Tigershark1976 Turbocharged July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 In short, DSG is not suitable for driving condition in SG... ↡ Advertisement 12 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 Also for those who like to go M'sia that jams up to 3 hrs ...in peak timing.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 In short, DSG is not suitable for driving condition in SG... as well as Malaysia, China & Australia. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 as well as Malaysia, China & Australia. and all ther major cities with poor traffic... [laugh] 11 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bicolor 5th Gear July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 and all ther major cities with poor traffic... [laugh] Actually, many other major cities have equally bad or worse traffic, Singapore is nowhere near the worst. But another factor to consider is that driving distances are often very short too. Start-stop traffic (and many people here tend not to control smoothly but jam on the gas to move and then brake hard to a stop), low overall speeds and short trips, probably hard on any type of gearbox 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 I drove my dual clutched vehicle in plenty of start stop scenarios and never once encountered a problem. The gearbox was golden when I sold the car. But it wasn't a VW 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
merc280v6 6th Gear July 9, 2016 Share July 9, 2016 as well as Malaysia, China & Australia.Eh, last month in June, the VW salesman sumpah, cross his heart, tell me that their DSG problems all resolved, after the 2014 batch The magic 'silver bullet' was a change to mineral-based transmission oil. And that did the trick! So simple meh??? All BS right? I drove my dual clutched vehicle in plenty of start stop scenarios and never once encountered a problem. The gearbox was golden when I sold the car. But it wasn't a VW You splay paint your gearbox to golden color issit?Nice 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic July 9, 2016 Share July 9, 2016 Eh, last month in June, the VW salesman sumpah, cross his heart, tell me that their DSG problems all resolved, after the 2014 batch The magic 'silver bullet' was a change to mineral-based transmission oil. And that did the trick! So simple meh??? All BS right? You splay paint your gearbox to golden color issit? Nice Salesman words can trust. ?Pigs can Fly.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged July 9, 2016 Share July 9, 2016 The salesman must have cursed himself many X Liao.. He dare to put into black n white n give personal warranty like replace gb if breakdown within 10 yrs then talk. Oh ya at his own cost 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 9, 2016 Share July 9, 2016 Eh, last month in June, the VW salesman sumpah, cross his heart, tell me that their DSG problems all resolved, after the 2014 batch The magic 'silver bullet' was a change to mineral-based transmission oil. And that did the trick! So simple meh??? Is VW cracking lame joke?? I drove my dual clutched vehicle in plenty of start stop scenarios and never once encountered a problem. The gearbox was golden when I sold the car. But it wasn't a VW ///M-DCT of course no problem. Wet clutch mah. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flashbang Turbocharged July 10, 2016 Author Share July 10, 2016 In short, DSG is not suitable for driving condition in SG...DSG is not suitable if you have no spare cash to fix parts or spare time to visit workshop... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic July 10, 2016 Share July 10, 2016 The salesman must have cursed himself many X Liao.. He dare to put into black n white n give personal warranty like replace gb if breakdown within 10 yrs then talk. Oh ya at his own cost No need to that extend,if VW agent promised,if any repair take more than 8 hrs,you can get courtesy or rental cars,that is enough. I will buy one..Passat..if got this offer,no need 10 years,7 years is enough. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic July 10, 2016 Share July 10, 2016 No need to that extend,if VW agent promised,if any repair take more than 8 hrs,you can get courtesy or rental cars,that is enough. I will buy one..Passat..if got this offer,no need 10 years,7 years is enough. you can buy the 2 litre Passat what worry what? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic July 10, 2016 Share July 10, 2016 you can buy the 2 litre Passat what worry what? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic July 10, 2016 Share July 10, 2016 No,not only Gearbox,my Brother In Law Sharan,also got many others problem,like blown bulbs,sunroof leaking[his car is manly parked indoor,so cannot be seal harden],needs to top up engine oil,every 3000km... Worst part,the blown headlamp,just changed in AD,2 weeks..blown again. seriously I don't think the other problems you mentioned are common or happen frequently in all VWs maybe u buy the 2litre Passat then can tell your Brother in law no such problems leh? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic July 10, 2016 Share July 10, 2016 seriously I don't think the other problems you mentioned are common or happen frequently in all VWs maybe u buy the 2litre Passat then can tell your Brother in law no such problems leh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
merc280v6 6th Gear July 10, 2016 Share July 10, 2016 No confident with VW... Many have lost confidence in VW, dumped it and moved on. VW's diesel cheat case did not help. Reputation gone! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged July 10, 2016 Share July 10, 2016 No need to that extend,if VW agent promised,if any repair take more than 8 hrs,you can get courtesy or rental cars,that is enough. I will buy one..Passat..if got this offer,no need 10 years,7 years is enough. U made a point. Courtesy cars a must when comes to this. Still, I'll prefer 10yrs for better resale when needed.Basically, if have less Budget or not willing to spend significantly more on maintenance / repair, avoid all cont I I feel.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...