Em services anti competitive probe

Playtime

One supplier has voluntarily come forward to supply a brand of lift parts to third-party contractors, CCS said. On May 12, EM Services committed to supply BLT lift spare parts to third-party lift maintenance contractors. CCS said it considers the commitment by EM Services as fully addressing its competition concerns.

Nonsense la.

I can also supply the spare parts at a high markup. Other fellows will never be competitive..... 

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/five-suppliers-of-spare-parts-for-hdb-lifts-under-probe

http://www.straitstimes.com/forum/letters-in-print/come-down-hard-on-anti-competitive-practices

Isn't this arguably worst than some ceiling cleaning? ?

The bosses should know better.

As usual. . SPH.. Must have waited very long to decide to print.

If it were aljunied town council related. . Straight away print liao add salt add vinegar.

no case la......will sweep all the dust under the carpet.

Unless CCS committee going to have a early retirement

EM Services.....who the owners har? Must be goodcto have this kind of business.

I think EM services is govt linked.

I thought EM Services/ MD has an honorable mention in the leaked Panama Papers.

Edited by Kb27

I think EM services is govt linked.

No lah they were never link to Gov.

They are subsidiary of HDB, which was privatised right?

Edited by Atonchia

No lah they were never link to Gov.

They are subsidiary of HDB, which was privatised right?

Then is what? Private limited co but boss is HDB?

Yes it called EM Service Pte Ltd.

But I meant HDB was privatised also right, so it's not a Gov link.

Ok, just google, only a department.

"On 1 July 2003, the Building & Development Division of HDB was corporatised to form HDB Corporation Pte. Ltd. (HDBCorp). HDBCorp was later renamed Surbana Corporation Pte. Ltd. HDB's headquarters were moved from Bukit Merah to its new premises at the HDB Hub at 480 Lorong 6 Toa Payoh on 10 June 2002."

Source:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Housing_and_Development_Board

From what I know,

The total manpower that are link to HDB and it's subsidiary is the largest in Singapore.

他们的人是最多的。

The biggest paymaster of all TH link company. More than SIA, Capitaland or Keppel land

From what I know,

The total manpower that are link to HDB and it's subsidiary is the largest in Singapore.

他们的人是最多的。

The biggest paymaster of all TH link company. More than SIA, Capitaland or Keppel land

and you said its not gov linked....

Yes it called EM Service Pte Ltd.

But I meant HDB was privatised also right, so it's not a Gov link.

Ok, just google, only a department.

"On 1 July 2003, the Building & Development Division of HDB was corporatised to form HDB Corporation Pte. Ltd. (HDBCorp). HDBCorp was later renamed Surbana Corporation Pte. Ltd. HDB's headquarters were moved from Bukit Merah to its new premises at the HDB Hub at 480 Lorong 6 Toa Payoh on 10 June 2002."

Source:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Housing_and_Development_Board

Surbana was "sold off". Now under Temasek  [smash]

this is a trend going on. Major OEM suppliers or manufacturers went through consolidation. Most Brands controlled by a few entities n they supply to countries. While we try to be smart by having group procurement or in this case having different lifts Brands installed.. One cannot stop these stockists or manufacturers from refusing to supply parts at a price they are comfortable with. We are a small market n made worse when split the pie even more.. The next one we got to be worried about will be medicines, antibiotics.. There is already a global "shortage" of antibiotics and drugs..

Edited by BenTong

this is a trend going on. Major OEM suppliers or manufacturers went through consolidation. Most Brands controlled by a few entities n they supply to countries. While we try to be smart by having group procurement or in this case having different lifts Brands installed.. One cannot stop these stockists or manufacturers from refusing to supply parts at a price they are comfortable with. We are a small market n made worse when split the pie even more.. The next one we got to be worried about will be medicines, antibiotics.. There is already a global "shortage" of antibiotics and drugs..

woth the advent of Taobao and other internet site selling everything under the sun i cant imagine a 3rd party supplier (stockist) controlling the market. Yes OEMs are the the manufacturers but is EMS the manufacturer of the parts? From my own limited experience oem parts are usually cheaper and easier to find especially if its a homegrown brand name!