Studied too much, stuck in an unstable dead-end job...how?

Zyklon

I had a lot of complaints from bros and sis here

Criticising me for spending too much time at work

And not coming here to post more.

Now that the appraisals are over

I can stop pretending to work hard now

And can devote more time to making

People laugh which people keep reminding

Me is my real job and quite right they are too.

:)

And if people LOL at work and others think they

Are a siao lang, please don't blame me, you ask

for it.

On 5/22/2016 at 12:25 AM, Karoon said:

sorry TS but I have to agree @Jamesc . If others are doing better and you're not maybe its you. Your attitude does not show you to be someone who gets along well with others especially those who appraise you. Don't be pissed, we're pointing the fairly obvious based on your limited inputs, to help you.

Also, you can stalk your peers on social media and see what they're doing different to you.

also your bosses are doing things right according to accepted management practice:

ie hire someone smarter than them to make their job easier.

only that someone seems not willing to play ball.

this is the reason why till date i dont have a facebook account. pee in my pants just to know that anyone of my current and ex ......erŕ...females friends know whom i am going out with and my piak piak circle of friends.

but i do have 1 face book account call i want piak you deep deep....to share photos with my tiko buddies

On 5/21/2016 at 6:02 AM, Zyklon said:

Understand there are quite a few old birds in MCF, will be grateful if anyone can shed some light on this situation. Facing some employment crisis...

A bit of my background, I graduated from a local university with an engineering degree a few years back. My GPA wasn't the best, but it was good enough for a first class honors and was in top 10% of the cohort. 

From there, I went on to work at a SME providing engineering services (basically, big companies outsource their engineering design needs to us), while doing a part time PhD at the same local university. Within 3.5 years, I ticked all the KPIs required for graduation and submitted my thesis. Reviews for my thesis were extremely positive and I was then able to graduate. This was by no means an easy feat because most full time students struggle to even produce a proper thesis in 4 years. I reckon that credit should also be given to the massive support I got from my professors at school and my ex-bosses at work.

Upon graduation, I moved on to another company. Salary isn't high, but I really wasn't expecting too much considering that I was "new" in their domain- Same type of work, but in a different domain. In layman terms, it will be equal to domestic helper cleaning home vs. hotel chambermaid cleaning hotel rooms. Things were fine in the beginning, mostly because I lacked the knowledge in the new industry and also their business processes. Aong the way, I learned and learned, and eventually got the hang of things after a few months.

Herein, the problem set in. Being a new guy, I was always assigned to some "senior" staffs under a couple of new area projects, playing the role of "assistant", which I am perfectly fine with. I do not mind being a follower, if the project leader is capable of teaching me something. However, in this cases, the project leaders knew nothing about the domain, nor the process. It was actually their first time running such projects too. What this effectively meant was that I was doing all the leg work, mind work and practically everything, while not a single credit was given. When things were not perfect, I had to take the blame because it was my work. When things were great, suddenly I was forgotten. At the same time, my company started looking at restructuring and I couldn't be sure when it will be my turn. Dejected, I started looking for opportunities outside.

Despite numerous attempts at dropping resume and cover letters, I just couldn't find another job. After 5 months of job seeking, I got interviews with three companies. Weirdly, all gave the same conclusion, " We like you a lot, but your area of expertise...". This is despite my attempts at making clear that I was willing to learn and am a quick learner.

I am wondering what exactly is my problem in preventing me from moving on or getting a chance for an interview. Is it the advance engineering degree? Or my current over-inflated job title? Or do I give off the vibe that I am expensive to hire?

What will you do if you were in my shoe?

*Disclaimer, I am really cheap to hire. My peers, who started PhD together with me and graduated 1 year later (Remember...I took 3.5 years...most full time were taking 4.5 to 5 years), are easily drawing 10-30% more than me even without work experience.

you're cheap? how cheap?

can drive a BMW and spend 2-4k on credit card every month. how cheap can you be?

On 4/5/2016 at 12:15 AM, Zyklon said:

Check with you all...how much you all spend a month to get the UOB caltex voucher har?

I every month also at least 1.5k on the UOB one card...mostly 2-4k...also never receive leh.

On 5/5/2016 at 11:47 PM, Zyklon said:

My PML car claimed warranty at MA in 3rd year. Even had to next-day a part in from malaysia. $0 paid.

Not sure what is the official rule or what, but I did it. Not sure why. Really, I am not sure, so I better keep my mouth shut.

On 5/5/2016 at 11:47 PM, Zyklon said:

My PML car claimed warranty at MA in 3rd year. Even had to next-day a part in from malaysia. $0 paid.

Not sure what is the official rule or what, but I did it. Not sure why. Really, I am not sure, so I better keep my mouth shut.

  On 5/21/2016 at 5:28 PM, Little_prince said:

Nope.

Local Uni almost never take back their own PhD. Academic in breeding.

Yes, yes, my former supervisor told me it's along the lines of one kung fu school cannot have two masters! Especially if both have the same kung fu style [laugh]

You either have to go off and spread the art elsewhere with your own school, or you have to defeat the old master and take over his school!

I find that in this world, things advances too fast pace....

Back in the 50's a Sec school cert already can get a good job with decent pay. GCE 'O' peoples look up to him. 'A' level lagi best, mostly work in Ang Mo firm or in Civil Service.

In the 60's ~70's a GCE 'O' level cert is one off better then School cert. Those with 'A' level can command a Manager post. Degree cert is very rare and if you have a degree, political parties will come for your. NTC & Diploma begins its journey when SG industrialised. PHD very very rare and only few heard of it. Mostly as Dean or lecturer in Universities. ....

