kelaihoyin 5th Gear July 25, 2017 Share July 25, 2017 Rattling problem i have a few places (which can be reasonably fixed if u really want to): 1) Rubber trim above windows (this makes the loudest flexing noise over ramps / humps) buy a lubricant , run it over the rubbers and 100% noise gone. redo this every few months especially if u like to keep ur car clean and dry sounds like robotic frog croaking 2) IU this one dono how, maybe insert some gel/blu tac , it happens when it expands/contracts in heat. whenever this happens there is loud tick sound 3) Door side B pillar think door metal contact with B pillar metal. bought a whole box of rubber insulators for this but havent got around to install. its some tick tick sound when drive. 4) Door bins inside hard plastic not soft touch rubber, so anything inside can vibrate. 5) hollow clunking sound over very uneven ground something to do with front undercarriage. dont know where yet because it doesnt happen on normal roads or going over humps. Radio needs to be off. not sure how to fix but raise this to AG they should do something about this phone AA issue tried many different cables including original one....im waiting for a special new set and just ordered a 4 port USB 3.0 powered switch from Orico...if it doesnt work may change phone haha Yea location 3 and 4 can easily be fixed with the rubber gaskets took me less than 5 mins. Don't even need to take out anything. There is also the rattling sound from the passenger side piano black trim. Also solved using the rubber gaskets. Haven't really experience point 5 though. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkew 1st Gear July 26, 2017 Share July 26, 2017 Hi Johnny - I have the Orico USB - can lend you test. So far I uninstall AA - then reinstall back AA only my Oppo R9s - it works fine. But I notice if I on Phone navigation... a msg come in from WhatsApp I will not know until I exit the Navi App. Lets have a meetup guys - check out the issues and share knowledge lah haha - when - where ? While you are using phone navigation, whenever any messages come in, there will be a pop up on the screen that will last for about 10 secs, you can touch it and it will read out the message. Alternatively, at any point in time you can just activate voice command, i.e. holding the "call" button on the steering for 2 secs or just say "Ok, Google", then you can tell your phone "read notifications" or "read messages" and it will read out every message that there is, and also will prompt you if you would like to reply, if so you can just say your message and it will read back to you for confirmation before asking if you like to send. Try it out. Be adventurous with AA and you will really enjoy using it. I use it to tell me temperature of the day, the travel time to different places, appointments that I have, etc. Did 180km/h quite comfortably while on a rental ST in Germany's autobahn. Did not try to push it even more though. 180km/h is not stretching the Astra yet. It is just getting comfy. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
walkofwinners 4th Gear July 26, 2017 Share July 26, 2017 I dunno about u guys. But rattling in this day and age? Come on. Have the service centre fixed no matter what. Even a Hyundai or Kia can do better Btw this dealer pants drop http://m.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=663866 Haha the owner so fast wanna sell it off, opc somemore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Johnny86 4th Gear July 26, 2017 Share July 26, 2017 Yea location 3 and 4 can easily be fixed with the rubber gaskets took me less than 5 mins. Don't even need to take out anything. There is also the rattling sound from the passenger side piano black trim. Also solved using the rubber gaskets. Haven't really experience point 5 though. where do u get rubber gaskets? got picture? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AndrewLee72 6th Gear July 26, 2017 Share July 26, 2017 Wah Tkew! You are the AA Expert sia!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasles6912 Clutched July 26, 2017 Share July 26, 2017 where do u get rubber gaskets? got picture? Yup i need to know how to solve this problem as my car is creaking eveywhere ahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kelaihoyin 5th Gear July 26, 2017 Share July 26, 2017 (edited) This is the rubber "gasket" which can be bought at any hardware store I believe. I bought 2 sizes. 2mm and 3mm thick. Diameter around 45mm. Most of the time can just cut one gasket into 3 to fit into the following location. ** 1 piece 3mm = ⅓ size of one gasket Driver/ Passenger/ Any door : 3 pieces of 3mm and fit into the following location. 2 pieces 3mm to the blue location. The green location is for some to take note as the rubber seal when I checked wasn't fastened to the clips at the bottom. Probably the most important location after my troubleshooting. Slot 2 pieces of 2mm into this gap. One at the bottom and one at the top. Lastly 1 piece 3mm at the pillar. Surprisingly lots of movement at this location. Passenger Side Piano Black Trim : 2mm strip at this location. Minimize the squeaking when pressed on location however not totally eradicated. Speedometer : This gap is bigger than the other side for no reason. Abit hard to fit a 2mm strip but managed to squeeze it in. I think best is a thinner strip if u can get. Reduces rattling especially when u press on the silver chrome surrounds around the speedometer. I cut ¾ of a piece for this to fit the entire height