Heng SWEE Keat collapsed in cabinet

No, no good. Cos B2 and C wards, you are attended to by junior doctors unless yours is very serious case.

That being said, my insurance goes all the way to private hospital. I would take private hospital anytime..

Not the way I see it. Yes, u will be communicating with the junior doctors but there is a principle doctor in charge of ur case, no matter if its B2 or C class. Its the same for my mum's case and my experience at the specialist clinics.

For my mum's recent case, she was accessed by Singapore's Top Orthopaedic Surgeon, even thou she was in B2 Class.

On contrary, a neonatologist is probably the next best choice after a medical intensivist.

In neonatology, the neonatal ICU/HD is their bread and butter. And any neonatologist worth their salt would have years of training covering these neonatal ICU/HD.

I have always been impressed by the super narrow therapeutic and dosing ranges they have to work with due to the minutiae nature of their customers. [:p] In my days, only the brightest and most dedicated will want to go into neonatology. [laugh] 

Yeah, pre-intubation hyperventilation is pretty standard in A&E P1. If you think those intubation resus cases are messy, my worst is case of organophosphate self poisoning with cardiac arrest VF resuscitation.

Any, kudos to Janil for his quick thinking, but I still feel he should have serve NS... :XD:

Your physiology better than mine lol.

And Dr Janil's hyperventilation is for this reason, to improve cerebral blood flow (the bagging faster than normal rates which the SCDF paramedic questioned)

http://stroke.ahajournals.org/content/3/5/566

Actually that's quite quick thinking on his part considering he's a neonatalogist and probably hasn't seen a stroke collapse in like how many donkey years.

Even in A&E we usually just bag normally unless just pre-oxygenation for intubation, then wait for ventilator to setup to hyperventilate.

But dunno how useful it is, but maybe 0.5% help also better than none.

In this respect, let me share one experience I had.

When my girl was warded many years ago in NUH, I was given the option to ward her as B2 or A. The information given was that in either case, because it was a condition that needed to be quarantined, she will be in a single bed room. So I took B2.

Actually I regretted doing so very much. The junior doctors and the actual doctors came in batches and used her as a case study. Throughout the night, every hourly or bi-hourly they came. In the end my wife and I ended up pandas for that little rebate (few hundred) the insurance company gave us, not to mention the disruption of rest of my then little one.

And they asked the same questions over and over again when it should all have been on the case file.

For myself as a patient I might still take B2 or C, but anything involving my family around, as long as insurance covers, A definitely.

Not the way I see it. Yes, u will be communicating with the junior doctors but there is a principle doctor in charge of ur case, no matter if its B2 or C class. Its the same for my mum's case and my experience at the specialist clinics.

For my mum's recent case, she was accessed by Singapore's Top Orthopaedic Surgeon, even thou she was in B2 Class.

Edited by Showster

On contrary, a neonatologist is probably the next best choice after a medical intensivist.

In neonatology, the neonatal ICU/HD is their bread and butter. And any neonatologist worth their salt would have years of training covering these neonatal ICU/HD.

I have always been impressed by the super narrow therapeutic and dosing ranges they have to work with due to the minutiae nature of their customers. [:p] In my days, only the brightest and most dedicated will want to go into neonatology. [laugh] 

Yeah, pre-intubation hyperventilation is pretty standard in A&E P1. If you think those intubation resus cases are messy, my worst is case of organophosphate self poisoning with cardiac arrest VF resuscitation.

Any, kudos to Janil for his quick thinking, but I still feel he should have serve NS... :XD:

I'm not cut out for P1. Too much stress  [lipsrsealed]

Yeah ICU/HD is their bread and butter. But sian lah, consultant also on call 5-6 calls/month  [:p]

When my girl was warded many years ago in NUH, I was given the option to ward her as B2 or A. The information given was that in either case, because it was a condition that needed to be quarantined, she will be in a single bed room. So I took B2.

