2016 May, 1st COE Bidding Exercise

yo2020

Bro, PI can only bid for the number of order they have on hand cause we are talking about cat A here.... they cant bid the COE and put it as Mr A, or Mr B or Mr C... what you are referring to are more applicable to Open Cat....

The PI does not have to bid for all the orders they have in hand at one single bidding exercise.

If PI has 10 orders, he can bid for COE for first 5 buyers first, then at the second or third exercise bid for the rest of the buyers. I'm assuming that the PI's T&Cs is that it's 4 bids or 6 bids (even if it's 1 bid, unless delivery date is stated, it can be any bidding exercise the PI deems fit).

If their existing car is not scrapped or exported, it's +1 for demand, as the existing is still on the road no?

Their existing car will go to someone where that someone will not participate in new Coe bidding. No?

obviously COE is going up again...i think all guessing are not working...I mean with the COE going down due to more supplies. Actually there are just too much demands!!

1 or 2 years back, a lot of us were talking about tsunami in COE supply in 2016/ 2017 and many held back purchases by buying 8 to 9 years old car to cham see tong .

In another year or so, the COE supply will start to shrink and we may then experience tsuami in buyer's demand when many rush in to buy before the tap is slowing, quite scary!

MOM say He is alarmist leh.... :-)

Typically, civil servant will talk loud loud if they confident economy is great and data shows full employment. What you guys are seeing now no need data to tell you it is a very sad situation.

If no food on the tab, just drive car eat wind can?

The last time I talked to them, they said no facelift for the coming 1 or 2 years.

Actually, they just facelift last year ?

New model coming ?

Never track altis, my friend collect car before CNY.  He paid 107K lor.

I saw somewhere 104K during expo and wish was 116K listed.  No sure it is before disc.

Actually Wish OMV is only $19980, quite close to Altis.  Borneo margin for Altis is also lower at 15K.  Wish 20K.

cheaper than altis? what's altis' pice at car expo?

Demand is like Jiu Ceng Gao (九层糕)| Kueh Lapis Sagu, Top layer = 78K, 2nd = 65K, 3rd = 60K, 4th = 35K, 5th = 28K, 6th = 20K ............ and so on.

I called it, the Quality of Demand.  I think I in the 5th layer.  What about you ?

1 or 2 years back, a lot of us were talking about tsunami in COE supply in 2016/ 2017 and many held back purchases by buying 8 to 9 years old car to cham see tong .

In another year or so, the COE supply will start to shrink and we may then experience tsuami in buyer's demand when many rush in to buy before the tap is slowing, quite scary!

Demand is like Jiu Ceng Gao (九层糕)| Kueh Lapis Sagu, Top layer = 78K, 2nd = 65K, 3rd = 60K, 4th = 35K, 5th = 28K, 6th = 20K ............ and so on.

I called it, the Quality of Demand.  I think I in the 5th layer.  What about you ?

That's an interesting term, perhaps MOE can consider incorporating into their economics textbook.

I am happy with $40K, so it should be 3.75

I used to think so too. Until uber and grab came to the party uninvited

Not to worry lah. We have 100,000 COE. Uber and Grab only represent 2%. Our current problem is 100K demand with only 80K COE. This will soon be over by end of this year.  

5th Gear

1 or 2 years back, a lot of us were talking about tsunami in COE supply in 2016/ 2017 and many held back purchases by buying 8 to 9 years old car to cham see tong .

In another year or so, the COE supply will start to shrink and we may then experience tsuami in buyer's demand when many rush in to buy before the tap is slowing, quite scary!

Haha .... Left right also Kenal !

Actually.. Coe might not be about the timing. It is about volume.

Some book now with non guaranteed. It got rolled over to next bid. Then in that few weeks. More people booked and cycle continues. Eventually when the coe quota numbers run low, price goes up again. And of course at the tail end, those people who kept waiting will really panic and chiong. Lagi worse.

The old wisdom hold. No point rationalising about coe price and demand or crowd behaviour. The only thing you can control is what you pay. So as long as price is right, just buy lah.

Edited by Chrispie

my parents in layer 3.5. if hit 5th layer, i will confirm plus chop make downpayment.  [smash]

5th Gear

my parents in layer 3.5. if hit 5th layer, i will confirm plus chop make downpayment. [smash]

What car you buy ?

Haha .... Left right also Kenal !

Singapore is probably the only country in this world that people gain white hair or lose their hair trying to figure out when is the time to buy a new car.

Uniquely Singapore!

Not sure if you eat a lot of Jiu Ceng Gao (九层糕)| Kueh Lapis Sagu like me when I am a kid.

I noticed not all layers are even, usually the top layer is thinner than the rest, the last layer is thickest.

Notice the gap of 60K and 35K, it could be any other number.

Those between this gap is probably the neither here nor there group.  A bit ex, but still affordable.

That why I rather set a lower band ..... to prevent be from happy triggering a deal.

And I am quite peaceful now.

Anyone talk about civil servants buying season is opened ?

I noticed around this time of the year, COE has been higher ...... on many of the years.

And there is no such thing as 3.75 layer, yes, 3 or 4 rational whole number ...... I am taking my exam now. 

That's an interesting term, perhaps MOE can consider incorporating into their economics textbook.

I am happy with $40K, so it should be 3.75

Interesting.  Why people like the in between like 3.75, 3.5.  

You can either eat 3 or 4.  Unless you have a gamma knife.  If you have 1 at home, you probably can eat the whole cake ....... heeee....

my parents in layer 3.5. if hit 5th layer, i will confirm plus chop make downpayment.  [smash]

More like another 250K of COE A, B and E from now to end-2018.  2017 100K, 2018 97K.  2016 half mark 50K.

By this time next year.  COE quota would have double again.

Not to worry lah. We have 100,000 COE. Uber and Grab only represent 2%. Our current problem is 100K demand with only 80K COE. This will soon be over by end of this year.  

By this time next year. COE quota would have double again.

Double?! The good news is the COE quota will start to decrease next year. This mean more quota released this year, less demand next year.

What car you buy ?

I won't buy unless COE drops more, I have less than 3 years of working experience. where got capital for current price:S

Double?! The good news is the COE quota will start to decrease next year. This mean more quota released this year, less demand next year.

correct. The peak should be year end/start 2017. after that it will start dropping if I remember correctly

I won't buy unless COE drops more, I have less than 3 years of working experience. where got capital for current price:S

correct. The peak should be year end/start 2017. after that it will start dropping if I remember correctly

Your memory is good.

80k cars expired in 2015

107K cars expiring in 2016

100k cars expiring in 2017

93k cars expiring in 2018

60k cars expiring in 2019