AIG insurance - be very wary of the terms!

1fast1

A very good question. I'll definitely check on this.

But assuming you're right and this is industry-wide practice, then loved ones in the car have little choice except to draw on their own hospitalisation insurance/life insurance in the case of the worst happening?

Yes. That is exactly why there are so many coverages that one may purchase to cover all the different aspects.

Of course, if you are the driver and caused major injuries to your son, your wife can sue you on his behalf.

It may sound silly but all these are grounded in good, solid time tested case laws.

You buy medical insurance for your son cos you need an insurer to come forth and pay his immediate medical expenses. It may come up to say 500k and someone has to come up with it in the meantime. Itz either you or your son's medical insurer. Many medical insurers however are on reimbursement basis and you are still require to pay first before they pay you back.

That however is another topic.......

Yet my policy (page 5, 3.1c) seems to exclude Acts of God as a general exclusion. Or am I on the wrong track again?

You are on the right track.  I did not notice it.  I rem most policy covers act of god.

Yet my policy (page 5, 3.1c) seems to exclude Acts of God as a general exclusion. Or am I on the wrong track again?

Yes, Acts of God is excluded as a General Exclusion but you need to read the contract in totality.

Under Endorsement Clause 57 on page 12, Inclusion of Special Perils, your policy is extended to cover a hosts of excluded perils and Acts of God is one of the perils included via this clause.

Car insurance coverage: AIG replies

PUBLISHED
1 HOUR AGO

In his letter last Thursday, Mr Tan Siak Khian was referring to clauses in the additional personal accident cover that we offer on top of our standard car insurance policy ("Why doesn't car insurance policy cover all passengers?").

We assure Mr Tan that as part of our car insurance policy, and as required under the Motor Vehicles (Third Party Risks and Compensation) Act, AIG has been providing unlimited cover for injuries or death suffered by any person resulting from a car accident that the driver is held liable for.

What this means is that all passengers, including the passenger groups mentioned by Mr Tan, are already covered under our car insurance policy.

This is also stated in the brochure for our Toyota Auto Protector product.

We regularly review all our policies to ensure that we continue to meet the needs of our customers.

Manik Bucha

Head, Auto

AIG Asia Pacific Insurance

but AIG did not clarify the clauses?

What this means is that all passengers, including the passenger groups mentioned by Mr Tan, are already covered under our car insurance policy.

This Manik guy say that there's coverage despite the policy's clauses said it doesn't?

So when there's a need for claim, do they make reference to the policy or this guy's post in Facebook? :huh:  

must screen grab the facebook post and attached as supplement in the AIG insurance ... LOL

This Manik guy say that there's coverage despite the policy's clauses said it doesn't?

So when there's a need for claim, do they make reference to the policy or this guy's post in Facebook? :huh:  

Yes, Acts of God is excluded as a General Exclusion but you need to read the contract in totality.

Under Endorsement Clause 57 on page 12, Inclusion of Special Perils, your policy is extended to cover a hosts of excluded perils and Acts of God is one of the perils included via this clause.

yup, good to point this out. Thats why contract must read in totality. Insurers rarely amend their MASTER POLICY CONTRACT and definitely won't because of a new change, because it can be very lengthy and cumbersome (involves many parties, especially legal). Hence they rely on endorsements for any exclusions/additions/amendments ...... 

So instead of kpkb, why not just send an email to clarify ? 

yup, good to point this out. Thats why contract must read in totality. Insurers rarely amend their MASTER POLICY CONTRACT and definitely won't because of a new change, because it can be very lengthy and cumbersome (involves many parties, especially legal). Hence they rely on endorsements for any exclusions/additions/amendments ...... 

So instead of kpkb, why not just send an email to clarify ? 

Email sent. Link to this thread provided.

When there's a claim, that guy would have resigned.

AIG would say it's his personal opinion, no count. [laugh]

but AIG did not clarify the clauses?

In my opinion, it is a badly done reply, which does not explain anything.

What i think he meant is that it is covered under 3rd party liability of Comprehensive Motor Insurance.

However, if Mr Tan wants to claim under PA rider of his policy, it is subject to exclusion clause attached.

Email sent. Link to this thread provided.

Personal accident covers are very cheap.  That's why insurer can give it to you for free (very likely).

Why not just buy Personal accident covers for your family members if you are worry?

Previously, i have an insurance cover for my brompton.  This policy includes Personal accident cover when i am riding my bike.

must screen grab the facebook post and attached as supplement in the AIG insurance ... LOL

Aiyo, buy insurance from big boy oso we gotta do until liddat. 

AIG was deemed "too big to fail".

Looks like it failed itself instead. 

Guys, I have directed AIG to this thread to avail them of the opportunity to clarify this matter. If they email me with a clarification, I will also update this thread.

For now, please keep it clean and civilised in expressing our opinions.

Aiyo, buy insurance from big boy oso we gotta do until liddat. 

AIG was deemed "too big to fail".

Looks like it failed itself instead. 

FYI.  AIG is deemed to be 1 of the nine globally systematic important insurers, which means that they have a higher standard to adhere to.

Guys, I have directed AIG to this thread to avail them of the opportunity to clarify this matter. If they email me with a clarification, I will also update this thread.

For now, please keep it clean and civilised in expressing our opinions.

I LOLed at the bolded word...muahahahahah

you and @porker are nowhere near that...kekekekeke

FYI.  AIG is deemed to be 1 of the nine globally systematic important insurers, which means that they have a higher standard to adhere to.

Yeah that's why we hv to print the manik's guy FB or public reply and attach it to our policy to make sure they dun siam. 

I LOLed at the bolded word...muahahahahah

you and @porker are nowhere near that...kekekekeke

At least we not syphilised like you la pundek. General paresis of the insane explains a lot of your symptomatology. [laugh]

OK, OK, serious thread under pub(l)ic scrutiny, yah? :D

Car insurance coverage: AIG replies

PUBLISHED
1 HOUR AGO

In his letter last Thursday, Mr Tan Siak Khian was referring to clauses in the additional personal accident cover that we offer on top of our standard car insurance policy ("Why doesn't car insurance policy cover all passengers?").

We assure Mr Tan that as part of our car insurance policy, and as required under the Motor Vehicles (Third Party Risks and Compensation) Act, AIG has been providing unlimited cover for injuries or death suffered by any person resulting from a car accident that the driver is held liable for.

This is also stated in the brochure for our Toyota Auto Protector product.

We regularly review all our policies to ensure that we continue to meet the needs of our customers.

Manik Bucha

Head, Auto

AIG Asia Pacific Insurance

Lets put it this way... most car AD has tie up with some insurance company and car package states that you have to take in house insurance and loan. thus in the end there is nothing you can do but to take it up when u buy a new car. only the renewal year then u can choose alternative. so lanlan right.

i know merc, wearnes are with AIG