Actually I regretted doing so very much. The junior doctors and the actual doctors came in batches and used her as a case study. Throughout the night, every hourly or bi-hourly they came. In the end my wife and I ended up pandas for that little rebate (few hundred) the insurance company gave us, not to mention the disruption of rest of my then little one.

And they asked the same questions over and over again when it should all have been on the case file.

For myself as a patient I might still take B2 or C, but anything involving my family around, as long as insurance covers, A definitely.

you can actually reject if u are tired. But yeah lah, actually the vitals monitoring is also very tiring. Single bedder is less tiring.

4 bedders, everyone vitals being monitored at night.

Pang sai, pang jioh etc ... one night maybe can sleep 3-4 hrs laugh already...

A, B1, B2, C..... if they are medical students, just tell politely you prefer not to be disturbed. That should be the end of the story.

Govt Restructured Hospital system, the medical/surgical teams work in teams comprising of junior doctors lead by a senior consultant/consultant.

I guess your daughter's case is not a straightforward case either in arriving at a firm diagnosis or treatment course. That is probably why the need to retake history to tease out details that may not have been apparently asked the first round or questions are refined based on the investigation results while inpatient.

If your daughter is a straightforward case, you might be wondering how come the doctors only appear 2 times a day?

contrary to popular believes, doctors prefer to go breakfast, tea break whenever they can.....That means the patient under their care are less problematic.

A, B1, B2, C..... if they are medical students, just tell politely you prefer not to be disturbed. That should be the end of the story.

Govt Restructured Hospital system, the medical/surgical teams work in teams comprising of junior doctors lead by a senior consultant/consultant.

I guess your daughter's case is not a straightforward case either in arriving at a firm diagnosis or treatment course. That is probably why the need to retake history to tease out details that may not have been apparently asked the first round or questions are refined based on the investigation results while inpatient.

If your daughter is a straightforward case, you might be wondering how come the doctors only appear 2 times a day?

contrary to popular believes, doctors prefer to go breakfast, tea break whenever they can.....That means the patient under their care are less problematic.

I want patients who only need 1 round per day!  [laugh]

Given the number of patients and I'm assuming it's not I look at your vitals and simply ask "Ok, Mr/Mrs/Madam so and so?" Can the doctors manage to complete their rounds with all patients? 

This happened to my mom and she was in SGH A class...

Given the number of patients and I'm assuming it's not I look at your vitals and simply ask "Ok, Mr/Mrs/Madam so and so?" Can the doctors manage to complete their rounds with all patients? 

Some patients are routine, no major issues few minutes can settle. 

Usually we work in teams also, so very often the junior doctors, we'll leapfrog each other until the consultant comes and we'll round again. If the consultant comes early then we'll go through everyone together.

The most junior doctors are like PC runners and scribe  [laugh]

I've been at departments where the rounds end at 2+pm in the afternoon. Then it's a mad rush to settle things and prep for the new patients coming in.

Surgeons usually start very early, 6-7+am cos they need to be in OT by 8+. Sometimes 545am start round liao  [bigcry]

I am disturbed that the mass media, have this very bad habit of singing the praises of the rich, powerful and famous and when this group of people meet with the slightest difficulties in their life, the media will drum the sorry sad victim. The poor old man got killed in a road traffic accident pushing the collected rubbish paper, what has the media done to help elevate the situation. Did the media spearhead a movement to help our elderly citizens to have a great life?

yup when i saw d pic of all those guys praying for HSK, i was thinking wat abt the hundreds of other ICU patients in our hospitals? Why arent those goons praying for them too? 

Then i remind myself that media coys r controlled by rich n powerful so no matter how much they deny it, ST is defo p8p's mouthpiece n now being used to jerk themselves off with.

Edited by Duckduck

This happened to my mom and she was in SGH A class...

Can always say no, like vratenza said.

Maybe some people don't know that. But there are plenty of people who say no.

