Kangadrool Supersonic May 23, 2016 Share May 23, 2016 just make sure that you don't check off the bachelor/master degree as the highest qualification. On 5/22/2016 at 2:26 PM, Little_prince said: Can under declare but cannot over declare. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic May 23, 2016 Share May 23, 2016 As someone here has already mentioned, your first grave mistake was joining the SME. Find a job in MNC and you should be better off. The government can promote SME that much, but at the end of the day, SME is SME hor. On 5/22/2016 at 2:32 PM, Zyklon said: And just to further clarify, before I become target board again. My take is that when I work for somebody, that somebody must be able to at least check on me and let me know when he feels I am going down a wrong track, before my mistake turns into a major problem. Sometimes, I just don't feel this happening and it makes me worried. On the best case, it means I didn't learn anything new. On the worst case, it means I am going down the wrong path, not knowing it, and still happily believe I am doing the right thing, repeating the mistake again and again. I seriously do not think that getting scolded by your boss for making a mistake is a bad thing. Because from experience, if it is a real mistake, your boss's boss will definitely catch it, if your boss doesn't. In army sense, it will be that it is better to be caught by your PS and kanna left right up down, than to be caught by RSM and kanna 7 extra. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged May 23, 2016 Share May 23, 2016 On 5/21/2016 at 6:09 PM, Watwheels said: What my wife say about the first ever job that you have after graduating is most important. What you do and how long you have been on the job will more or less let the interviewer know what you are made of. She works in the fiance sector not engineering but what she said is relevant. So since your first job allows you to have time to study part time for your PhD means that job is not that demanding and you don't really work overtime a lot. I mean it's not wrong to pursue your PhD but that's not what your employer is looking for. Many employers will look at what company you worked in and what you do in the first 5 years after you graduate. If your position is those relac and not paying well or you job hop a lot these ppl will be striked out immediately. You know not the kinda worker anyone will want. When interviewers tell you that the relevant experience is lacking what they meant is quite straight forward. This is what I ALWAYS tell the engineering fresh grads whom I interview. The first job is SOOO important, not for the money at all, but for what you can put in your resume. Its the company you work for but also the JOB you do. If you can work on CUTTING edge stuff for whatever field you are in, it will help you switch cuz the other companies who are not on the cutting edge will WANT you because of your years of experience in those stuff once the "cutting edge" becomes mainstream. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 23, 2016 Share May 23, 2016 On 5/22/2016 at 1:52 PM, Pinobii said: There's really no need to omit this from your resume, some employers are not going to give you a higher salary just because you have a Ph.D., especially so if the job u r applying for does not requires it To be successful in interview, first thing is to be confident of yourself and your ability It takes more than education to have a successful careers (outside of academic, research based type of career, govt related), beyond a certain level, this isn't even a consideration anymore It takes a combi of capability and luck to secure a good job Be patient and jump ship when there's a good opportunity All the best HR expert gives her golden points! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear May 23, 2016 Share May 23, 2016 TS, you said you are not living on your salary. That means there is no hurry to look somewhere even if the current company is unstable. Just take ur time, with your qualification, sure no prob lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 23, 2016 Share May 23, 2016 On 5/22/2016 at 1:01 PM, Little_prince said: PhD = Permenent Head Damage Maybe the Everitt Road (school teacher with PhD) cases have made bosses think twice of employing a PhD ... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic May 23, 2016 Share May 23, 2016 Analogy time: Graduate degree/diploma is akin to a factory stock car... can be a Chery all the way to a Bentley. So long as they are properly maintained, they can get you from point A to B, in style/fun or not is another matter. Post graduate/diploma qualifications is akin to modifications to the stock car...can be visual mods to performance mods. These are good to have. For most intents and purposes for daily road use, they adds nothing to your daily commute except for that tinge of extra pride and joy from driving a "personalised" ride . But for the rare few who race professionally or regular trackies, these modifications do value add to their unique requirements. Now comes the bummer, Just because you spent tons of cash and time modifying your ride do not mean that you can drive like an idiot or you are entitled to more road space, speed or leeway from traffic rules. If you want to speed and test the limits of your modified car, please find a suitable tracking facility (employer) to do that. Otherwise don't complain that the rest of the stock cars on our roads are cramping your style. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic May 23, 2016 Share May 23, 2016 On 5/22/2016 at 10:56 PM, RadX said: I ever had one that said EXACTLY tht! 'Why should I as a dr do such things?' (in reference to ushering VIPs to a function) Ignored the being and funnily, within 6 months, the being resigned...hahah I suspect that said being has left for politic so that he could be ushered in at parliament and NDP parade. Not sure he'd don in white or blue though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic May 23, 2016 Share May 23, 2016 On 5/22/2016 at 11:50 PM, RadX said: hahaha...knn....