SiLangKia Supersonic August 15, 2016 Share August 15, 2016 (edited) https://www.carwow.co.uk/Vauxhall/Astra?utm_source=YouTube&utm_medium=description&utm_campaign=Make-vauxhall-Model-astra-Type-main https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ugxzPJKcgbc Pretty comprehensive & positive UK review of the astra. I like how it is mentioned that "Vauxhall (Opel) has manged to take the fun sporty elements of the Ford Focus 7 then combine it with the comfort & relaxing drive of a VW Golf" Sounds like a good balance between the 2 cars plus it looks better than both Edited August 15, 2016 by SiLangKia ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Daniu82 Supercharged August 17, 2016 Share August 17, 2016 Saw a red 1L turbo Opel Astra on the road ytd, really a head turner.... Shall keep this car in view... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
birdster88 Clutched August 22, 2016 Share August 22, 2016 Any long term opel owners can comment about the reliability and maintenance cost of opel cars? I have driven and am still driving an Opel. My first was a Corsa and now I am into the final year of my Astra 1.8 Wagon. Generally, what I experienced are wear and tear issues. I have done most of my servicing at a place in Tampines that specializes in conti cars (not gonna mention the name). Price wise is about $200 or slightly lesser each time i go in. No major mechanical issues but I had 2 major accidents involving a car and a lorry that hit my car....I have to say one of the key reasons why I stick to an Opel is how safe I feel when I am in one of them. I have just started looking around for the replacement for my "coming to an end" car and I think I more or less know which showroom I will be heading to. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bugyeo 1st Gear August 22, 2016 Share August 22, 2016 I have driven and am still driving an Opel. My first was a Corsa and now I am into the final year of my Astra 1.8 Wagon. Generally, what I experienced are wear and tear issues. I have done most of my servicing at a place in Tampines that specializes in conti cars (not gonna mention the name). Price wise is about $200 or slightly lesser each time i go in. No major mechanical issues but I had 2 major accidents involving a car and a lorry that hit my car....I have to say one of the key reasons why I stick to an Opel is how safe I feel when I am in one of them. I have just started looking around for the replacement for my "coming to an end" car and I think I more or less know which showroom I will be heading to. Good to know. Thanks:) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jubilong 2nd Gear August 22, 2016 Share August 22, 2016 I have driven and am still driving an Opel. My first was a Corsa and now I am into the final year of my Astra 1.8 Wagon. Generally, what I experienced are wear and tear issues. I have done most of my servicing at a place in Tampines that specializes in conti cars (not gonna mention the name). Price wise is about $200 or slightly lesser each time i go in. No major mechanical issues but I had 2 major accidents involving a car and a lorry that hit my car....I have to say one of the key reasons why I stick to an Opel is how safe I feel when I am in one of them. I have just started looking around for the replacement for my "coming to an end" car and I think I more or less know which showroom I will be heading to. How are the availability of parts from outside stockist if you are not servicing with the AD? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DrivingApe 1st Gear August 22, 2016 Share August 22, 2016 I have driven and am still driving an Opel. My first was a Corsa and now I am into the final year of my Astra 1.8 Wagon. Generally, what I experienced are wear and tear issues. I have done most of my servicing at a place in Tampines that specializes in conti cars (not gonna mention the name). Price wise is about $200 or slightly lesser each time i go in. No major mechanical issues but I had 2 major accidents involving a car and a lorry that hit my car....I have to say one of the key reasons why I stick to an Opel is how safe I feel when I am in one of them. I have just started looking around for the replacement for my "coming to an end" car and I think I more or less know which showroom I will be heading to. hi don't mind can pm the name of the shop? thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joolz 1st Gear August 23, 2016 Share August 23, 2016 I have driven and am still driving an Opel. My first was a Corsa and now I am into the final year of my Astra 1.8 Wagon. Generally, what I experienced are wear and tear issues. I have done most of my servicing at a place in Tampines that specializes in conti cars (not gonna mention the name). Price wise is about $200 or slightly lesser each time i go in. No major mechanical issues but I had 2 major accidents involving a car and a lorry that hit my car....I have to say one of the key reasons why I stick to an Opel is how safe I feel when I am in one of them. I have just started looking around for the replacement for my "coming to an end" car and I think I more or less know which showroom I will be heading to. Dont mind, can pm me the workshop contact? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kin1 1st Gear August 24, 2016 Share August 24, 2016 Hi, taken a first look at the Tourer in showroom. No test drive yet but exterior and interior looks good. One BIG worry (can be deal breaker) is lack of spare tyre. Understand some new cars come without spare tyre, just repair kit Just cannot figure how to handle if tyre gets big gash on Malaysian road (it has happened to me before, luckily I had a spare tyre). Not a concern for others? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