Being a medical student, rejection is commonplace  [:p]

But being in hospital is a super sian place to be, so some patients don't mind the company.

This was many many years ago but I told off a medical student in front of a whole group of doctors.

My wife had an ectopic pregnancy and we were already very upset because we had to lose the baby - our first try for a kid.  A senior doctor in KK came in to examine my wife together with a group of young doctors.  He told us then that my wife needed immediate surgery to terminate the pregnancy, that very day.

One of the medical students went to the ultrasound machine and said excitedly "I want to see, I want to see.  I have never seen an ectopic pregnancy before".

I told her straight off "If you want to see, go and get f**ked and pray for an ectopic pregnancy yourself and you can see as much as you want.  We are already so upset and you can say something like that in front of us!!??"

The senior consultant apologised and told the student to get out.

So, nowadays, whenever my family members are warded, I tell the doctors that unless absolutely necessary, keep the students away and make sure they behave thenselves. 

actually the biggest risk factor for stroke are stuff like smoking, sedentary lifestyle and of course genetics.

stress is a contributing factor, but i don't think it's the main factor

but  still, hopefully he can recover fully.

if not, then at least retire to a backbencher role, where he can contribute in other ways like Lee Yi shyan.

Agree on this. I think even if one were to ask FM Heng, he wouldn't be pointing fingers at anyone except himself.

I wish Mr Heng a speedy recovery and this episode does serve another reminder to me to take more responsibility in my life and health. Have been taking health for granted in my younger days and now starting to pay back for some of that.

Good health to all bros and sis here and for those of us who haven't been exercising for whatever reasons, a good time to start on that today.

i agree with you on the wording of that writer used on 'high expectation' and indirectly cause any minister to collapse. Nevertheless, it is a demanding job that hardly please anyone. There are many ministers who understand a job is a job, not worth dying for it.

Personal opinion usually only come from one person's perspective.

A minister has a stroke and suddenly its due to hard work. Being active and working hard is not exactly a risk factor of a stroke. The risk factors are a sedentary lifestyle, poor diet, lack of exercise, family history, age etc. A person can work hard and still not hv a stroke if he doesnt hv clogged arteries. We don't know if his stroke is due to his inability to cope with his work or some other factors. So why are these reporters jumping into conclusions that Singaporeans are too demanding?

Singaporeans are the most homogeneous and well-known to be the most obedient in the world. To insinuate that our "high expectations" is indirectly causing his stroke or Mr Khaw's heart bypass is really too much. SUDDENLY its's Singaporean's fault again when VIPs hv poor health? Ordinary people hv heart attacks and strokes too u know. How does she even link poor health with hard work? I know of successful people who work hard and contribute n still find time to exercise, eat healthily etc. And when bad things happen, sometimes its due to bad luck, sometimes poor lifestyle choices etc. At the end of the day, all of us are responsible for our well being and managing our stress levels.

But the most ironic part is, most Singaporeans prefer our Ministers and MPs to focus on setting policies and charting the future direction of the country. In fact many prefer the Ministers to stay away from estate management work which can be carried out by the civil service. But guess what? The PAP is not ready to give up that power. After all, every election is about municipal matters n carrots n sticks on estate upgrading. This is the most important weapon in every election. Having a heavy weight PAP MP n Minister means your estate will be better managed. So Singaporeans are prepared to decouple the policy making role and estate management role n lessen the workload of our Ministers. But who is the one not prepared to give up that power?

Real food for thought than the meaningless article above.

Wishing Dr Heng a speedy recovery.

This was many many years ago but I told off a medical student in front of a whole group of doctors.

My wife had an ectopic pregnancy and we were already very upset because we had to lose the baby - our first try for a kid.  A senior doctor in KK came in to examine my wife together with a group of young doctors.  He told us then that my wife needed immediate surgery to terminate the pregnancy, that very day.

