Simi si "Chinese Helicopter"? Dialect lingua

Darthrevan

This is nothing new but the inclusion of singlish into the Oxford dictionary? No wonder we are moving away from the British education model to the AmericAnA...see the 3 As vs 1 B?

Chinese 'helicopter' was used to mock the Chinese educated in the early days even before our independence. There's a gulf between the 2 camps then...

Many Chinese then could speak Chinese and Melayu. Ali and kita were one of the most commonly used noun and word in those days. You'd see Ali or Ahmad in almost every other passage in the books.

The Chinese couldn't pronounce helicopter but they could with 'Ali-kita' very well. That's how it became an useful term as a mockery..

Not really. Mata cheng teng kor liao.

Oh paiseh.... That time me still in production line, not manufactured yet ...hee hee

This is nothing new but the inclusion of singlish into the Oxford dictionary? No wonder we are moving away from the British education model to the AmericAnA...see the 3 As vs 1 B?

Chinese 'helicopter' was used to mock the Chinese educated in the early days even before our independence. There's a gulf between the 2 camps then...

Many Chinese then could speak Chinese and Melayu. Ali and kita were one of the most commonly used noun and word in those days. You'd see Ali or Ahmad in almost every other passage in the books.

The Chinese couldn't pronounce helicopter but they could with 'Ali-kita' very well. That's how it became an useful term as a mockery..

We know there are 2 camps - the england-educated and Chinese speaking ones.

Since "Chinese 'helicopter" was invented by the former during an era long before Singlish become main stream, why then Oxford dick wanna include it as part of the Singlish slang then ?

Might a well also introduce the Hokkien-derived terms like "geh angmoh" (假红毛) or "ang-jio lang" (香蕉人) ?

It's funny what the humsap version of "helicopter" is.

Anyway this description comes from Cosmopolitan.

..its TIKO...i think...LOL

We know there are 2 camps - the england-educated and Chinese speaking ones.

Since "Chinese 'helicopter" was invented by the former during an era long before Singlish become main stream, why then Oxford dick wanna include it as part of the Singlish slang then ?

Might a well also introduce the Hokkien-derived terms like "geh angmoh" (假红毛) or "ang-jio lang" (香蕉人) ?

Honesty, I can't comprehend the motivation behind it all. To put singlish on a world stage? I'll prefer lah lor hor huh ah-pu-then? Something all races here use extensively on daily basis.

No lah. It is used by English educated to sheer at the broken English spoken by the Chinese educated .. Broken English like helicopter broken sound

this is what I was told 20 years ago

Honesty, I can't comprehend the motivation behind it all. To put singlish on a world stage? I'll prefer lah lor hor huh ah-pu-then? Something all races here use extensively on daily basis.

Because singlish is beautiful

Almost everyone is asking how and why "Chinese helicopter" suddenly appear out of no where in this English dict... Even this Singaporean reporter for the BBC reported being "baffled" by this inclusion.

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-36283670

My conspiratorial side tells me someone (angmoh?) wanna get-even for  after having include "angmoh" in the list.

What "Chinese helicopter" ?  [:|]

_89680514_hi032838357.jpg

Chinese Helicopter Pilot:

To be at the critical point in masturbation, whereby your facial contortions and arm movements cause you to mimic the appearance of a chopper pilot from the Orient.

bro, that is one of the most un-Singlish comment I have ever read.

Who's creation was it ?  [:p]

Way lau eh....make me feel a bit old here leh....:p. my time still have Chinese stream n the originary Nayang university.:secret-laugh:

Another way of saying Chinese Helicopter is...........see who can remember.?[:p]

Blue Thunder

How many here remember blue thunder?

Edited by GoodCar

And would that be the moment that one is looking at its best, coupled with a happy landing [bounce2]