of the gap. Rear Seats : After much troubleshooting I have yet to find the exact source of creaking coming from the rear however it seems like it is between the leather seat and the plastic trim at the side of both rear passenger seat. It is especially obvious when putting your car through a turn upslope i.e. like going up a carpark. Can hear the sound from this video So far this is the few areas I have identified. Feel free to add any more location *Disclaimer : Might not work for your car but at least is a cheap solution to try out. Cost me less than 10 bucks in total Edited July 26, 2017 by kelaihoyin 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frogman 1st Gear July 26, 2017 Share July 26, 2017 (edited) I saw a post in youtube of a guy fixing his rattle prob, just search for astra rattling..basically just putting some foam tape or somethg like it. For clicking sound at the door area, saw another video but of a diff car..this guy pin-point the source to the hook at his door frame, for the door to latch when closed..he trial&error knock2 the hook using mallet and managed to get rid of the click sound. Got other videos abt sounds frm dashboard, mostly solved by using those thick foam/sponge tape..the prob is removing the necessary trimmings, scared break Edited July 26, 2017 by Frogman 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Johnny86 4th Gear July 26, 2017 Share July 26, 2017 FullSizeRender.jpg This is the rubber "gasket" which can be bought at any hardware store I believe. I bought 2 sizes. 2mm and 3mm thick. Diameter around 45mm. Most of the time can just cut one gasket into 3 to fit into the following location. ** 1 piece 3mm = ⅓ size of one gasket Driver/ Passenger/ Any door : IMG_4042.JPG 3 pieces of 3mm and fit into the following location. IMG_4043.jpg 2 pieces 3mm to the blue location. The green location is for some to take note as the rubber seal when I checked wasn't fastened to the clips at the bottom. IMG_4045.jpg Probably the most important location after my troubleshooting. Slot 2 pieces of 2mm into this gap. One at the bottom and one at the top. IMG_4047.jpg Lastly 1 piece 3mm at the pillar. Surprisingly lots of movement at this location. Passenger Side Piano Black Trim : IMG_4044.jpg 2mm strip at this location. Minimize the squeaking when pressed on location however not totally eradicated. Speedometer : IMG_4046.jpg This gap is bigger than the other side for no reason. Abit hard to fit a 2mm strip but managed to squeeze it in. I think best is a thinner strip if u can get. Reduces rattling especially when u press on the silver chrome surrounds around the speedometer. I cut ¾ of a piece for this to fit the entire height of the gap. Rear Seats : After much troubleshooting I have yet to find the exact source of creaking coming from the rear however it seems like it is between the leather seat and the plastic trim at the side of both rear passenger seat. It is especially obvious when putting your car through a turn upslope i.e. like going up a carpark. IMG_4049.jpg Can hear the sound from this video So far this is the few areas I have identified. Feel free to add any more location *Disclaimer : Might not work for your car but at least is a cheap solution to try out. Cost me less than 10 bucks in total wah bro FIERCE SIA UR GUIDE POWER I saw a post in youtube of a guy fixing his rattle prob, just search for astra rattling..basically just putting some foam tape or somethg like it. For clicking sound at the door area, saw another video but of a diff car..this guy pin-point the source to the hook at his door frame, for the door to latch when closed..he trial&error knock2 the hook using mallet and managed to get rid of the click sound. Got other videos abt sounds frm dashboard, mostly solved by using those thick foam/sponge tape..the prob is removing the necessary trimmings, scared break Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kelaihoyin 5th Gear July 26, 2017 Share July 26, 2017 wah bro FIERCE SIA UR GUIDE POWER i was suspecting my door side sound is the hook too..... Might as well post a guide since everyone so concern of rattling haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spinball 1st Gear July 26, 2017 Share July 26, 2017 FullSizeRender.jpg This is the rubber "gasket" which can be bought at any hardware store I believe. I bought 2 sizes. 2mm and 3mm thick. Diameter around 45mm. Most of the time can just cut one gasket into 3 to fit into the following location. ** 1 piece 3mm = ⅓ size of one gasket Driver/ Passenger/ Any door : IMG_4042.JPG 3 pieces of 3mm and fit into the following location. IMG_4043.jpg 2 pieces 3mm to the blue location. The green location is for some to take note as the rubber seal when I checked wasn't fastened to the clips at the bottom. IMG_4045.jpg Probably the most important location after my troubleshooting. Slot 2 pieces of 2mm into this gap. One at the bottom and one at the top. IMG_4047.jpg Lastly 1 piece 3mm at the pillar. Surprisingly lots of movement at this location. Passenger Side Piano Black Trim : IMG_4044.jpg 2mm strip at this location. Minimize the squeaking when pressed on location however not totally eradicated. Speedometer : IMG_4046.jpg This gap is bigger than the other side for no reason. Abit hard to fit a 2mm strip but managed to squeeze it in. I think best is a thinner strip if u can get. Reduces rattling especially when u press on the silver chrome surrounds around the speedometer. I cut ¾ of a piece for this to fit the entire height of the