Devilcup 3rd Gear January 10, 2017 Share January 10, 2017 On 1/10/2017 at 2:48 PM, JuzFXT said: I agreed it's quite troublesome with all the new car features. Especially the ss. Hope there will be a GB soon or someone start making again. I think my co's qq gear box got some issue, even follow fellow way to park. We still have difficulty engaging the gear from park. The coming 5k hope tc got some answer to it. Side note I was told off aircon because the pulley is connected to the engine to avoid when starting it stress the engine? Gear box is always the headache part of the car... hope your wife car is ok. Regarding the aircon, to my understanding the pulley is always running even you off your air con, of cos with your engine running Once you start your engine with aircon on by default, your air con electro magnet will engage a couple of seconds later and your compressor will start running and then your fan on the radiator will start running. i believe all this is control by computer. i never off my air con for my picanto and for 7 years, battery always die end of the 2nd year after changed. I cannot say about my sylphy, i was requested to change battery on 40k servicing when the battery tester say it no good... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CL88 Neutral Newbie January 10, 2017 Share January 10, 2017 Dear All, Just got my Qashqai 2.0 last week, busy buying stuff to mods. 1) Changing the interior lights to T10 LEDs, found the back seats is not T10 ? Please advise ? 2) I have this auto fold mirror from TC. Does it closed when you off engine and locked your car ? Mine only can be locked by the button on the driver door panel. 3) Anyone change the reverse light to LED ? Please share the model. 4)Have ordered the CF boot lip, side steps, scuff plate, rearguard boot plate pending delivery from Ezbuy. 5) Wanting to mod the mesh, horns, tpms, electric tailgate, and etc ? :-) 6) My centre console display does not have digital speedmeter :-( , HU unit Bluetooth to iPhone 7+ must manual connect. Always auto connect failed. 7) Does 1.2L have the button to open the boot on the driver side ? Thanks all for the advise ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tazzi80 3rd Gear January 11, 2017 Share January 11, 2017 (edited) On 1/10/2017 at 3:47 PM, CL88 said: Dear All, Just got my Qashqai 2.0 last week, busy buying stuff to mods. 1) Changing the interior lights to T10 LEDs, found the back seats is not T10 ? IMG_7176.JPG Please advise ? 2) I have this auto fold mirror from TC. Does it closed when you off engine and locked your car ? Mine only can be locked by the button on the driver door panel. 3) Anyone change the reverse light to LED ? Please share the model. 4)Have ordered the CF boot lip, side steps, scuff plate, rearguard boot plate pending delivery from Ezbuy. 5) Wanting to mod the mesh, horns, tpms, electric tailgate, and etc ? :-) 6) My centre console display does not have digital speedmeter :-( , HU unit Bluetooth to iPhone 7+ must manual connect. Always auto connect failed. 7) Does 1.2L have the button to open the boot on the driver side ? Thanks all for the advise ! 2) This is the original function of the side mirror, if you can only fold and unfold using the button at the driver side panel then there is no auto fold installed. If auto fold is installed, then when locking or unlocking/start engine it should fold in/out automatically. (You should make sure your original button at the driver panel should be in open position though). 3) T10 6) Mine always auto connect very fast, using Android phone though. 7) No. Edited January 11, 2017 by Tazzi80 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Defcom81 2nd Gear January 11, 2017 Share January 11, 2017 New Only one set. I am selling this front and rear mud flap for Nissan Qashqai 2016 (J11) model at $50 .keen PM me thank you Installation can be done at Aestmod auto . 23 Geylang Lorong 11 at a small service fee. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kstoh 3rd Gear January 11, 2017 Share January 11, 2017 On 1/10/2017 at 11:01 AM, Alexhokc said: Hi, Would be very interested in 4 and 5. Guess for 4, will just have to wait for another special arrangement. For 5, still sourcing for the best solution I.e can be fitted easily and integrated with OSD. OSD means On Screen Display? I am not entirely sure but I believe the TPMS that I just installed would probably be what you are looking for. I will post details shortly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kstoh 3rd Gear January 11, 2017 Share January 11, 2017 (edited) On 1/10/2017 at 12:03 PM, Devilcup said: Hmmm speedometer looks cool. What is the special arrangement? Like special order? To change the speedometer, you need to: (a) procure a km/h fascia, and (b) get a workshop to change the fascia. Aestmod can do the change, although it was a delicate operation. But procuring the km/h fascia proved to be an impossible