Scion Turbocharged May 15, 2016 Share May 15, 2016 (edited) [laugh] really funny https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hRg-AqermJw and a dialect spoof by mediacorp https://www.facebook.com/MediaCorpCh8/videos/10153760249630345/ Edited May 15, 2016 by Scion ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic May 15, 2016 Share May 15, 2016 O-Pa-BEH...赞!赞!赞! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic May 15, 2016 Share May 15, 2016 [laugh] really funny https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hRg-AqermJw and a dialect spoof by mediacorp https://www.facebook.com/MediaCorpCh8/videos/10153760249630345/ I went to watch the MediaCorp dialect ... quite funny .. and suddenly felt much closer :)) Dialect, somehow is able to bring us closer to our roots ... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic May 15, 2016 Share May 15, 2016 It is good to know at least 1 dialect, be it hokkien, teochew or cantonese. Even hakka also good. If all dunno, then at the very least must know the 3-word-scriptures like knn, ccb, etc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic May 15, 2016 Share May 15, 2016 (edited) Being able to speak standard business Mandarin is very important in today's job market. Been through few interviews recently and they insisted to have one round of interview in Mandarin even for angmoh kongsi with dealings with PRC. Mixing your conversation with English for technical/trade terms also doesn't cut with some of these PRC interviewers. If you think you can speak standard Mandarin, think again. Be humble. Although I was CL1 educated, I was embarrassed with myself with my level of spoken Mandarin during the interviews. It was a humbling learning experience. Edited May 15, 2016 by Kangadrool 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic May 15, 2016 Share May 15, 2016 That's so true...The Chinese from the central plain are fast catching up to be bilingual if not multi lingual...the newer ones in my office are able to speak 3 or more languages. Our competitive edge with English proficiency may lose out soon as lots of non Chinese executives in foreign MNCs in China are able to converse well in 'pu tong hua'. Luckily, China economy expanded too fast to have enough bilingual homegrown executives to fill up the much needed positions. That'd change when their economy slows down coupled with a growing experienced pool of domestic talents, our very precious HR export may face a headwind 10 years later. My 2 cents... I was humbled when I tried OA CL2 during my 3 months Pre-U...couldn't imagine A level standard. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged May 15, 2016 Share May 15, 2016 Being able to speak standard business Mandarin is very important in today's job market. Been through few interviews recently and they insisted to have one round of interview in Mandarin even for angmoh kongsi with dealings with PRC. Mixing your conversation with English for technical/trade terms also doesn't cut with some of these PRC interviewers. If you think you can speak standard Mandarin, think again. Be humble. Although I was CL1 educated, I was embarrassed with myself with my level of spoken Mandarin during the interviews. It was a humbling learning experience. No worries. Get ATB girlfren or wife... sure standard of mandarin will be tops! Just maybe different vocab... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic May 15, 2016 Share May 15, 2016 Our young can never achieve the same level of hokkien like them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged May 15, 2016 Share May 15, 2016 Our young can never achieve the same level of hokkien like them. cannot compare... our local hokkien dialect is "not pure" anymore localised already and mixed with Malay and English phrases like pasar, loti, mata, buay tahan, suka suka, pang chan, gostun, agar agar, longkang, etc etc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldbug 6th Gear May 15, 2016 Share May 15, 2016 nantah alumni Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear May 15, 2016 Share May 15, 2016 Way lau eh....make me feel a bit old here leh....:p. my time still have Chinese stream n the originary Nayang university. Another way of saying Chinese Helicopter is...........see who can remember.? I am not from that era. But what I am aware there was a deep divide between the English and Chinese educated when Singapore was fighting for independence from the Brit. That was in the 1950s when the Brit continued practicing prejudice and refer either hiring their own kind or only those English-educated Chinese...for obvious reason. Chinese community, being largely self-sufficient and dialect speaking didn't need much help from the English. But things changed since the WW2 when more Chinese-educated didn't had the chance to enter higher learning institutions like the universities...simply because they weren't English-educated. Thus Nantah was born, not sponsored by the British nor the English-educated elites, but by commoners from rickshaw riders to hostesses and even uneducated street hawkers...because these people wanted their next gen to have the opportunities which were denied to them. So when I see Oxford, for some unexplained reason, introduce "Chinese Helicopter" as a Singlish term, I can't help recalling that particulate chapter of Singapore when our forefathers were deny access to University education simply because of language barrier. 1953 - Donation from Chinese riskshaw riders for NanYang University 1954 - Almost completed Nantah admin building. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datsun366 Turbocharged May 15, 2016 Share May 15, 2016 (edited) Mr Wishcumtrue is correct. No prizes though. 10 cent donation from old washerwoman in those days meant a lot. And I thought Chinese helicopter meant this.... From the 2.05 mark. The interesting aspect is that the Japanese has never really accepted the English language. Even though they developed/changed much earlier as a civilization. And that they can claim to be the model of Asian industry. AM not so dk, Daikon bigger des sho. The Chinese have the shameful shortcomings too, Mr Wishcumtrue. Edited May 15, 2016 by Datsun366 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic May 16, 2016 Share May 16, 2016 power of social engineering at work. Within one generation, Chinese Singaporeans have already forgotten our dialects and an era of community-funded Chinese schools. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 16, 2016 Share May 16, 2016 since all here tokking dialects, the other dialect thread shd be merged here Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic May 16, 2016 Share May 16, 2016 Chinese Helicopter produces following sounds: L as R R as L A as R B as D D as B Z as Sex O as All G as Z H as Hatch Complain as Compelleng Confirm as Conform Arrow as Allow Carburator as Carpital Eight as Egg Engine as Ingine Petrol as Patrol Hundred as Hunted Thousand as Thosai Million as Milan Finally, Rolex as Lolek. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 16, 2016 Share May 16, 2016 Life in the 50's & 60's were the best years where dialects was freely spoken until 'Speak Mandarin Campaign' kicks in ...... I remember during my young age, we always mumble : Bangali one "so-long" Japanese one "Sotong" Malay one "suda por-tong" Hockien "Mee" Teochew "Kuayteow" Hainan "Kuay png" Konghu (Cantonese) "wanton mee" Hockchew "hu yee" (fish-ball with meat) Harkah "kopi" Still many more but not wise to post ...... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 16, 2016 Share May 16, 2016 Chinese Helicopter produces following sounds: L as R R as L A as R B as D D as B Z as Sex O as All G as Z H as Hatch Complain as Compelleng Confirm as Conform Arrow as Allow Carburator as Carpital Eight as Egg Engine as Ingine Petrol as Patrol Hundred as Hunted Thousand as Thosai Million as Milan Finally, Rolex as Lolek. Why car front grill called as "Sar-long" ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 16, 2016 Share May 16, 2016 Bayee simi sek ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...