gap. Rear Seats : After much troubleshooting I have yet to find the exact source of creaking coming from the rear however it seems like it is between the leather seat and the plastic trim at the side of both rear passenger seat. It is especially obvious when putting your car through a turn upslope i.e. like going up a carpark. IMG_4049.jpg Can hear the sound from this video So far this is the few areas I have identified. Feel free to add any more location *Disclaimer : Might not work for your car but at least is a cheap solution to try out. Cost me less than 10 bucks in total :DGreat Great information! Seems like I can start putting these rubber gasket.. I think downside is it looks a-bit unsightly.. Yup i need to know how to solve this problem as my car is creaking eveywhere ahaha Haiz... our astra 's interior is poorly built... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kelaihoyin 5th Gear July 26, 2017 Share July 26, 2017 Great information! Seems like I can start putting these rubber gasket.. I think downside is it looks a-bit unsightly.. Haiz... our astra 's interior is poorly built... The locations are all out of sight actually. Think for the price getting all these features and power is already quite worth it. If it takes just less than $10 to fix i think is ok. I'm still enjoying the drive Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
merc280v6 6th Gear July 26, 2017 Share July 26, 2017 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sam_cool0313 Neutral Newbie July 26, 2017 Share July 26, 2017 Collecting my Astra tomorrow, finger crossed there will b no sound "defect" .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MTx Neutral Newbie July 26, 2017 Share July 26, 2017 FullSizeRender.jpg This is the rubber "gasket" which can be bought at any hardware store I believe. I bought 2 sizes. 2mm and 3mm thick. Diameter around 45mm. Most of the time can just cut one gasket into 3 to fit into the following location. ** 1 piece 3mm = ⅓ size of one gasket Driver/ Passenger/ Any door : IMG_4042.JPG 3 pieces of 3mm and fit into the following location. IMG_4043.jpg 2 pieces 3mm to the blue location. The green location is for some to take note as the rubber seal when I checked wasn't fastened to the clips at the bottom. IMG_4045.jpg Probably the most important location after my troubleshooting. Slot 2 pieces of 2mm into this gap. One at the bottom and one at the top. IMG_4047.jpg Lastly 1 piece 3mm at the pillar. Surprisingly lots of movement at this location. Passenger Side Piano Black Trim : IMG_4044.jpg 2mm strip at this location. Minimize the squeaking when pressed on location however not totally eradicated. Speedometer : IMG_4046.jpg This gap is bigger than the other side for no reason. Abit hard to fit a 2mm strip but managed to squeeze it in. I think best is a thinner strip if u can get. Reduces rattling especially when u press on the silver chrome surrounds around the speedometer. I cut ¾ of a piece for this to fit the entire height of the gap. Rear Seats : After much troubleshooting I have yet to find the exact source of creaking coming from the rear however it seems like it is between the leather seat and the plastic trim at the side of both rear passenger seat. It is especially obvious when putting your car through a turn upslope i.e. like going up a carpark. IMG_4049.jpg Can hear the sound from this video https://youtu.be/VF35_izLv1k So far this is the few areas I have identified. Feel free to add any more location *Disclaimer : Might not work for your car but at least is a cheap solution to try out. Cost me less than 10 bucks in total This is really good!! I have bookmarked this page for me to go explore and try out when I feel less disheartened..... If all this was posted here two months back I probably would be in a Honda group right now.... Like Friendstar mentioned, even a Hyundai or Kia may do better, I mean its a sparkling BRAND NEW car and there's all this flexing noises when going over humps? I feel embarrassed when I fetch my friends sometimes By the way, I complained about my flexing/creaking/dunnowhat noises during 1k inspection. They only lubricated all the door rubber seals for me, I think it kind of helped initially. 2 weeks later now, the noises are more or less back.. guess I have to do the lubrication myself regularly Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AndrewLee72 6th Gear July 26, 2017 Share July 26, 2017 Ok gonna listen closely tomorrow when I drive out the car. Anyone going Ubi for servicing this Friday morning. Moi going this Fri for 1K serviing - 9am slot.... Drink coffee there in the waiting area... 1K should be fast rite ! Sheet - dunno the window rubber strips come in liao not - no news from SE - dun look like got good news... zzzzz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spinball 1st Gear July 26, 2017 Share July 26, 2017 Collecting my Astra tomorrow, finger crossed there will b no sound "defect" ....Hmm.. think all Astra owners will encounter some form of noise defects after few weeks or months.. it depends on whether you can tolerate those noise.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xcelon 1st Gear July 27, 2017 Share July 27, 2017 I think because astra was re design from scratch so we are like the scapegoat which I think will be sorted out for next batch or next generation.. hopefully the core components are reliable. So far I'm liking my ride. Looks good drives good and no clatter noise. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...