task for me, until some guru in this chat managed to find it. I shall leave it to him to comment if appropriate. Edited January 11, 2017 by Kstoh 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alexhokc 1st Gear January 11, 2017 Share January 11, 2017 On 1/11/2017 at 7:24 AM, Kstoh said: OSD means On Screen Display? I am not entirely sure but I believe the TPMS that I just installed would probably be what you are looking for. I will post details shortly. Hi, Yes, OSD means On Screen Display. I was reading and apparently even for the integrated OSD type, there are 2 types of sensors. One is to replace the whole tyre valve. The other type is to replace the tyre valve cap. Most sites in China sells the first type which I believe is also what you have. My only concern is whether the sensor is easy to fix? Can it be DIY or must go to a tyre shop? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kstoh 3rd Gear January 11, 2017 Share January 11, 2017 I just installed an Integrated OBD TPMS (Tyre Pressure Monitoring System) so I thought I will share what I learnt. Please note that I am not an expert in this area. Many people like Richard or Jonathan know more, and they helped me figure out things, including reading the instruction manual which is in Mandarin. Choosing your TPMS There are various types of TPMS. To the best of my knowledge, the 3 main types are: a) No sensor no display type - just warns you when one tyre is deflated, no actual reading b) Sensor but separate display - pressure reading on separate display next to steering wheel c) Integrated OBD TPMS - pressure reading integrated into centre display There are pros and cons. This post is on type c, which is what I installed. Buying the Integrated TPMS I bought from taobao via ezbuy.sg from HERE. Please read the page and check that the product is suitable for your car. The cost of the product is as follows: Price: ¥799 (it was S$175.60 for me but I see it is now listed as S$177.56) Agent Fee: S$14.18 (waived at time of my purchase but the waiver promo is on again today till 13 Jan 2017) Shipping: S$1.69 (I collected from Raffles Place MRT warehouse) Item arrived in Singapore less than 2 weeks from the time I placed order. Installing the Integrated TPMS On advice of brothers, went to Chin of RST Auto Accessories at Upper Thomson to install. Paid him $40. I suppose other tyre shops should be capable of installation but Chin has done this for quite a number of QQs, so he is familiar. Perhaps most importantly, he just installed mine, which is the latest version. See his name card below. Two steps involved: a) Changing the normal type valve to the TPMS valve - done by tyre shop b) Plugging in the OBD - anyone can do this For the earlier version of Integrated TPMS, I understand from Chin and Jonathan that you need to carry out some steps to do the configuration, like start engine, step brake, open/close door 3 times. But for this latest version, all the sensors are pre-configured, with each valve/sensor assigned to a specific wheel. You just plug in the OBD, go drive one round above 20 km/hr, and all the tyre readings will be registered correctly. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kstoh 3rd Gear January 11, 2017 Share January 11, 2017 (edited) When the OBD is first plugged in, there is no reading for the tyres. But once you start driving, the tyre pressures will show. Other than changing the display from psi to kPa, which is what we normally use, there is no need to do any configuration or change in settings. The tyre pressure display appears automatically. It is one of the displays (speed > Distance/Time > Fuel Economy > Audio > Tyre Pressures > Chassis Control > Warnings > Settings) which you can choose. If your display is showing Speed, I believe the Tyre Low Pressure warning will appear if necessary. Edited January 11, 2017 by Kstoh 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wooks 1st Gear January 11, 2017 Share January 11, 2017 (edited) On 1/11/2017 at 8:21 AM, Kstoh said: When the OBD is first plugged in, there is no reading for the tyres. But once you start driving, the tyre pressures will show. Other than changing the display from psi to kPa, which is what we normally use, there is no need to do any configuration or change in settings. The tyre pressure display appears automatically. It is one of the displays (speed > Distance/Time > Fuel Economy > Audio > Tyre Pressures > Chassis Control > Warnings > Settings) which you can choose. If your display is showing Speed, I believe the Tyre Low Pressure warning will appear if necessary. Ur meter looks different. So i dont need to change meter to hv this tpms, right? During servicing, do i need to unplug the OBD? Edited January 11, 2017 by Wooks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CL88 Neutral Newbie January 11, 2017 Share January 11, 2017 On 1/11/2017 at 1:03 AM, Tazzi80 said: 2) This is the original function of the side mirror, if you can only fold and unfold using the button at the driver side panel then there is no auto fold installed. If auto fold is installed, then when locking or unlocking/start engine it should fold in/out automatically. (You should make sure your original button at the driver panel should be in open position though). 