acts of terrorism in Singapore, one of which was the hijacking of the Laju ferry in 1974.9 During the incident, Nathan negotiated for over eight days with four hijackers from the Japanese Red Army and the Popular Front for the Liberation of Palestine for the safe release of the ferry’s crew. He then led a 13-official delegation that accompanied the hijackers on a flight to Kuwait as guarantors of their safe passage after they had released the hostages.10 11 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic August 1, 2016 Share August 1, 2016 Hope he can recover from it. Didn't know about it till later yesterday. In fact I was at SGH yesterday late morning and saw a policeman outside an interview room, which i think is near neuro dept. In the last 1.5 mth, i've passed by that place 4-5 times as an uncle was in ICU (he just got transferred to ICA a few days ago), but there has never been any police there. Think might be related? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 1, 2016 Share August 1, 2016 Think in 1974, many MCFers here probably wasn't even born yet.... So many big shots kena stroke lately.....sibei stress. Hope SRN and Heng SK both recover. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aventador 6th Gear August 1, 2016 Share August 1, 2016 Looking at Straits Times coverage today, with all the VIP visitors to see him you get a feeling he is not going to recover as it comes across as a last goodbye Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged August 1, 2016 Share August 1, 2016 On 8/1/2016 at 2:45 AM, Aventador said: Looking at Straits Times coverage today, with all the VIP visitors to see him you get a feeling he is not going to recover as it comes across as a last goodbye 90+yr old liao lor. nothing surprising right. On 8/1/2016 at 2:12 AM, Soya said: Think in 1974, many MCFers here probably wasn't even born yet.... So many big shots kena stroke lately.....sibei stress. Hope SRN and Heng SK both recover. but why? death is a natural process. nobody is forever 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged August 1, 2016 Share August 1, 2016 Well this is not a political thread and besides, it takes one who'd worked closely with or alongside him to truly know if he had contributed positively to our Nation whilst he was in office during his terms or he'd been no more than a figure head. This thread talks about him being in critical condition so let's not go down the political route. Hope he's able to pull through just like HSK 12 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged August 2, 2016 Share August 2, 2016 On 7/31/2016 at 6:20 AM, RadX said: Let's keep nasty comments out of this Tks Yeah; Lets just pray as Singaporeans for a fellow Singaporean in dire circumstances like this. He did his part for Singapore after all. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged August 2, 2016 Share August 2, 2016 You don't know Mr Ong Teng Cheong meh? You should, right? On 8/1/2016 at 12:55 AM, Watwheels said: Be like me. I do not know anything about him or what he did as president or how much he was paid as president. So...no comments. The only Sg president I know is Dr Wee Kim Wee. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic August 5, 2016 Share August 5, 2016 tiagong...........time up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic August 5, 2016 Share August 5, 2016 On 8/5/2016 at 6:02 AM, Hamburger said: tiagong...........time up. dont tell me 2nd one to go before National Day...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged August 5, 2016 Share August 5, 2016 On 8/5/2016 at 6:02 AM, Hamburger said: tiagong...........time up. Meaning.? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged August 5, 2016 Share August 5, 2016 Just know that he is still in coma right? Lets just hope for the best. We should be sensitive especially to his love ones/family members. Which hospital is he warded? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic August 5, 2016 Share August 5, 2016 On 8/2/2016 at 2:25 AM, Windwaver said: Yeah; Lets just pray as Singaporeans for a fellow Singaporean in dire circumstances like this. He did his part for Singapore after all. I probably will not subject myself to be taken as hostage in order to save others. This man led a team and they did that. I think that was a very courageous and highly respectable act not many will be want to do or even dare to do. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged August 5, 2016 Share August 5, 2016 On 8/5/2016 at 6:09 AM, Tianmo said: dont tell me 2nd one to go before National Day...... Bro, what you mean 2nd one? Sorry I not been watching news lately. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged August 5, 2016 Share August 5, 2016 On 8/5/2016 at 2:29 PM, Windwaver said: Just know that he is still in coma right? Lets just hope for the best. We should be sensitive especially to his love ones/family members. Which hospital is he warded? Warded in SGH. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...