EricChan 5th Gear May 13, 2016 Share May 13, 2016 it is a derogatory label on Chinese educated ppl who spoke English haltingly and with a stutter like a helicopter ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Locknload 5th Gear May 13, 2016 Share May 13, 2016 it is a derogatory label on Chinese educated ppl who spoke English haltingly and with a stutter like a helicopter Can also mean "Heli-cockter" then? Another term to describe outlandish dressing aka "Obiang". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear May 13, 2016 Share May 13, 2016 I have never heard of this term .... anyone ? oxford invent new singlish slang for us ? http://news.asiaone.com/news/singapore/whats-chinese-helicopter-latest-singlish-entry-oxford-dictionary-has-us-scratching Helicopter that's Made in China Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged May 13, 2016 Share May 13, 2016 a Chinese-educated HighFlyer? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
EricChan 5th Gear May 13, 2016 Share May 13, 2016 a Chinese-educated HighFlyer?No lah. It is used by English educated to sheer at the broken English spoken by the Chinese educated .. Broken English like helicopter broken sound Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bezbee 5th Gear May 13, 2016 Share May 13, 2016 I saw the clip before jin satki mens! Seriously, achievable meh? You got try ...lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic May 13, 2016 Share May 13, 2016 I googled helicopter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic May 13, 2016 Share May 13, 2016 Seriously, achievable meh? You got try ...lolI so fatHow to? Can even see my small head :( 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged May 13, 2016 Share May 13, 2016 it is a derogatory label on Chinese educated ppl who spoke English haltingly and with a stutter like a helicopter Sounds more like it, I learnt it during my NSF days, that chinese educated NSF men who spoke english with halting or stammering broken english were given such derogatory name coz their english sounds like- "chop-chop chop chop" ( aka helicopter hovering above . . . hence translate to chinese helicopter. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic May 13, 2016 Share May 13, 2016 The dicktionary got it wrong... I think it is Chinese Hairycockster..... The meaning is quite obvious. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bezbee 5th Gear May 14, 2016 Share May 14, 2016 Follow up article on our singlish Seriously I've never heard of the term Chinese helicopter .... Wonder where Oxford gets its Intel from..... http://news.asiaone.com/news/singapore/some-find-new-singlish-terms-oxford-dictionary-ridiculous Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic May 14, 2016 Share May 14, 2016 It's actually "Chinese Educated". Last time education system can choose between Chinese or English. If Chinese every subject will be taught in Chinese. But the Hokkien Beng cannot pronounce "educated" so "helicopter" is used. Kapeesh? Learnt something new today ... Lol :)) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic May 14, 2016 Share May 14, 2016 Follow up article on our singlish Seriously I've never heard of the term Chinese helicopter .... Wonder where Oxford gets its Intel from..... http://news.asiaone.com/news/singapore/some-find-new-singlish-terms-oxford-dictionary-ridiculous How old are you? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bezbee 5th Gear May 14, 2016 Share May 14, 2016 I always try to stay young at heart... I'm feeling like a 20ish....lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 14, 2016 Share May 14, 2016 How old are you? never heard the term before. 35 yo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic May 14, 2016 Share May 14, 2016 never heard the term before. 35 yo. hahaha. i also never heard before. and i'm from a chinese school. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic May 14, 2016 Share May 14, 2016 hahaha. i also never heard before. and i'm from a chinese school. You speak good English, so no one will disturb you. As some bros mention, this was used to describe those Chinese educated that cannot pronounced English properly... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic May 14, 2016 Share May 14, 2016 You speak good English, so no one will disturb you. As some bros mention, this was used to describe those Chinese educated that cannot pronounced English properly... hahaha. not that no one use one me before. i want to use on other people also no chance. people our age probably won't know anybody who is chinese educated. hahaha ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...