Weez911 Supersonic July 14, 2016 Share July 14, 2016 Given the recent tussle over the South China Sea, I have done some research on Christmas Island into sources such as NLB and Wiki to find out more about our own territorial history. Based on what I read, I noted that the transfer of Christmas Island was initiated by the Australian government to the United Kingdom in 1954, and the handover was completed in 1958 between the UK and Australian governments at a sum of £2.33 million (M$20 million). As Singapore only gained independence in 1965, we were never part of the negotiation. Said island has a population of 2,072. They consist of 65% Chinese, 20% Malays, 10% Europeans and 5% Indians and Eurasians. Their mother languages are Chinese, Malay and English. Size of island is 135 km2 and below is the map: Weather: Here is my point - Was the handover in 1957 legitimate? Other than the obvious similarities in population mix, language and weather, this transfer was enacted by 2 countries that have nothing to do with Singapore now. Should we challenge the claims to Christmas Island? ↡ Advertisement 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic July 14, 2016 Share July 14, 2016 Given the recent tussle over the South China Sea, I have done some research on Christmas Island into sources such as NLB and Wiki to find out more about our own territorial history. Based on what I read, I noted that the transfer of Christmas Island was initiated by the Australian government to the United Kingdom in 1954, and the handover was completed in 1958 between the UK and Australian governments at a sum of £2.33 million (M$20 million). As Singapore only gained independence in 1965, we were never part of the negotiation. Said island has a population of 2,072. They consist of 65% Chinese, 20% Malays, 10% Europeans and 5% Indians and Eurasians. Their mother languages are Chinese, Malay and English. Size of island is 135 km2 and below is the map: Map_of_Christmas_Island_1976.jpg Weather: Weather.png Here is my point - Was the handover in 1957 legitimate? Other than the obvious similarities in population mix, language and weather, this transfer was enacted by 2 countries that have nothing to do with Singapore now. Should we challenge the claims to Christmas Island? We should send few RSN frigates there to guard first lol 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BenTong Turbocharged July 14, 2016 Share July 14, 2016 well the fact that more than 50% of its population are Chinese... china shud be the one concerned.. no? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic July 14, 2016 Share July 14, 2016 acherlee...... why would we want Christmas Island for? Need alternative sources for Chilli Crabs? or for Sentosa II? Seriously, it does not have black gold...not strategically important for trade route..... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic July 14, 2016 Author Share July 14, 2016 (edited) well the fact that more than 50% of its population are Chinese... china shud be the one concerned.. no? Only if China lays claims on Singapore first. This Christmas Island used to be Singapore's colony, whatever that means. acherlee...... why would we want Christmas Island for? Need alternative sources for Chilli Crabs? or for Sentosa II? Seriously, it does not have black gold...not strategically important for trade route..... I thought it can provide an alternative site of retirement from the welli sexpensive mainland Singapore has also fought over a smaller rock with Malaysia Edited July 14, 2016 by Weez911 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic July 14, 2016 Share July 14, 2016 acherlee...... why would we want Christmas Island for? Need alternative sources for Chilli Crabs? or for Sentosa II? Seriously, it does not have black gold...not strategically important for trade route..... Its for additional GRC Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic July 14, 2016 Share July 14, 2016 Wah Lauuuuuuuuuuuu ayeeeeeeeeee ............. The title, I thought Australia handling over Christmas Island back to Singapore.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BenTong Turbocharged July 14, 2016 Share July 14, 2016 Imagine no more BMT in Tekong but @ Christmas Island!!!! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 14, 2016 Share July 14, 2016 acherlee...... why would we want Christmas Island for? Seriously, it does not have black gold...not strategically important for trade route..... to spend our christmas there? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic July 14, 2016 Share July 14, 2016 Too far to administer lah.... somemore must go through big Abang Indonesia.... Fight with Bali for tourist? Only if China lays claims on Singapore first. This Christmas Island used to be Singapore's colony, whatever that means. I thought it can provide an alternative site of retirement from the welli sexpensive mainland Singapore has also fought over a smaller rock with Malaysia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic July 14, 2016 Share July 14, 2016 Imagine no more BMT in Tekong but @ Christmas Island!!!! Like that no more book-out every weekends leow.... Booking-out only once a month ... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic July 14, 2016 Share July 14, 2016 But if really become part of sg, then we can start do reclamation, build HDB, construct Changi T6, establish MRT line and issue new license for casino. U huat i huat everybody huat haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic July 14, 2016 Author Share July 14, 2016 Too far to administer lah.... somemore must go through big Abang Indonesia.... Fight with Bali for tourist? That Christmas Island got no haze too! Air clean clean! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged July 14, 2016 Share July 14, 2016 (edited) If I were made to retire overseas, Christmas Island may be a better option/closer affiliation to Sg than JB. Btw, can those crabs be eaten? Edited July 14, 2016 by Albeniz 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BenTong Turbocharged July 14, 2016 Share July 14, 2016 Too far to administer lah.... somemore must go through big Abang Indonesia.... Fight with Bali for tourist? Imagine go there for houseman training!!'n Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic July 14, 2016 Author Share July 14, 2016 But if really become part of sg, then we can start do reclamation, build HDB, construct Changi T6, establish MRT line and issue new license for casino. U huat i huat everybody huat haha It will really be a great retirement village from the mainland leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Getzsfv 5th Gear July 14, 2016 Share July 14, 2016 nothing much there except a very huge refugee camps and red crabs... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic July 14, 2016 Share July 14, 2016 nothing much there except a very huge refugee camps and red crabs...Singapore also nth much back in 1800s hehe ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...