Home repair advice needed

nazerath

I did asked two companies to quote for replacement of my main door, including door frame and metal gate. Both quoted abt $3k, includes hacking of existing door frame.

1) hohoengineering1976 at yahoo.com.sg - from an exhitbition at Expo.

2) enquiry at doctordoors.com.sg - from Ch5 Renovate show.

Take some photos and measurement and send to them for quotation.

thanks bro, will get a quote from them.

Thanks will go to the shop at King George ave. meanwhile I bought a few from a hardware shop, 50cents each. Very very ex.

guys, Know where can I get these type of m6 x 8 screws apart from kelantan lane? About a pack of 100? Any nuts n screw shops you all know of?

Very common type.

Cheapest @ Central Engineering, there is an outlet at Tyrwhitt Rd very near to Kelantan Lane.

http://www.centralengineering.com.sg/

Thanks will go to the shop at King George ave. meanwhile I bought a few from a hardware shop, 50cents each. Very very ex.

50cts / pc very ex!

it should costs less than 5cts each. (edited: for qty more than 50)

Edited by Melissa

Very common type.

Cheapest @ Central Engineering, there is an outlet at Tyrwhitt Rd very near to Kelantan Lane.

http://www.centralengineering.com.sg/

50cts / pc very ex!

it should costs less than 5cts each. (edited: for qty more than 50)

yes it is, i got from king george shop for 25cents each for m6 x 10. still very ex. a check with a seller in china whom i take screw from, it is 2 cents.

Screws, bolts and nuts are generally sold by 50, 100 pcs or lb/kg.

It costs about 1 ~ 10 cents when you're buying in bulk.

When you're buying less than 10 pcs, the price shoots up astronomically depending on who is selling it.

Question is: do you want to buy 100 pcs or pay more for a few.?

I've bought some m10 bolts and they were like $1 each.

Edited by Kb27

actually i asked for a hundred and was quoted 25cents each that is why took lesser. can you imagine,.. guess im used to buying them in china, good thing i stocked about 40kgs of fasteners when i was overseas, i just dont have countersunk heads,

i understand that i need to buy in 100s from screw sellers but cant help feeling i got screwed, lol.

Edited by nazerath

you cannot ask for the price in piece.

Just walk in and ask how much one box. From there... [sly]

If you have asked for the price/piece in the first place, they will just quote you same for multiple pieces no matter how many you are getting. In this instance, you either walk away or just suck thumb.

actually i asked for a hundred and was quoted 25cents each that is why took lesser. can you imagine,.. guess im used to buying them in china, good thing i stocked about 40kgs of fasteners when i was overseas, i just dont have countersunk heads,

i understand that i need to buy in 100s from screw sellers but cant help feeling i got screwed, lol.

Edited by Kangadrool

you cannot ask for the price in piece.

Just walk in and ask how much one box. From there... [sly]

If you have asked for the price/piece in the first place, they will just quote you same for multiple pieces no matter how many you are getting. In this instance, you either walk away or just suck thumb.

i under what you mean, I actually asked for 100 straight and after being told the price, i said too ex.... i will take 50 only since i saw it packed in 50s.

I mean seriously i didnt travel all the way to a screw shop to get a couple of screws. it is common to get in 100s or much more but the price must be reasonable. another seller a forummer linked price was a little more reasonable at 14 plus per 100 but i didnt want to wait for free delivery

I used to frequent the one at kelantan and later brought from overseas due to vast price diff.

I am looking for recommendation for a reasonably priced, good, home air-con repair technician. Mitsubishi Star Max system 3. 1 FCU is not cold although fed from same compressor as the other 2. Another FCU is dripping water.  

how long you never service your air con

Anyone know where to buy those Ikea office chair caster wheels? They don't sell separately.  :a-noway:

The caster wheel will disintegrate over time.

Most using 11mm stem but this Ikea use 10mm stem. 

Edited by Fcw75

I have 2 contacts you can try.

One has no company so no GST.

Jackson 91299921

One is a company:

Skyzone 66590555

www.skyzone.com.sg

Anyone know where to buy those Ikea office chair caster wheels? They don't sell separately. :a-noway:

The caster wheel will disintegrate over time.

Most using 11mm stem but this Ikea use 10mm stem.

Change chair lah bro hehe

I recommend you ergo human v2

https://primero.sg/product/ergohuman-office-chair/

How much this fellow sell I donno

Last time I bought from apres marketing at $600 or $650

Something like that

Apres no more liao

The chair Jin goot

I also bought one used office chair, branded type, very lasting.

We all these type of office people

Sit long hours one

Buy good chair sit is wise choice

Hi all, I intend to move an existing wardrobe to the right of the door and unfortunately due to its dimensions the wardrobe left edge just about touches the right edge of the aircon remote, meaning my light switch will be blocked. Hence I also intend to relocate the light switch closer to the doorframe. A conventional switchplate is still too big, but today I learnt an 'architrave' switch is what I'm looking for! 

The thing is, I would like to relocate the switch as non-invasively as possible, so basically I will stick or screw in the new switch (with pattress box) in the area above the aircon remote. In this scenario I would have to run the wiring from where the existing switchplate is to the new switch 2-3cm away, running externally.

My question is, is there enough length of wire behind the switchplate to do this, or do I need to extend the wires?

46CuWGfVOxwmToeCi5xLEKbNO0KTb5Lff25mpmXzyLf8QEO_L07cRtkzft-bsep5kxZmfMVAu-vPgF7YGGkZ3vmZ_W7G8xUHszXitJry=s3000

31 minutes ago, boonhat_91 said:

Hi all, I intend to move an existing wardrobe to the right of the door and unfortunately due to its dimensions the wardrobe left edge just about touches the right edge of the aircon remote, meaning my light switch will be blocked. Hence I also intend to relocate the light switch closer to the doorframe. A conventional switchplate is still too big, but today I learnt an 'architrave' switch is what I'm looking for! 

The thing is, I would like to relocate the switch as non-invasively as possible, so basically I will stick or screw in the new switch (with pattress box) in the area above the aircon remote. In this scenario I would have to run the wiring from where the existing switchplate is to the new switch 2-3cm away, running externally.

My question is, is there enough length of wire behind the switchplate to do this, or do I need to extend the wires?

46CuWGfVOxwmToeCi5xLEKbNO0KTb5Lff25mpmXzyLf8QEO_L07cRtkzft-bsep5kxZmfMVAu-vPgF7YGGkZ3vmZ_W7G8xUHszXitJry=s3000

You need to open up the current one to check the spare length.  You can always use some crimp connectors to extend (more secured since it will be behind the wardrobe).  Avoid using the screw-type connector since it will not be accessible when it rusts.

50pcs-Insulated-Straight-Butt-Connectors-Electrical-Crimp-Terminals-Assorted-Kits-Wire-Cable-Terminal-For-Electrical-Tools.jpg_q50.thumb.jpg.ede1d606c14e0056160e2a34cc641517.jpg

Alternatively if the wires come from the ceiling, move the new switch higher up and re-route the existing wires higher too.  Crimp connectors should be the easiest though.  You can even consider mounting the existing switch on the side of the new wardrobe running the wires inside.  Your carpenter will have to cover the back properly though.

Edited by Volvobrick