In the 80's ~90's GCE 'O' level become too common plus Gov introduce the 'N' level. GCE 'O' level can't get a decent pay job. Have to start from the lower ranks in the cooperate world. More diploma & degree students coming into the workforce. PHD getting more in the job market but employment become scares cos too high the salaries. Companies might as well employ FT as CEO.

In the 90's ~20's  GCE 'O' & 'N' level tan boh jiak leow, either 'A' or diploma cert. More degree cert in the workforce. Job competition among the top level entries becomes scares. So much so that everywhere, there are more degree cert holders competing for jobs. What  more if you only a GCE 'O' level. Can work as drivers, fast food chains supervisors, sales & some gone into taxi drivers ...

With PHD cert without experience, companies would employ FT with only a degree & experience and command a lower pay then a PHD.

So TS should seek employment with his degree first, gain the experience and when time is right, submit his resume with the PHD cert.      

My 'O' level 2 cent worth of commence.....

in corp world. anything more than a  masters is overkill.

don't need a phd for 99% of all jobs.

On 5/22/2016 at 7:07 AM, Picnic06-Biante15 said:

I find that in this world, things advances too fast pace....

Back in the 50's a Sec school cert already can get a good job with decent pay. GCE 'O' peoples look up to him. 'A' level lagi best, mostly work in Ang Mo firm or in Civil Service.

In the 60's ~70's a GCE 'O' level cert is one off better then School cert. Those with 'A' level can command a Manager post. Degree cert is very rare and if you have a degree, political parties will come for your. NTC & Diploma begins its journey when SG industrialised. PHD very very rare and only few heard of it. Mostly as Dean or lecturer in Universities. ....

In the 80's ~90's GCE 'O' level become too common plus Gov introduce the 'N' level. GCE 'O' level can't get a decent pay job. Have to start from the lower ranks in the cooperate world. More diploma & degree students coming into the workforce. PHD getting more in the job market but employment become scares cos too high the salaries. Companies might as well employ FT as CEO.

In the 90's ~20's  GCE 'O' & 'N' level tan boh jiak leow, either 'A' or diploma cert. More degree cert in the workforce. Job competition among the top level entries becomes scares. So much so that everywhere, there are more degree cert holders competing for jobs. What  more if you only a GCE 'O' level. Can work as drivers, fast food chains supervisors, sales & some gone into taxi drivers ...

With PHD cert without experience, companies would employ FT with only a degree & experience and command a lower pay then a PHD.

So TS should seek employment with his degree first, gain the experience and when time is right, submit his resume with the PHD cert.      

My 'O' level 2 cent worth of commence.....

It's very risky to write about your career situation online.

Can you imagine how your colleagues will feel to read this online?

How many PhDs do you know completed their part time Engineering degree in 3.5 years?

There is much more to life than a PhD. Admirable, but just one component.

Since TS got engineering degree, why don't go into the ang mo companies like those companies inside Seletar Aerospace Hub. Boeing, Rolls Royce and many others are there. 

  On 1/28/2016 at 11:25 PM, Zyklon said:

Dear MP,

I am a human. I like cars and have 2-3 cars at most point of time.

I also only have a pair of eyes, a pair of hands and a pair of legs.

Because of these reasons, I can only drive one car at a time.

It also means I can only take up a "car space" on the road at any point of time.

Why penalise me when I already paid COE and 180% arf for my other cars that are seldom on the road? You should be penalising those who are causing the congestion.

On 4/5/2016 at 12:15 AM, Zyklon said:

Check with you all...how much you all spend a month to get the UOB caltex voucher har?

I every month also at least 1.5k on the UOB one card...mostly 2-4k...also never receive leh.

Thread Starter has 2-3 cars, one of them is a BMW.  Been able to spend $2K to $4K.  High spender.   Seems rich.  Perhaps he can retire already, and teach in the university part-time to pass time, and take up a hobby or do volunteer work. 

Why bother with a dead-end job?

I have come across many Taiwanese FT with degrees and mostly PHDs coming here to do diploma level kind of work. They take home the same pay as our local diploma holders. I do not see any value add from their degrees/Phd work or performance wise.

I have seen many more Filipino FT with degrees, certificates and accolades on resume running into pages applying for diploma level kind of work here. Their resume looks more impressive than their potential bosses. Actual work capabilities? Worse than our local workers with ITE/Diplomas.

Just because you have some degree or Phd do not mean anything when you are worthless to the company that pays your salary.

The employers do not owe a PHD holder a living.

Might be a different type of engineering.

Quite a few types.

On 5/22/2016 at 7:20 AM, Picnic06-Biante15 said:

Since TS got engineering degree, why don't go into the ang mo companies like those companies inside Seletar Aerospace Hub. Boeing, Rolls Royce and many others are there.

To relate to ts - I've previously oso somewhat a victim of my own self entitlement / righteus attitude. So my advise would b to approach w some humility, nvm ur seniors cmi in ur view. Taking blame for screwup n other taking credit for ur effort is norm. If u r a believer of God, then just trust in him to provide or open a path for u. That my approach now, though it's quite a challenge.

Just know everyone only putting bread on the table then perhaps u might feel less shortchanged.

ts maybe you should pick and choose the tasks if you can.

work for those that contribute to the company's bottom line directly. that will guarantee visibility to the highest level. once u get that gig, just deliver.

For Phd, the job market is very small. Not many companies want to hire phd, unless they are in RnD.

On 5/22/2016 at 10:04 AM, Ender said:

For Phd, the job market is very small. Not many companies want to hire phd, unless they are in RnD.

is it possible to invalid own phd? 

  On 5/22/2016 at 10:07 AM, Gitanic said:

is it possible to invalid own phd?

Just don't put in resume and dont declare lor. How would the employer know whether got PhD not if never declare and never put in resume.

I have never heard of people with PhD declare don't have. Even taxi driver with PhD still put leh.