inlinesix Hypersonic July 3, 2016 Share July 3, 2016 try high rev half clutch I once did that reversing up a steep slope when I reached the top, burnt smell was very prominent ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic July 3, 2016 Share July 3, 2016 Why u do this? I only do half clutch during start stop traffic le. went down a car park ramp, realised gate closed no way for 3 point turn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged July 3, 2016 Share July 3, 2016 You miss my point. Manual gear half clutch no problem. I guess the title of the vid is more of a click-bait title la. More suitable title would be things to try to avoid in a DCT vehicle. Doesn't sound as nice ma. If can don't half clutch so much, clutch will last longer also. But definitely don't need to avoid it la. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic July 3, 2016 Share July 3, 2016 (edited) try high rev half clutch I once did that reversing up a steep slope when I reached the top, burnt smell was very prominent ð LOL... Me too. I did it once when I was a noob in a 1L car. Carelessly drove into a down ramp that was a carpark exit. Had to kancheong reverse out. Lucky no cars in the middle of the night.You miss my point. Manual gear half clutch no problem. All kinds of GB can half clutch no problem. What point? Edited July 3, 2016 by Jellandross 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic July 3, 2016 Share July 3, 2016 I think we can agree that wet DCTs are OK for SG? For the infamous dry, its more of MU & less of clutch pack issue? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged July 3, 2016 Share July 3, 2016 (edited) I think we can agree that wet DCTs are OK for SG? For the infamous dry, its more of MU & less of clutch pack issue?Wet DSG have their fair share of MU problems too though not as troubling as dry DSG. Edited July 3, 2016 by Pocus 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged July 3, 2016 Share July 3, 2016 I think we can agree that wet DCTs are OK for SG? For the infamous dry, its more of MU & less of clutch pack issue? I think cuz wet DCTs don't get as hot so less problems? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic July 3, 2016 Share July 3, 2016 (edited) Sort off, the set up is bathed in oil. E.g., 7 dry needs 700ml of oil during gb oil change. 6 wet needs over 6 litres...just like an AT or CVT paired w torque converter. Edited July 3, 2016 by Baal 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flashbang Turbocharged July 3, 2016 Author Share July 3, 2016 Yes, the wet GB has oil to help cool the clutch... I don't own one but so far the DCT problems seem to be from the dry clutches... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged July 3, 2016 Share July 3, 2016 Ya lor... Sadly, selling products that last forever is not a good business model. Got lar... Casio Watch.... knn how you use, go swimming, hiking, wind surfing, diving.... just wont spoil.... no spoil cannot buy new one.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged July 3, 2016 Share July 3, 2016 Just off Topic,if a 7 speed DSG,used very little mileage like 5500km per year,will it also give problems,let's say after 5 years.? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator July 3, 2016 Share July 3, 2016 @nzy talks about Torque converter AT vs DCT. You talks about Torque converter AT vs Manual. Chicken & duck talk le. hi Duck.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 4, 2016 Share July 4, 2016 I think we can agree that wet DCTs are OK for SG? For the infamous dry, its more of MU & less of clutch pack issue? The VW dry ones, they also have clutch uneven wear issue. But it's just juddering. Not something that will make u unable to drive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic July 4, 2016 Share July 4, 2016 Tiangong some makes improvised by making the gear go Neutral / free wheeling when you lift off your throttle for some of these automated GB. For me, I wouldn't want to drive this type of car. Complicated sh1ts for simple stuff. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flashbang Turbocharged July 4, 2016 Author Share July 4, 2016 Tiangong some makes improvised by making the gear go Neutral / free wheeling when you lift off your throttle for some of these automated GB. For me, I wouldn't want to drive this type of car. Complicated sh1ts for simple stuff. It helps with fuel economy so can cruise longer with 0 fuel usage. Good to have but need to take note that there will be no engine braking effect Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 4, 2016 Share July 4, 2016 All kinds of GB can half clutch no problem. What point? But this bideo says DCT cannot le. Tiangong some makes improvised by making the gear go Neutral / free wheeling when you lift off your throttle for some of these automated GB. For me, I wouldn't want to drive this type of car. Complicated sh1ts for simple stuff. These are idiots lah. I will leave in D whether i am moving or stop at traffic light. Waste time. How much can be saved Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged July 5, 2016 Share July 5, 2016 This cannot that cannot. I think manual still easiest to drive and control. No replacement. have la, only clutch and maybe gear oil but at a much longer interval. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
No_worries 6th Gear July 5, 2016 Share July 5, 2016 I am driving a VW with this 7 speeder box. Yes it shudders vibrates a little at low speed crawling but so far still satisfied with it. It is the characteristic of this automated manual gearbox. So far for the last 1 year driving it, I have adapted my driving style to suit it such as releasing the brake pedal to allow the clutch k1 pack to engage and reach biting point first before accelerating. Compared to a traditional torque converter automatic such as the new Elantra which I test drove last month, the 'creeping' effect of my DSG is lower, i.e. when you release the brake pedal, the car doesn't surge as fast, there is some vibration and you can hear the half clutch taking effect, the car only surge forward strongly when you press the accelerator. This diagram will help to explain it, there are 2 separate circuits for the 7 speeder VW dsg. 1 for the mechatronic unit and the other for the mechanical gear box. The second is like the lube oil used in the single plate clutch manual transmission gearbox in the yester years. =) ↡ Advertisement 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...