Opel Astra 2016

ki_chiu

OK I volunteer to test the 0-100km speed. I have never bothered abt it, but since it has become a topic, mayb we can just try it out, but is just for confirmation purpose.

Next MU, I will get someone to time it, mayb have a few different guys time it a few rounds and take an avg reading. No need to argue.

Personally I don't think it will go very fast from 0-100km, (I think this area is not the the strength of this tiny engine) however, on sg roads I have surprised many other cars on the highway. So far only one ROC make me smell smoke and one M3 I willingly let it cut and go. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

This thread is so entertaining. If talking about 0-30, i do agree that there is some chance that a small turbo might be faster. Then again, hybrid would be even faster with their electric motor. The comparison never ends.

Back to topic and being a wagon person, the astra wagon looks quite sleek. Great price too. Just found that SEAT has a new wagon as well, looking good too. Quite similar with 1.0 turbo.

@merc280v6, I think you do a better job over at the game over thread. At lease you make some sense over there and I would praise you. This is just not a place for you to troll, why waste your talent and knowledge here?

If you really want to prove your worth, or get some attention, go do something like @cscbb, at least he made his present worth the while.

You come here and run down a car with such a small community song meh? You sld go run down 70% of mcf population, which happen to be part of 30% of SG voters. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Relax y'all... the troll hugging his escooter must be laughing behind keyboard while everyone else royal rumble here.

Hoot Liao Mai compare...materialism and consumerism can be quite draining..

Anything below 1.6T under the bonnet can only classify the Astra as a warm hatch with good technology and safety.

Any car goes as fast as your right foot and your heart can handle. Anyone can smoke a safe family man driving an XT.

Focus and enjoy your rides...discuss on the merits and try to resolve the niggles...

Troll will run along with his e scooter...

Edited by Johnny86

New Astra the door felt light. If I am not wrong compare against old Astra at least 200-300kg shedded off. My ex Astra the door is solid like tank and in 2014 I had a front collision the car in front cui. Mine was only scratch and some broken grille but everything in position.....

Maybe the new astra is using the more expensive and lighter aluminium. Modern cars have to shed weight whenever possible to get better power to weight ration and score better in emission test.

Relax y'all... the troll hugging his escooter must be laughing behind keyboard while everyone else royal rumble here.

Hoot Liao Mai compare...materialism and consumerism can be quite draining..

Anything below 1.6T under the bonnet can only classify the Astra as a warm hatch with good technology and safety.

Any car goes as fast as your right foot and your heart can handle. Anyone can smoke a safe family man driving an XT.

Focus and enjoy your rides...discuss on the merits and try to resolve the niggles...

Troll will run along with his e scooter...

totally agree! [thumbsup]

A car is as fast as the driver dares.  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

OK I volunteer to test the 0-100km speed. I have never bothered abt it, but since it has become a topic, mayb we can just try it out, but is just for confirmation purpose.

Next MU, I will get someone to time it, mayb have a few different guys time it a few rounds and take an avg reading. No need to argue.

Personally I don't think it will go very fast from 0-100km, (I think this area is not the the strength of this tiny engine) however, on sg roads I have surprised many other cars on the highway. So far only one ROC make me smell smoke and one M3 I willingly let it cut and go. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

wah bff, u say until like that

next time i meet any astra on the road, must siam far far away

later sia suay man...

No Nismo here, we have TianMo Turbo!  [drivingcar]

I agree, a light pressure turbo is the way to go in start stop traffic.

Fast to wind up, and works well for the low speed crawl type of traffic that we see locally.

Hold onto that 1st gear til the redline, drop in 2nd gear, and pull ahead for the first 20 yards.. 

Edited by therock

wah bff, u say until like that

next time i meet any astra on the road, must siam far far away

later sia suay man...ð

Siam only the red ones.

White one can give hi five

No Nismo here, we have TianMo Turbo!  [drivingcar]

I agree, a light pressure turbo is the way to go in start stop traffic.

Fast to wind up, and works well for the low speed crawl type of traffic that we see locally.

Hold onto that 1st gear til the redline, drop in 2nd gear, and pull ahead for the first 20 yards.. 

Halo halo, YDCB hor!!!  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Yes sir

Unless you have a determined soul in a GTR or something, even an Attrage can break away for the first 20m or so.

Now most people are almost fanatical in their desire to get a low FC, so they feather the throttle, or have some ECO button switched on that emasculates their engine..

So a light pressure turbo can edge in front of a FXT... before the FXT hauls it in... all under 8s...

Opel should have done better in Singapore. It looks great, well build and relatively cheap to run. It is all down to pricing it right against the competitor or improve on the aftersales  service.