inlinesix Hypersonic July 30, 2016 Share July 30, 2016 On 7/30/2016 at 2:29 AM, Kusje said: You nv hear before meh? If you owe the bank 1000s and cannot pay, you are in trouble. If you owe the bank 1 bil dollars and cannot pay, it is the bank that is in trouble. Now DBS is in trouble lor. Bailout is for DBS, not swiber. Are you sure DBS in trouble? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic July 30, 2016 Share July 30, 2016 whether exposure is $700M or $1B (as UBS said too low) ... sup sup water for DBS la ... On 7/30/2016 at 2:50 AM, Davidtch said: Are you sure DBS in trouble? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged July 30, 2016 Share July 30, 2016 On 7/30/2016 at 3:00 AM, Wt_know said: whether exposure is $700M or $1B (as UBS said too low) ... sup sup water for DBS la ...Seems like my downstairs provision shop has more provisions than these professionals. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic July 30, 2016 Share July 30, 2016 On 7/30/2016 at 2:50 AM, Davidtch said: Are you sure DBS in trouble? Lose 700m no trouble meh. I think we can agree that it is trouble - just to what degree. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic July 30, 2016 Share July 30, 2016 On 7/30/2016 at 1:57 AM, Wt_know said: swiber is too big to fail and need to be bailed out ar? if kepcock i can understand ... swiber? It is called orderly liquidation favouring banks usually and if market suddenly turns, can write back mah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic July 30, 2016 Share July 30, 2016 On 7/29/2016 at 2:45 PM, Blueray said: yeah, but Directors have a duty to shareholders ... good times take directors' pay, bad times just jump ship. I do not recall any other cases in SG where directors of listed co just like that bail out. Duty to shareholders only when they remain in office lah. Muayhahhahahahahahahah At the end of the day, its the dedication that drives people to do what they do. Money alone is not enough at that level. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic July 30, 2016 Share July 30, 2016 On 7/30/2016 at 3:27 AM, Throttle2 said: Duty to shareholders only when they remain in office lah. Muayhahhahahahahahahah At the end of the day, its the dedication that drives people to do what they do. Money alone is not enough at that level. like that I jin scared of buying small caps already ... who knows when and which listed company's directors want to suddenly "pursue personal interests" ... anyways, now its JM instead of winding up, so see what happens next. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pinobii Hypersonic July 30, 2016 Share July 30, 2016 Went past posb branch this morning, guy was setting up speaker, then lady was on speaker promoting some high interest products Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic July 30, 2016 Share July 30, 2016 If it sounds too good to be true... On 7/30/2016 at 3:58 AM, Pinobii said: Went past posb branch this morning, guy was setting up speaker, then lady was on speaker promoting some high interest products 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic July 30, 2016 Share July 30, 2016 Looks like Monday, bank stocks may move up ... But bear in mind, OCBC XD on 2 Aug, and DBS announcing their result on 8 Aug, prior to market opening ... Don't feel good.... But then good for cherry picking when these stocks are down :)) My humble opinions 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 30, 2016 Share July 30, 2016 On 7/30/2016 at 3:06 AM, Kusje said: Lose 700m no trouble meh. I think we can agree that it is trouble - just to what degree. Read: http://www.straitstimes.com/business/dbs-exposure-to-swiber-group-at-700-million-expects-to-recover-half Half is recoverable. $200m from general provision which is on Balance Sheet liao. New provision is only $150m. Moreover, FY profit is 4.5b le. What's important is regulatory capital adequacy ratio. If that's a concern, announcement would have been made already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic July 30, 2016 Share July 30, 2016 On 7/29/2016 at 6:49 AM, Lala81 said: SG 10 year govt bond this year dropped to 1.76% 1 year sibor is at 1.3% Interest rates are going to remain low for the foreseeable future. The interest rate "shock" is not going to happen for years. That's good news. I owe those blood suckers a lot of money. I didn't have enough money to pay full cash when I bought my home. 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic July 30, 2016 Share July 30, 2016 On 7/30/2016 at 3:51 AM, Blueray said: like that I jin scared of buying small caps already ... who knows when and which listed company's directors want to suddenly "pursue personal interests" ... anyways, now its JM instead of winding up, so see what happens next. Me too. It just doesn't fit my investment strategy. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic July 30, 2016 Share July 30, 2016 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 30, 2016 Share July 30, 2016 On 7/30/2016 at 5:26 AM, Jamesc said: That's good news. I owe those blood suckers a lot of money. I didn't have enough money to pay full cash when I bought my home. Heng! I only got car loan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic July 30, 2016 Share July 30, 2016 On 7/30/2016 at 3:51 AM, Blueray said: like that I jin scared of buying small caps already ... who knows when and which listed company's directors want to suddenly "pursue personal interests" ... anyways, now its JM instead of winding up, so see what happens next. Yup, all the pennies i buy all lose money. All the blue chips and big caps i buy, make money. Luckily i make more money than i lose. Muayhahahahahaha 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic July 30, 2016 Share July 30, 2016 On 7/30/2016 at 9:51 AM, Throttle2 said: Yup, all the pennies i buy all lose money. All the blue chips and big caps i buy, make money. Luckily i make more money than i lose. Muayhahahahahaha If one wants slow and steady growth, consistent dividend payout ... then better buy blue chips :) Sure won't blue blue If want to have some fun and daring to try, buy penny stocks... either make or break ... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ttl1976 5th Gear July 30, 2016 Share July 30, 2016 On 7/30/2016 at 9:51 AM, Throttle2 said: Yup, all the pennies i buy all lose money. All the blue chips and big caps i buy, make money. Luckily i make more money than i lose. Muayhahahahahaha must learn must learn. when u free, drop some hints, I will try to pick up On 7/30/2016 at 10:50 AM, Ktglfc said: If one wants slow and steady growth, consistent dividend payout ... then better buy blue chips :) Sure won't blue blue If want to have some fun and daring to try, buy penny stocks... either make or break ... penny stock buy small small, profit can't even buy family dinner. ha ha ha ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...