merc280v6 6th Gear August 24, 2016 Share August 24, 2016 Hi, taken a first look at the Tourer in showroom. No test drive yet but exterior and interior looks good. One BIG worry (can be deal breaker) is lack of spare tyre. Understand some new cars come without spare tyre, just repair kit Just cannot figure how to handle if tyre gets big gash on Malaysian road (it has happened to me before, luckily I had a spare tyre). Not a concern for others? Tyre repair kit is useless for tyre edge / sidewall shear ... happened to me once. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kin1 1st Gear August 24, 2016 Share August 24, 2016 But you went ahead to buy the Tourer? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic August 24, 2016 Share August 24, 2016 (edited) What did the SE said? Did (s)he say... Last time, scooter got spare tyre, now don't have already long time liao or aeroplane also no spare tyre. But, I think tourer not too bad. Can buy one wheel with tyre of correct size/type and put in the trunk. Hi, taken a first look at the Tourer in showroom. No test drive yet but exterior and interior looks good. One BIG worry (can be deal breaker) is lack of spare tyre. Understand some new cars come without spare tyre, just repair kit Just cannot figure how to handle if tyre gets big gash on Malaysian road (it has happened to me before, luckily I had a spare tyre). Not a concern for others? Edited August 24, 2016 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kin1 1st Gear August 24, 2016 Share August 24, 2016 With regards to your feedback Kangadrool, SE explained many (???) new models are without spare tyres.... can depend on the repair kit. There is a spare tyre well space but it's not a full circular space, part of it is like cut off ... so even if get a spare tyre, I don't see how to stroe it. In a way merc280v6 makes me feel I'm not the only one worrying about this ... thanks for your "support" . Apologies, just started to post here and still don't know how to link to the same thread. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aaur4man 1st Gear August 25, 2016 Share August 25, 2016 probably gonna wait till next year then check back in the reviews here on the car and after sales service as well. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vaped Neutral Newbie August 25, 2016 Share August 25, 2016 any chance the sedan will be brought onto our shores? currect car, coe gonna expire next year. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audi2016 5th Gear August 27, 2016 Share August 27, 2016 Why judge a car by its engine capacity? In 2016 no less. New BMW 730i with 2.0L engine, would you say it's not good value for money simply because engine is the same size as a Camry's? Or will you accept that technological advances bring about smaller engines? I think downsizing is good. Better fuel economy and lowers the price for potential buyers to buy a better / nicer car with an equal amount of kit compared to the same model but with bigger engine. Normal drivers don't have much chance to fully utilise 3.0L TwinPower Turbocharged engine or similar on a daily basis. For every day usage, 2.0L 4 cylinder turbocharged engine giving 250BHP 350NM or so is more than sufficient. 1.4L / 1.6L turbocharged ones for the more budget segment. Then again, people who loves to steer away from new tech or engine downsizing can keep to their 1.6L or 2.0L NA engine lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leijasper 1st Gear August 28, 2016 Share August 28, 2016 Hi guys, Jasper here again 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Oxygen89 1st Gear August 28, 2016 Share August 28, 2016 Test drove the 1.0T version, overall quite like the car but it lacks some features which is holding me back 1) Headlight is not LED, still the old halogen lights. 2) The driver information display is still the old single colour display, not the LCD multi coloured display screen 3) The rear antenna is sticking out like dog's balls, no shark-fin type antenna. Otherwise, the car is great overall! Does anyone knows if theres option to add on those features above? Thanks! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
birdster88 Clutched August 29, 2016 Share August 29, 2016 How are the availability of parts from outside stockist if you are not servicing with the AD? Generally I did not have any issues getting parts (maybe because my model have been around for quite a while already). Previously when I first started servicing my car at AD (Eurokars), arm, leg and body kena chopped. Once warranty over, I serviced my car with 3rd party shop.....faster and cheaper. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...