Best value saloon car under $100K

Victor68

My personal view:

Honda City = from AD, has traction control, spacious, low fuel consumption, has GPS, bluetooth, 8-speakers system. You can also find spare part easily in Singapore or Malaysia. However, it only has 2 airbags, rear drum brake and the spec wise is not as good as Honda City in Malaysia or Thailand. Kay Motor has skimped some of the options, such as 6 airbags, rear air con and auto climate control. Still, it has sleek exterior which is suitable to youngsters or those type-r wannabe. So, I think City is a better choice than Vios (overpriced), Almera (dated look, no traction control,  handling not as good as City), Lancer (higher fuel consumption, 2007 design, going to be 10 year old design), Axio (from PI so has to be extra careful when choosing the trusted one, senior citizen car in Japan, slow pick-up) and Attrage (smaller cabin, weaker engine). But if you ask me if there's other choice than City, then I would suggest Axio (it comes with 6 airbags, traction control, Toyota safety sense!) or Attrage (the cheaper price of course!).

If you ask why there's no Korean brand in the list, I'm sorry as I have not driven any Korean car and I'm more inclined to Japanese car (as I've driven mostly Japanese cars [:p] ). But don't get me wrong. Based on the feedback that I heard, I think Korean car has improved a lot in terms of specs and reliability. It's a good choice since it's a lot cheaper than Japanese car with better specs/ accessories. However, I'm more particular when it comes to finding spare part and servicing as Japanese car wins hand down in this area, mainly due to abundance spare parts from Malaysia and Thailand and longer brand establishment compared to Korean car. But if you die die ask me to choose, then I would say it's either K3 (cheaper than Elantra but older design) or Elantra (new model, 6 airbags, traction control and many many more. Well done Hyundai!)  [laugh] . 

Models that shouldn't be in the list as the price is more than SGD100K, but may drop to to less than SGD100K when COE drops in the near future:

Toyota Altis = What can I say, it's a good and safe choice. It's spacious and has nice exterior. Spare part can be sourced easily. However, it comes with only 2 airbags, no traction control, no rear air con etc which is kinda disappointing.

Nissan Slyphy = No GPS, no bluetooth, no driver electric seat, spec is comparable with Altis, but it's the cheapest among 3. Good thing is there's rear aircon. 

Mazda 3 = has 4 airbags, traction control and slightly cheaper than Altis. Exterior looks sleek and stunning. However, the cabin and boot space feel smaller than Altis and Sylphy. Although it's a Japanese car, the spare part is more difficult to find and more expensive too.

Conclusion: If you're middle aged uncle and want a reliable and easy to maintain car, get Altis. If there's budget constraint, get Sylphy. If you feel you're still young and rich enough, get Mazda 3.  [thumbsup]

Nissan Sylphy current promotion includes GPS, reverse cam, bluetooth with call answering button on steering and 5 year warranty. 6 airbags too. Price is below $100k, was at the showroom yesterday. 

Did anyone visited the showrooms to see n test the below 100k cars?

Test driven the sylphy with my family. And did a booking on the spot as the price and freebies was attractive. 

Think K3 would be the best value Saloon around for now. At 8.2K Dep/ yr, I cant find another car having a better spec, nicer disign and lower price (in terms of Dep/yr) than K3....

Hmm depends on what you are going to put in the boot ba. Hatchback you have a more functional boot space, esp when you fold down the rear seats. I was able to transport a 2 seater sofa from IKEA in a Fit. The boot opening is bigger and you can transport larger stuff.

Sorry but hatchback if kena rear ended... Hatchback and saloon, which one is better?

Nissan Sylphy current promotion includes GPS, reverse cam, bluetooth with call answering button on steering and 5 year warranty. 6 airbags too. Price is below $100k, was at the showroom yesterday.

Test driven the sylphy with my family. And did a booking on the spot as the price and freebies was attractive.

Nissan can ask for at least 6k discount with freebies also. Hope you got at least 6k discount.

Not really. My BIL's Kia Picanto goes to the workshop more often than my other BIL's ex mitsubishi lancer. And the lancer was an older car.

My altis also less issues throughout my ownership.

But all the issues don't affect the day to day running of the car. Just leaks here and there. Like almost a leak yearly for the last 3 years. And its about 7-8th year yet. My BIL himself also said he would avoid getting another kia if he can afford it.

Could be it's the entry level model. But i won't label it as more reliable definitely.

Mine didn't have any issues other than the vibration from the engine when idling. However that issue affects all 3 of the cars in my household. All got that issue at around their 8-9th year. Among all three of the cars, the conti has the most issues, Honda, and Hyundai roughly the same except the Honda got some weird ticking noise when the engine is cold, doesn't seem to affect the car so just let it be.

Sorry but hatchback if kena rear ended... Hatchback and saloon, which one is better?

Nissan can ask for at least 6k discount with freebies also. Hope you got at least 6k discount.

Sry, did not consider that. Nv kena rear ended before. Threadstarter had initially wanted a MPV. So don't think he wanted a saloon coz he is concerned that he will be rear ended.

VW selling for 94K, but read the fine print.

must have leave and preferably office close to their service centres.

Heard lots of horror stories regarding Volkswagen after sales service.

I know

Mine didn't have any issues other than the vibration from the engine when idling. However that issue affects all 3 of the cars in my household. All got that issue at around their 8-9th year. Among all three of the cars, the conti has the most issues, Honda, and Hyundai roughly the same except the Honda got some weird ticking noise when the engine is cold, doesn't seem to affect the car so just let it be.

My impression is that Hyundai is more reliable than Kia when it comes to these minor issues.

Can't understand when people dislike my post cos I said I findthe look of the Altis the most futuristic. Really bo liao.

My impression is that Hyundai is more reliable than Kia when it comes to these minor issues.

Can't understand when people dislike my post cos I said I findthe look of the Altis the most futuristic. Really bo liao.

I feel u bro. Someone dislikes my post too. But you know what? I think they are very sensitive and insecure about themselves, so just ignore them. Peace.  [thumbsup]

I think it is going to be very challenging to debate on look/style because beauty is in the eyes of the beholder. Maybe we should focus on technical aspects of the car, finishes, gadgets, OMV, etc.

I do have a few in mind but would like to hear from others their opinion and experiences. Just to share, the following cars look attractive to me when COE goes down hill. 

1) Honda Vessel

2) Sabaru XV

3) Citroen Picasso.

4) Renault Flounce

Although Altis, Hyundai and Kai are all great, I find they have overpriced and their interior finishes are just too basic. Maybe they have been selling well that they forgotten others are catching up. From advertisements I saw oversea or even youtube of similar models, the specs are so different from what ADs are bringing in here.

A very classic example is Honda Vessel and HRV. Just look at the margins.

Maybe it is timely for car owners of Singapore give them a wake up call.

When u do the booking? Can still get the such low price package meh ....6 air bag premium version ?

I think it is going to be very challenging to debate on look/style because beauty is in the eyes of the beholder. Maybe we should focus on technical aspects of the car, finishes, gadgets, OMV, etc.

I do have a few in mind but would like to hear from others their opinion and experiences. Just to share, the following cars look attractive to me when COE goes down hill. 

1) Honda Vessel

2) Sabaru XV

3) Citroen Picasso.

4) Renault Flounce

Although Altis, Hyundai and Kai are all great, I find they have overpriced and their interior finishes are just too basic. Maybe they have been selling well that they forgotten others are catching up. From advertisements I saw oversea or even youtube of similar models, the specs are so different from what ADs are bringing in here.

Sorry wrong thread.  This discussion thread talking about saloons.

Among your choices, only Renault Fluence is under that category.

Perhaps you would like to start a new discussion thread "Best car around $100,000"?

Then the right people will come in to give you answers.

1) Mazda 3

2) Honda Vezel

3) Honda Fit 1.5 RS

4) Hyundai Elantra

5) Kia Forte K3

Don't be swayed just by the slightly cheaper Korean models, their FC is not as good as Mazda 3 or Honda. Over 10 years, the cost of ownership is more or less the same. How about Diesel cars? Ever considered? I saw Renault having some good promo on their Megane GT-Line Diesel.

the diesels are all contis, specifically French cars. Touch them and be prepared to suffer, Financially, mentally. besides you need to be also prepared that you can get screwed by govt policies. Remember CNG? 

Sorry wrong thread. This discussion thread talking about saloons.

Among your choices, only Renault Fluence is under that category.

Perhaps you would like to start a new discussion thread "Best car around $100,000"?

Then the right people will come in to give you answers.

Yeah hor. But Citroën is saloon right? Actually when I started this thread, I was looking at below $100k not so much as if it was a suv or normal salon car.

Can you make up your mind or not?

Your thread is about saloon car and now you are talking about cars that are NOT saloons?

??????????

1) Honda Vessel - This is not saloon

2) Sabaru XV - This is not saloon

3) Citroen Picasso. - This is not saloon

4) Renault Flounce

Edited by Beehive3783

i would think that Vezel is a great choice.

good quality and reliability.

ease of finding spares and mods.

low running cost.

adequate space.

Then why put best saloon car under $100K?

Do you know what is saloon car?

Yeah hor. But Citroën is saloon right? Actually when I started this thread, I was looking at below $100k not so much as if it was a suv or normal salon car.