Char 5th Gear May 3, 2016 Share May 3, 2016 Really tak boleh tahan without aircon .... Next time must ask the officer to sit down with me to try out . ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic May 3, 2016 Share May 3, 2016 Really tak boleh tahan without aircon .... Next time must ask the officer to sit down with me to try out .Provide is a young "she" nea officer. I would ask her to sit in. Hahaa Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic May 4, 2016 Share May 4, 2016 That's right Mai idle ah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged May 4, 2016 Share May 4, 2016 Really tak boleh tahan without aircon .... Next time must ask the officer to sit down with me to try out . They used to it already la. They also ride bikes with no aircon and helmet in the hot sun. Try wearing a helmet in sg weather. Its worse than sitting in a car with no aircon. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic May 4, 2016 Share May 4, 2016 They used to it already la. They also ride bikes with no aircon and helmet in the hot sun. Try wearing a helmet in sg weather. Its worse than sitting in a car with no aircon. Thats also why riders tend to lane split to maintain speed or at least keep moving & be air-cooled. At the lights, will find ways to get to the front & be the 1st to move off. At least when they get to the front of the queue, they dont inhale the zorst from the other vehicles. Maybe there should be a polls by MCF on what is deemed accpetable idling duration by MCFers. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sam7770 4th Gear May 8, 2016 Share May 8, 2016 Maybe there should be a polls by MCF on what is deemed accpetable idling duration by MCFers. There are already definitions for stopping (immediate drop off / pick up) and waiting (driver still in car AND not parking, unspecified duration) - perhaps they can apply these bulletproof definitions. This is irony, btw. Yet another rule that cannot be enforced with any consistency. The biggest problem I've seen is the school buses waiting at leaving time - spewing diesel fumes for 15-20 minutes into the playgrounds. But according to the quoted rules in the OP, they are exempt! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic May 8, 2016 Share May 8, 2016 Who are the hardest hit? Chauffeurs ferrying Tai Tai..... Perspiration soaked tai tai sitting at the rear. Hmmm I don't mind to be chauffeur hor. Haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic May 8, 2016 Share May 8, 2016 hmm i guess this is where start/stop engines comes in useful? LOL Sometimes also unavoidable. Got children fell asleep and must wait somewhere.With this kind of weather...OK let's try harder to off.http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/environment/stiffer-fines-for-repeat-offenders-of-vehicle-engine-idling-from-june-1SINGAPORE - The National Environment Agency (NEA) will increase the penalty for repeat offenders who leave their vehicle engines idling from June 1, as part of ongoing efforts to further improve Singapore's ambient air quality and safeguard public health.The move serves as a stronger deterrent against idling vehicle engines, NEA said in a statement on Friday (April 29).It added that the higher penalty for repeat offenders is being imposed following an upward trend of such offences.Between 2013 and 2015, the number of enforcement cases grew from about 3,200 in 2013, to 3,800 in 2014, and 5,100 in 2015.During the first three months of 2016, NEA took action against 1,489 errant motorists for idling engine offences.Under the Environmental Protection and Management (Vehicular Emissions) Regulations, it is an offence to leave the engine of a motor vehicle running when it is stationary for reasons other than traffic conditions.Starting from June 1, motorists caught leaving their vehicle engines idling for a second or subsequent time may compound the offence by paying a composition sum of $100, up from the current $70.If the composition sum is not paid, the errant motorist is liable to a maximum court fine of $5,000 upon conviction.The regulations apply to all motorists driving all types of motor vehicles, except:vehicles that require their engines to be switched on for operation of on-board machinery, such as chiller trucks, concrete mixers;taxis/buses in a queue at their designated stops, stands or terminals waiting to pick up/drop off passengers;vehicles that are used for law enforcement or emergency purposes, such as ambulances, SCDF or police vehicles;vehicles undergoing inspection or maintenance.NEA said signs have been installed at hotspots to remind motorists about the new regulations. It urged motorists to turn off their engines after parking their vehicles.Members of the public who spot parked idling vehicles are encouraged to report them to NEA through its hotline (1800 2255 632), email ([email protected]) or the myENV app.Details such as the vehicle registration number, location, date and time of the incident should be included. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic May 8, 2016 Share May 8, 2016 Now we know another location to find a taxi just before surcharge period..... The place where I fly my R/C heli and drone, always have taxis come and idle their engines while taking a break. Happen that I was flying my drone so I took a photo of them. We have to endure their exhaust while we setting up our machines. Photo of taxis.jpg After I took the photo, I think they sense it and they all faster drove off. Then while videoing my fren flying his R/C heli, you can see another taxi come and take a break too. Same thing, walk out of cab but leave the engine idling while he smoke and watch us fly. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c63rGd5KcAo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Char 5th Gear May 8, 2016 Share May 8, 2016 Must switch off engine under the heat and hot sun ? This is must be joking ! I don't want to get heat stroke on myself and family ! What is the different those smoking outside ? Must this law apply to this group of people ? Secondhand smoke more harmful than car smoke right ? In order to escape from Kenal fine I have to go Marry go round and round to produce more healthy air and cause more congestion ? Just look at causeway and Tuas how much good quality air produce daily due to slow clearance ? Should NEA fine all these people ? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged May 8, 2016 Share May 8, 2016 Must switch off engine under the heat and hot sun ? This is must be joking ! I don't want to get heat stroke on myself and family ! What is the different those smoking outside ? Must this law apply to this group of people ? Secondhand smoke more harmful than car smoke right ? In order to escape from Kenal fine I have to go Marry go round and round to produce more healthy air and cause more congestion ? Just look at causeway and Tuas how much good quality air produce daily due to slow clearance ? Should NEA fine all these people ? The difference is one can easily control the other cannot. When you stop and wait for something, can easily turn off engine to reduce emissions. They can't get rid of the causeway jam easily. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Char 5th Gear May 8, 2016 Share May 8, 2016 (edited) The difference is one can easily control the other cannot. When you stop and wait for something, can easily turn off engine to reduce emissions. They can't get rid of the causeway jam easily.If turn off engine under hot sun definitely I will get out from the car and find shade right ? If too far from the car also potential receive summon from LTA for illegal parking as unable to see . What I see NEA should only implement on multi and basement car park , every where 6pm-9am as the sun still not hot enough and car park at the parking lot . Edited May 8, 2016 by Char 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged May 8, 2016 Share May 8, 2016 If turn off engine under hot sun definitely I will get out from the car and find shade right ? If too far from the car also potential receive summon from LTA for illegal parking as unable to see . What I see NEA should only implement on multi and basement car park , every where 9am-6pm and car park at the parking lot . Park the car and go to the shade la. I always do that. Unless carpark too crowded then just stop aside and wind down windows while waiting. Anyway, most of the time I don't wait. I always make sure the people/thing I am picking up is there before me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic May 8, 2016 Share May 8, 2016 Must switch off engine under the heat and hot sun ? This is must be joking ! I don't want to get heat stroke on myself and family ! What is the different those smoking outside ? Must this law apply to this group of people ? Secondhand smoke more harmful than car smoke right ? In order to escape from Kenal fine I have to go Marry go round and round to produce more healthy air and cause more congestion ? Just look at causeway and Tuas how much good quality air produce daily due to slow clearance ? Should NEA fine all these people ?If they really enforce, i will also be merry go rounding. See u round the corner. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Char 5th Gear May 8, 2016 Share May 8, 2016 Park the car and go to the shade la. I always do that. Unless carpark too crowded then just stop aside and wind down windows while waiting. Anyway, most of the time I don't wait. I always make sure the people/thing I am picking up is there before me.If unable to find lot the only solution is round and round to burn more fuel ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic May 8, 2016 Share May 8, 2016 How long can the toyota full hybrid maintain the aircon before engine kicks in? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic May 8, 2016 Share May 8, 2016 How about noise pollution ? In Yishun bus interchange, the buses are horning away every second, like for no reason at all. NEA should go there and catch. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Char 5th Gear May 8, 2016 Share May 8, 2016 Singapore too small Liao .... So too free and try to find thing to do .... At least implement on reasonable way la .... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...