One of the medical students went to the ultrasound machine and said excitedly "I want to see, I want to see.  I have never seen an ectopic pregnancy before".

I told her straight off "If you want to see, go and get f**ked and pray for an ectopic pregnancy yourself and you can see as much as you want.  We are already so upset and you can say something like that in front of us!!??"

The senior consultant apologised and told the student to get out.

So, nowadays, whenever my family members are warded, I tell the doctors that unless absolutely necessary, keep the students away and make sure they behave thenselves. 

That's pretty stupid of the medical student.

Your physiology better than mine lol.

And Dr Janil's hyperventilation is for this reason, to improve cerebral blood flow (the bagging faster than normal rates which the SCDF paramedic questioned)

http://stroke.ahajournals.org/content/3/5/566

Actually that's quite quick thinking on his part considering he's a neonatalogist and probably hasn't seen a stroke collapse in like how many donkey years.

Even in A&E we usually just bag normally unless just pre-oxygenation for intubation, then wait for ventilator to setup to hyperventilate.

But dunno how useful it is, but maybe 0.5% help also better than none.

Basically Dr Jani forgot he is dealing with an adult and not a neonates or pediatric patient.

It is found the ventilating let alone hyperventilating is not as useful as one has thought of previously.

For an arrested patient the most important thing is to keep the blood in the body in particularly to the brain circulating.

If there is no blood flowing to the brain you can pump all the oxygen onto his lungs but non of which is going to help the brain.

I think the medical fraternity is being too polite to correct Dr Jan's action and reasoning. Hence why the SCDF questioned him.

Edited by Still2016

wow ..... are we going to see you serve on the ground to know if these people are getting help or help them in a way or two, or you just going to continue typing in HK?

May be to reduced their work load, many MPs and perhaps Ministers should not take up so many directorships of companies. The last time I heard there was one with 30 plus or 60 plus. Not sure.

I felt sorry for the writer who wrote that article because it actually belittles all those hard working citizens who takes on 2 or 3 jobs to make ends meet to keep their family from literally dying and yet get paid literally peanuts. Why nobody especially in the media beat the war drums for this group of citizens. This group of citizens absolutely got no choice and their only choice to escape it all is literally suicide. Unlike the politicians who can easily walk away and resigned. The politicians were identified as so very talented that if they go to the private sector they can earn many times more than what they earn, so let them go.

I am disturbed that the mass media, have this very bad habit of singing the praises of the rich, powerful and famous and when this group of people meet with the slightest difficulties in their life, the media will drum the sorry sad victim. The poor old man got killed in a road traffic accident pushing the collected rubbish paper, what has the media done to help elevate the situation. Did the media spearhead a movement to help our elderly citizens to have a great life?

I guess we are all too caught up trying to earn more money to buy material things so that we can claim happiness and boast our ego.

Just stop for a second and think about this, for 1 minister suffering, not that we are not saddened by this turn of event, but just how many hundreds ordinary citizens are facing similar or worse situations. Some are sole bread winner of the family, many are fathers, sons, brothers and uncles to someone. They may not make glamorous contributions like our ministers, but collectively they together with other citizens did create a Singapore we have today.

To say we expect and overworked our MPs and Ministers until they suffer serious health issues, are we belittling our ordinary citizens. I am sure many of our MPs and Ministers would be embarrassed reading what the author had written.

Basically Dr Jani forgot he is dealing with an adult and not a neonates or pediatric patient.

It is found the ventilating let alone hyperventilating is not as useful as one has thought of previously.

For an arrested patient the most important thing is to keep the blood in the body in particularly to the brain circulating.

If there is no blood flowing to the brain you can pump all the oxygen onto his lungs but non of which is going to help the brain.

I think the medical fraternity is being too polite to correct Dr Jan's action and reasoning. Hence why the SCDF questioned him.

Err i don't think he forgot. There was no mention of CPR probably because there was no need to. There is still a measurable pulse and hence blood pressure.