3) T10 6) Mine always auto connect very fast, using Android phone though. 7) No. Thanks Tazzi80 for the advise ! Auto fold mirror from TC got problem, already informed my SE to settle. I try to change the reverse light today. Its so difficult to take out the black board to reach the light at the boot. Give up ! Anyone know the model for the rear seats interior light ? Not T10. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Devilcup 3rd Gear January 11, 2017 Share January 11, 2017 On 1/11/2017 at 1:47 PM, CL88 said: Thanks Tazzi80 for the advise ! Auto fold mirror from TC got problem, already informed my SE to settle. I try to change the reverse light today. Its so difficult to take out the black board to reach the light at the boot. Give up ! Anyone know the model for the rear seats interior light ? Not T10. it looks like those dome light bulb use in older car. there are LED version, just google it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alexhokc 1st Gear January 11, 2017 Share January 11, 2017 On 1/11/2017 at 8:09 AM, Kstoh said: I just installed an Integrated OBD TPMS (Tyre Pressure Monitoring System) so I thought I will share what I learnt. Please note that I am not an expert in this area. Many people like Richard or Jonathan know more, and they helped me figure out things, including reading the instruction manual which is in Mandarin. Choosing your TPMS There are various types of TPMS. To the best of my knowledge, the 3 main types are: a) No sensor no display type - just warns you when one tyre is deflated, no actual reading b) Sensor but separate display - pressure reading on separate display next to steering wheel c) Integrated OBD TPMS - pressure reading integrated into centre display There are pros and cons. This post is on type c, which is what I installed. Buying the Integrated TPMS I bought from taobao via ezbuy.sg from HERE. Please read the page and check that the product is suitable for your car. The cost of the product is as follows: Price: ¥799 (it was S$175.60 for me but I see it is now listed as S$177.56) Agent Fee: S$14.18 (waived at time of my purchase but the waiver promo is on again today till 13 Jan 2017) Shipping: S$1.69 (I collected from Raffles Place MRT warehouse) Item arrived in Singapore less than 2 weeks from the time I placed order. Installing the Integrated TPMS On advice of brothers, went to Chin of RST Auto Accessories at Upper Thomson to install. Paid him $40. I suppose other tyre shops should be capable of installation but Chin has done this for quite a number of QQs, so he is familiar. Perhaps most importantly, he just installed mine, which is the latest version. See his name card below. Two steps involved: a) Changing the normal type valve to the TPMS valve - done by tyre shop b) Plugging in the OBD - anyone can do this For the earlier version of Integrated TPMS, I understand from Chin and Jonathan that you need to carry out some steps to do the configuration, like start engine, step brake, open/close door 3 times. But for this latest version, all the sensors are pre-configured, with each valve/sensor assigned to a specific wheel. You just plug in the OBD, go drive one round above 20 km/hr, and all the tyre readings will be registered correctly. hi kstoh, Thanks for the detail sharing. When we do a tyre rotation, I presume will need to swap the sensors as well? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kstoh 3rd Gear January 11, 2017 Share January 11, 2017 On 1/11/2017 at 12:12 PM, Wooks said: Ur meter looks different. So i dont need to change meter to hv this tpms, right? During servicing, do i need to unplug the OBD? My speedometer change is only change of fascia i.e. faceplate. Cosmetic change only. See earlier post by me. No, you don't need to change the fascia to do this TPMS. But changing the fascia to show km/hr reading clearly allows me to use the centre OSD for something else like TPMS. I do not know if TC will make noise if they see the OSD. Rightfully, there is no reason to, since I did not change any of their firmware. But I was told by Chin that the port that this OBD is plugged into is used for diagnostics, so TC may need to access it during servicing. So, I will remove it during servicing. Removing it is as easy as removing a power plug from the socket. