Studied too much, stuck in an unstable dead-end job...how?

Zyklon

oh...you want a serious relationship.  You like sultry kind of looks huh....... [bounce1]

On 5/23/2016 at 3:53 AM, Staff69 said:

no. that gold diggers

On 5/23/2016 at 3:49 AM, Eviilusion said:

towkay like you no need worry lar.....they will swarm around you like bees to honey!

he more popular, i use

sperms to egg......hor @staff69.  You da man.... :grin:

only 1 out of billion he will choose

On 5/23/2016 at 4:05 AM, Eviilusion said:

oh...you want a serious relationship. You like sultry kind of looks huh....... [bounce1]

post-131345-0-12732000-1463976669.jpg

wah...1 in a billion [smash] .....how to find?

On 5/23/2016 at 4:07 AM, RadX said:

he more popular, i use

sperms to egg......hor @staff69.  You da man.... :grin:

only 1 out of billion he will choose

On 5/23/2016 at 4:11 AM, Eviilusion said:

wah...1 in a billion [smash] .....how to find?

china have lo :XD:  :XD:

Need to go China or India to find meh? Pew pew ~25 times can hit 1 billion liao.... [:p]

* just pew pew more often if one is low sperm count.....

WHO2010ReferenceValues-1024x426.jpg

On 5/23/2016 at 4:15 AM, Eviilusion said:

india also got 1 billion..... [lipsrsealed]

pew pew 1 billion times but if cannot swim also no point......hahaha! Nowadays I heard their topo skills also no good...... [laugh]

On 5/23/2016 at 4:21 AM, Vratenza said:

Need to go China or India to find meh? Pew pew ~25 times can hit 1 billion liao.... [:p]

* just pew pew more often if one is low sperm count.....

WHO2010ReferenceValues-1024x426.jpg

  On 5/23/2016 at 3:12 AM, Vid said:

Everybody just keyboard warriors. Lagi useless :secret-laugh:

@kurty best. Come in straightaway offer new job :D

Don't tease me lah.

I know and had my share of such difficult time hence if can help, I be glad to do so.

On 5/23/2016 at 4:35 AM, Kurty said:

Don't tease me lah.

I know and had my share of such difficult time hence if can help, I be glad to do so.

if I may say bro.  You seem as a genuine and down to earth fellow and your previous predicament was circumstantial.

However with ts, ish not so simpur. If you look at the predisposing language and the manner in which the argument is presented, one really cannot feel too much sympathy...really

Kudos to you nonetheless for coming forth.  Totally unbiased and rendering assistance regardless.  Good on you

  On 5/23/2016 at 4:35 AM, Kurty said:

Don't tease me lah.

Good for you bro. [thumbsup]

At the end of the day, TS still need to address his own problems first. If not, go anywhere also no use.

On 5/23/2016 at 4:39 AM, Vid said:

Good for you bro. [thumbsup]

At the end of the day, TS still need to address his own problems first. If not, go anywhere also no use.

all of us here hv brought ts to the water these few pages

e07d5a43299835291e04931349a8f42e.jpg

You guys flatter me, thank you for the kind words.

Maybe I didn't took the time to read what ts actually wrote.

I just saw the topic header seeking for advise/help.

Everyone deserve a second chance. :)

On 5/21/2016 at 6:02 AM, Zyklon said:

Understand there are quite a few old birds in MCF, will be grateful if anyone can shed some light on this situation. Facing some employment crisis...

A bit of my background, I graduated from a local university with an engineering degree a few years back. My GPA wasn't the best, but it was good enough for a first class honors and was in top 10% of the cohort. 

From there, I went on to work at a SME providing engineering services (basically, big companies outsource their engineering design needs to us), while doing a part time PhD at the same local university. Within 3.5 years, I ticked all the KPIs required for graduation and submitted my thesis. Reviews for my thesis were extremely positive and I was then able to graduate. This was by no means an easy feat because most full time students struggle to even produce a proper thesis in 4 years. I reckon that credit should also be given to the massive support I got from my professors at school and my ex-bosses at work.

Upon graduation, I moved on to another company. Salary isn't high, but I really wasn't expecting too much considering that I was "new" in their domain- Same type of work, but in a different domain. In layman terms, it will be equal to domestic helper cleaning home vs. hotel chambermaid cleaning hotel rooms. Things were fine in the beginning, mostly because I lacked the knowledge in the new industry and also their business processes. Aong the way, I learned and learned, and eventually got the hang of things after a few months.

Herein, the problem set in. Being a new guy, I was always assigned to some "senior" staffs under a couple of new area projects, playing the role of "assistant", which I am perfectly fine with. I do not mind being a follower, if the project leader is capable of teaching me something. However, in this cases, the project leaders knew nothing about the domain, nor the process. It was actually their first time running such projects too. What this effectively meant was that I was doing all the leg work, mind work and practically everything, while not a single credit was given. When things were not perfect, I had to take the blame because it was my work. When things were great, suddenly I was forgotten. At the same time, my company started looking at restructuring and I couldn't be sure when it will be my turn. Dejected, I started looking for opportunities outside.

Despite numerous attempts at dropping resume and cover letters, I just couldn't find another job. After 5 months of job seeking, I got interviews with three companies. Weirdly, all gave the same conclusion, " We like you a lot, but your area of expertise...". This is despite my attempts at making clear that I was willing to learn and am a quick learner.

I am wondering what exactly is my problem in preventing me from moving on or getting a chance for an interview. Is it the advance engineering degree? Or my current over-inflated job title? Or do I give off the vibe that I am expensive to hire?

What will you do if you were in my shoe?

*Disclaimer, I am really cheap to hire. My peers, who started PhD together with me and graduated 1 year later (Remember...I took 3.5 years...most full time were taking 4.5 to 5 years), are easily drawing 10-30% more than me even without work experience.

Think you might want t0 share more such as which industry you are in, how much you are drawing before MCFers could give you some advise.

  On 5/23/2016 at 4:24 AM, Eviilusion said:

pew pew 1 billion times but if cannot swim also no point......hahaha! Nowadays I heard their topo skills also no good...... [laugh]

Depending on which point of entry .... :yuush:

Some called it "Drop-off" point ... :ignoring:

Edited by Picnic06-Biante15

On 5/23/2016 at 5:29 AM, Tigershark1976 said:

Think you might want t0 share more such as which industry you are in, how much you are drawing before MCFers could give you some advise.

invite more shooting if he say currently drawing $30k a month [sweatdrop]

[laugh] [laugh]

hahaha....that 1 is drop-out point....eeewww......and his navigational skills must be so screwed up....kekeke!

On 5/23/2016 at 5:33 AM, Picnic06-Biante15 said:

Depending on which point of entry .... :yuush:

Some called it "Drop-off" point ... :ignoring: