Should the pre-school teacher clip unkempt hair?

Showster

41 members have voted

1. 1. How should the pre-school teacher deal with unkempt hair?

• Ignore the situation
    • Cut the hair
    • Clip the hair
    • Suspend the child from school
    • Call the parent
    • Suspend the parent from the child
    • Get the child to explain why his hair should not be so long

ST_20160715_NWPRESCHOOL09QR_2444302.jpg?I think I am old school, but I feel that the parents should take this as an opportunity to cut the hair of the child. Not sure if there is such a thing as pre-school humiliation, can't really remember much of what happened at pre-school. To be honest, his hair is really long and unkempt. I wouldn't like it if my child has a pre-school classmate with this kind of hair. There may be better options but I for sure do not want the teacher to be so restricted when attempting to teach life lessons for children.

It's more likely the parents rather than the child felt humiliated.

What do you think?

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/pre-school-teacher-in-hair-clip-saga-to-remain-at-centre

Pre-school teacher in hair clip saga to remain at centre
A back view of the six-year-old involved in the incident. His teacher found his hair too long and clipped it with a girl's hair clip. The incident came to light after another teacher noticed his "abnormal and despondent" behaviour, his father said in a Facebook post.PHOTO: COURTESY OF MADAM SWEE

A pre-school teacher who put a girl's hair clip on a six-year-old boy in front of his classmates will continue to teach at Zoo-phonics School's Serangoon Central branch.

This follows an internal investigation into the matter that blew up after the boy's father posted about the incident publicly on Facebook, sparking a debate on ways to discipline children.

In a five-page letter to parents yesterday, the school said: "The management believes that Teacher Theresa is deemed fit to continue teaching at Zoo-phonics School (Serangoon)."

The boy's mother, who wanted to be known only as Madam Swee, 35, said she and her husband are now deciding on whether their son should continue to attend classes at the centre.

The incident took place on July 5 and the boy's father, Mr Eric Cheong, 37, shared it on Facebook on July 9. The post has since been shared more than 2,000 times. Mr Cheong said his son had been humiliated.

Following the incident, Ms Theresa was temporarily suspended while investigations were carried out, according to Zoo-phonics director Vincent Teoh.

After viewing closed-circuit television footage, the school said yesterday that the teacher had summoned the boy, borrowed a hair clip from a female pupil and put it on him. Turning him to face the class, she then spoke about how much neater he looked.

The school said the child had worn the clip for only 50 seconds, and that his parents had blown the matter up.

After consulting other parents, it said it found that most wanted the teacher to stay, with only some parents in the boy's class seeking a change in teacher.

Zoo-phonics acknowledged that "some parents regarded her teaching methods as "old school", and said the teacher had been counselled.

However, Madam Swee remains upset.

"Humiliation for one second, two seconds or 50 seconds is still a humiliation which caused everyone he knows and sees daily to laugh at him," she said.

Edited by Showster

Teacher old school but to do that to a kid is not right lah. Hope she doesn't do it again.

But if I were the management of the school, I wouldn't sack her either because good teachers are hard to come by. Would rather lose one student.

Yah. An appropriate modern style would be to talk to the child first, then get him to explain to the class why long hair is bad. Get him to denounce his own grooming.

Perhaps no time to do it in such detail?

On 7/15/2016 at 12:37 AM, Vid said:

Teacher old school but to do that to a kid is not right lah. Hope she doesn't do it again.

But if I were the management of the school, I wouldn't sack her either because good teachers are hard to come by. Would rather lose one student.

  On 7/15/2016 at 12:39 AM, Mustank said:

Teacher chio boh? :grin:

Definitely not my type. But maybe your type :D

1-33.jpg

Zoo are meant for animals n beast.

Only trainers. No teachers.

Knn.....why choose a school name as "zoo"

And why parents put kids in the zoo still want to kpkb

  On 7/15/2016 at 12:41 AM, Showster said:

Yah. An appropriate modern style would be to talk to the child first, then get him to explain to the class why long hair is bad. Get him to denounce his own grooming.

Perhaps no time to do it in such detail?

Tell the child but inform the parents. This happened some time ago and shared extensive on FB. The last time I read was the parent knew about long hair for quite some time but chose to ignore the matter. Their reason was "no time" to bring the son for haircut. Says a lot about the parents too.

On 7/15/2016 at 12:39 AM, Mustank said:

Teacher chio boh? :grin:

No.

post-18163-0-55264600-1468543370.jpg

My children's pre-school boh chap wan coz got quite a big number of expat children. The boy should go there.

what's wrong with a girl clip?? i believe porker has whole drawer of collection :D

cannot anyhow cut cos his father could be paying $100 for that hairstyle. you know the korean oppa style.

Got time to take pic share on FB but no time to send to cut hair...

If it's that long, they haven't had time for months!

On 7/15/2016 at 12:43 AM, Vid said:

Tell the child but inform the parents. This happened some time ago and shared extensive on FB. The last time I read was the parent knew about long hair for quite some time but chose to ignore the matter. Their reason was "no time" to bring the son for haircut. Says a lot about the parents too.

  On 7/15/2016 at 12:45 AM, Showster said:

Got time to take pic share on FB but no time to send to cut hair...

If it's that long, they haven't had time for months!

Some parents are like that one. They have the "big boss entitlement mentality" where everything they also want their way.

KPKB in FB after ''investigation'' carried out by pre-school... if still unhappy with outcome... then take kid out.. simple rite?

over protective la.. own kid dont want to discipline... other people discipline for you.. kpkb over small matter...  imo.. making a mountain out of a molehill...  

But I see a lot of pre-school age children never maintain short haircuts or primary school standard hairstyles. To most parents it's the only stage whereby their boys could have long hair. After they go primary school no chance until they are out of army. If go back ICT have to cut away long hair. So from primary school to like 40yo cannot have long unkept hair. LoL...

On 7/15/2016 at 12:41 AM, Vid said:

Definitely not my type. But maybe your type :D

1-33.jpg

chey :mellow: I thot this type  

http://bejav.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/02/ipz634-captivating-a-teaser-of-tight-skirt-female-teacher-0-bejav_com.jpg

:nosebleed:  :nosebleed: :nosebleed:  

On 7/15/2016 at 12:44 AM, Watwheels said:

No.

attachicon.gifimages.jpg

My children's pre-school boh chap wan coz got quite a big number of expat children. The boy should go there.

please see above :yeah-im-not-drunk:

On 7/15/2016 at 12:41 AM, Mcf777 said:

Zoo are meant for animals n beast.

Only trainers. No teachers.

Knn.....why choose a school name as "zoo"

And why parents put kids in the zoo still want to kpkb

but then the lion can keep their hair so long mah.