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kstoh 3rd Gear January 11, 2017 Share January 11, 2017 On 1/11/2017 at 2:34 PM, Alexhokc said: hi kstoh, Thanks for the detail sharing. When we do a tyre rotation, I presume will need to swap the sensors as well? I encountered two issues after installing TPMS. First, after plugging in the OBD, the left side of the panel cannot click into place. Jonathan does not bother to put back the panel. For me, I just leave the left side not completely secured. It is a minor problem. Second, it took a long time (with help from Richard and Jonathan) to figure out how to reconfigure the positions of the tyres after tyre rotation, since it is too troublesome to swap the sensors. These sensors are inserted into the rims by the tyre shop, not easily DIY removed or changed. Using the previous version method of "open/close door while stepping brake withe engine on" does not work. Instead, you have to remove the OBD cover and locate 4 switches. "On" each switch then deflate/inflate the tyres (according to the prescribed sequence) to configure the locations of the sensors. However, I have not tried it yet. After removing the cover of the OBD, it occurred that maybe the panel cover can be completely closed if if I plug the OBD back but without the cover. However, I did not do it as I was afraid this might result in the "antennae" of the OBD being accidentally broken. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear January 11, 2017 Share January 11, 2017 (edited) On 1/10/2017 at 7:36 AM, Devilcup said: Haha indeed! I am just a practical driver after reading the thread (I spend a week to read u know), I have come down to the list of item I would most probably do, 1) install leave catcher. I can tell u that my current car sylphy, there is alot of rubbish include cigarette butt in-between the bumper and the CVT cooler plus radiator 2) if possible, disable ISS. If I not wrong the old module device Richard mention should be a memory device. Meaning it remember the last status of the ISS. 3) if the horn is really guniang like my wife previous latio, kana reserve in by a Merc... I think will change it too. But I believe we need to cut wire? If so, I might not do it... 4) gas strut (hope I name it correctly)for bonnet. I old liao, need support to push up the bonnet when I check oil and water. 5) front struct bar... Most probably not.. I had it in my picanto. Really stablize the ride. But so far from test ride, car is very stable. I dun go up north too 6) auto folding mirror module... Might consider. Only worry is that it might spoil the folder mechanism. If I installing disable ISS I must as well install this... 7) grounding cable... Might wanna try diy as I have alot of ofc(I assume it is same as TV cable) lying ard.. no tool to cramp the cable. Piggyback and e throtter... I give it a miss unless I really cannot tahan the car pick up hi devilcup, Nice info !!! Just to add some info which bros may already be aware but just in case it still helps others: 1) Do the mesh asap ... some bros who did it later find radiator fin already with many damaged locations that will certainly rob the efficiency of the radiator. Customised made ones can be had from sgd100-120 and do try to get to workshop who had done it before from qashqai as it requires bumper to be down. Alternatively, clip on versions are available in ebay or taobao 2) The old version of disable SS module is simply a timer that is passive as it employs capacitor charging/discharging to simulate pressing the SS button for you. The advantage of this version is that it is passive and not powered i.e. needing fused connector to car electrical system but disadvantage is that you must close door to drive off within 4 minutes. Current version is quite different and it microprocessor controlled which means it needs to be powered or connected via fuse ... it simply read the inputs to the buttons but default to off at all instances and hence immediate deactivation of SS button in all circumstance and without the 4 mins limitation of the old passive version 3) Replacement of horn to me is mandatory and no brainer as it is on safety aspects ... stock is simply not sufficient to attract attention of nearly vehicle. I had 2 personal experience similar to reversing Merc that totally missed me in the rear and not aware no matter how I sounded my horn .... please change this regardless cut wire or not (the disable SS modules in both versions form requires cutting wires ... no big deal .. just like cutting wiring for any HU replacement but to each his own)/ 4) Front bonnet strut it is called ... great if CO or gf drives your qashqai and mandatory for those already with car extinguisher since I cannot imagine how anyone can open front bonnet and search for the burning hot stick and try to insert into holding hold if indeed car extinguisher is deployed. 