$700k elite damn funny nia...no wonder @porker lub you wah....u seriously meant porker lubed him......past tense bro....past tense! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic May 23, 2016 Share May 23, 2016 On 5/23/2016 at 1:44 AM, Eviilusion said: wah....u seriously meant porker lubed him......past tense bro....past tense! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic May 23, 2016 Share May 23, 2016 On 5/23/2016 at 1:55 AM, mersaylee said: Has the said bugger lost his/hers calculator and/or abacus?not sure...but i go look for it then i come back and tell you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged May 23, 2016 Share May 23, 2016 TS you got 4 pages of more than 30 posts of advices. I am sure you would be able to filter and benefit from some of them. After reading 2 pages, I can relate some great points. Coming from a different era, I am also trying to see thing from your perspectives. Beside a good academic qualification, which have. People relationship is very important and this usually takes time and experiences. Some will acquire them faster while others maybe never in the life time. Unless you are in a research while you work alone, it is all about human interactions and personality. I shall not dwell into what others have shared. I would like to to consider and think over again. What exactly are you still not satisfied with? You may not achieved the best, would you ever? You have attained achievements and it is timely to appreciate and celebrate them. Don't stress yourself too much and learn to appreciate life. So what if you have climbed that coporate ladder and still unhappy? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 23, 2016 Share May 23, 2016 some time i felt that it takes a PhD to appreciate a PhD. To most SME bosses with lower education, they just like to brag about hiring educated people like 'see i have a dozen of PhD working for me although i never had formal education' 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic May 23, 2016 Share May 23, 2016 On 5/23/2016 at 2:16 AM, Victor68 said: TS you got 4 pages of more than 30 posts of advices. I am sure you would be able to filter and benefit from some of them. After reading 2 pages, I can relate some great points. Coming from a different era, I am also trying to see thing from your perspectives. Beside a good academic qualification, which have. People relationship is very important and this usually takes time and experiences. Some will acquire them faster while others maybe never in the life time. Unless you are in a research while you work alone, it is all about human interactions and personality. I shall not dwell into what others have shared. I would like to to consider and think over again. What exactly are you still not satisfied with? You may not achieved the best, would you ever? You have attained achievements and it is timely to appreciate and celebrate them. Don't stress yourself too much and learn to appreciate life. So what if you have climbed that coporate ladder and still unhappy? If all else fail, there's always the sinful aka 性福 thread here for momentary happiness. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged May 23, 2016 Share May 23, 2016 Don't even think about this in the real world. Chances of getting a mentor like this is extremely rare unless he is comfortable with you and doesn't feel that you are a threat. Given your intelligence and qualifications, you should be able to brainstorm the situation and come up with possible solutions and not wait for people to feed you. On 5/22/2016 at 2:32 PM, Zyklon said: And just to further clarify, before I become target board again. My take is that when I work for somebody, that somebody must be able to at least check on me and let me know when he feels I am going down a wrong track, before my mistake turns into a major problem. Sometimes, I just don't feel this happening and it makes me worried. On the best case, it means I didn't learn anything new. On the worst case, it means I am going down the wrong path, not knowing it, and still happily believe I am doing the right thing, repeating the mistake again and again. I seriously do not think that getting scolded by your boss for making a mistake is a bad thing. Because from experience, if it is a real mistake, your boss's boss will definitely catch it, if your boss doesn't. In army sense, it will be that it is better to be caught by your PS and kanna left right up down, than to be caught by RSM and kanna 7 extra. Got Dr big fark? The only doctor I will address as Dr is the one I see for medical problems. lol On 5/22/2016 at 10:56 PM, RadX said: I ever had one that said EXACTLY tht! 'Why should I as a dr do such things?' (in reference to ushering VIPs to a function) Ignored the being and funnily, within 6 months, the being resigned...hahah 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 23, 2016 Share May 23, 2016 On 5/23/2016 at 2:16 AM, Victor68 said: I shall not dwell into what others have shared. I would like to to consider and think over again. What exactly are you still not satisfied with? You may not achieved the best, would you ever? You have attained achievements and it is timely to appreciate and celebrate them. Don't stress yourself too much and learn to appreciate life. So what if you have climbed that coporate ladder and still unhappy? Actually this point is very true. Some people find their jobs fulfilling, some do it for tan jiak. As long as u have something in your life that u prioritise and find it fulfilling, job satisfaction isn't really that important (BUT please don't be stuck in a job you hate of course) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged May 23, 2016 Share May 23, 2016 Ts, you still looking for a job? Pm me if you are 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic May 23, 2016 Share May 23, 2016 On 5/23/2016 at 3:05 AM, Kurty said: Ts, you still looking for a job? Pm me if you are This one most practical. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...