5) Stock qashqai steering can be vague to those who had driven other car better weighted steering .. try going on straight line and slight left/right adjustment will see car still going straight. Now imagine cornering and your have this vagueness that need precise adjustment but please note most significant effect is when you set to sport steering even with the front strut bar is installed. It can be had for SGD75 and can be diy ... not too difficult but best is to have workshop to jack up car to fit it when suspension is not engaged to load it correctly when car is lowered down onto the ground thereafter. BTW, it is the exactly the same for xtrail and used interchangeable and most commonly used is from ultraracing from Malaysia. 6) No worry on autofolding causing earlier failure of motor ... most cars are fitted with them oreli from factory and these are made reliably to last our short 10 years of ownership. However, please note TC's version is primarily simplex type which closes when lock but only opens when you start your engine which means you cannot rely on the status of side mirror from afar to know that you had indeed locked our doors .. believe most if not all of us are guilty on this. Request TC for duplex version or simply go to any car accessories shop to fit this ... SGD60-70 compared to SGD85 albeit some prefers to fit this from TC. 7) Grounding various alternator, engine block, battery etc. is QED but do consider also grounding of continuous drawn current aircon compressor and also high kvolt applied starter if you are believer but you need to find a workshop to installed them since car need to be jacked up to access and tighten the grounding bolts/nuts. One usually missed theoretical advantage of grounding such high current or high voltage components is that it allows negative side of current to leak of quickly and not build up heat to prolong life of these components. 8) Ethrottle and piggyback: Ethrottle to me is a no brainer especially for the 1.2l due to poor response of stock in challenging situation which is also a safety concern due to unforeseeable circumstances. There is no concern on warranty void on ethrottle unlike piggback like tdi, racechip ultimate or rschip but rschip is not preferred due to having no turbo boost and questionable effectiveness or even concern if they achieves their claimed 20% increase in torque and power since they must be pushing other aspects including transmission timing very very hard ... if indeed possible for this 20% increase. Yes, piggyback MUST be remove during servicing and any tow back to TC which make it challenging in case not driven by you or in accidents. Cheers, Richard On 1/11/2017 at 3:21 PM, Kstoh said: I encountered two issues after installing TPMS. First, after plugging in the OBD, the left side of the panel cannot click into place. Jonathan does not bother to put back the panel. For me, I just leave the left side not completely secured. It is a minor problem. Second, it took a long time (with help from Richard and Jonathan) to figure out how to reconfigure the positions of the tyres after tyre rotation, since it is too troublesome to swap the sensors. These sensors are inserted into the rims by the tyre shop, not easily DIY removed or changed. Using the previous version method of "open/close door while stepping brake withe engine on" does not work. Instead, you have to remove the OBD cover and locate 4 switches. "On" each switch then deflate/inflate the tyres (according to the prescribed sequence) to configure the locations of the sensors. However, I have not tried it yet. After removing the cover of the OBD, it occurred that maybe the panel cover can be completely closed if if I plug the OBD back but without the cover. However, I did not do it as I was afraid this might result in the "antennae" of the OBD being accidentally broken. Hi KsToh, Just get a 1-2 or 1-3 obd cable extender to allow closure of the panel. Leave left side unlocked means panel is bent and it must be permanently bent over time. Please PM me if you need help to resolve this. Cheers, Richard Edited January 11, 2017 by richard_crl032 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
smikel 2nd Gear January 12, 2017 Share January 12, 2017 On 1/11/2017 at 1:47 PM, CL88 said: Thanks Tazzi80 for the advise ! Auto fold mirror from TC got problem, already informed my SE to settle. I try to change the reverse light today. Its so difficult to take out the black board to reach the light at the boot. Give up ! Anyone know the model for the rear seats interior light ? Not T10. You should ask those 2L car bros. The 1.2L car uses T10. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kstoh 3rd Gear January 12, 2017 Share January 12, 2017 On 1/11/2017 at 3:31 PM, richard_crl032 said: Hi KsToh, Just get a 1-2 or 1-3 obd cable extender to allow closure of the panel. Leave left side unlocked means panel is bent and it must be permanently bent over time. Please PM me if you need help to resolve this. Cheers, Richard Thanks for the suggestion. What is a good OBD cable extender to get? Any use for those with BT and some other features? So far, I saw this 1 to 4 from AliExpress which you recommended. Also this 1 to 3 and 1 to 2 from ezbuy. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...