2016 Apr, 2nd COE Bidding Exercise

yo2020

Well.. look at it this way...  a person who needs uber to help him get a car loan is going to be a credit risk in the first place.   the question is who is going to bear the risk, the person, uber or the bank.

Just a few defaults should clarify the situation very quickly.

True, but you have to remember that MAS's reason/excuse for that in the first place was to baby sit such person from defaulting.

The financing restrictions are necessary to encourage financial prudence among buyers of motor vehicles.  In this prolonged environment of very low interest rates, there is greater risk of buyers over-extending themselves on motor vehicles

last time uber and grab went for 2nd hand cars which were about to scrap 

everybody praised them because people got more value on their about to scrap vehicles which allowed them to buy new cars

now uber and grab going for new cars, everybody kpkb because driving up COE competition and no more value on their old cars

True, but you have to remember that MAS's reason/excuse for that in the first place was to baby sit such person from defaulting.

The financing restrictions are necessary to encourage financial prudence among buyers of motor vehicles.  In this prolonged environment of very low interest rates, there is greater risk of buyers over-extending themselves on motor vehicles

MAS does not care about individual bankruptcies.. that's still happening will credit cards debts, mortgages and so on...

MAS cares about the systematic risk of default.  If a car loan is defaulted, the company at risk is Uber or Grabcar or whatever, which is funded by investors, publicly or otherwise.

Enough defaults, then Uber, Grabcar and so on falls...  Banks may be impacted, but first you have to bring down Uber.. which puts a layer between the bank and the actual loan.  Credit rating companies are not going to see that, they will only see Uber... and continue to give AAA rating to our banks.

But if the loan is direct to bank, and enough people default on car loans, then the bank has to provisioned for these bad loans, which then affects the ratings.

Yeahh, hopefully.. if not COE prices will shoot up super high like 100k or something. afterall, grab and uber bid for coe, for BUSINESS purposes .. which means for PROFITS. what about we consumers who bid as individuals? some people bid for NEEDS, but not for business.. we bid for our own consumption, they bid for business purpose, for profits n more profits.. not very fair lor..

they bid cat e, also "fighting" with individual consumers mahh.. should have separate category just for taxi...

business is business.. individual is individual... where can like tt mix lehh? hais!!!

ya loah. that time say taxis cannot bid cat a and cat b.. now private TAXI also can bid cat a and b liao... isnt private TAXI also considered TAXI?! isnt it the same thing?! they bid for business purpose... we bid for own purpose..!!!

be patient......take uber or grab while you wait for <$10k coe

you did say you had all the time in the world to wait, right?

don't worry, i wait with you

MAS does not care about individual bankruptcies.. that's still happening will credit cards debts, mortgages and so on...

MAS cares about the systematic risk of default.  If a car loan is defaulted, the company at risk is Uber or Grabcar or whatever, which is funded by investors, publicly or otherwise.

Enough defaults, then Uber, Grabcar and so on falls...  Banks may be impacted, but first you have to bring down Uber.. which puts a layer between the bank and the actual loan.  Credit rating companies are not going to see that, they will only see Uber... and continue to give AAA rating to our banks.

But if the loan is direct to bank, and enough people default on car loans, then the bank has to provisioned for these bad loans, which then affects the ratings.

I'm not saying they care about individual bankruptcies. They make it sound like that in the first place, which is the crap i'm pointing out  [;)]

Thanks for your detailed explanation anyway  [thumbsup]

I join you to wait together with Xiaomei. Getting my new ride in May so you see I can wait for 10 years, long enough? Hehe ....

sounds like :grin:

53248_WM.jpg

Now we finally know what it is meant by car-lite [laugh]

Anyway better public transport options will just lead to less ppl buying cars also.

Uber and Grab change the game significantly...

Firstly, they nib at some of the higher quotas released back to pool.

Secondly, they offer financing schemes that sidestep financing rules that most are subject to.

The only "bad" thing about having an Uber car I believe is that there must be a car decal or sticker to identify the car.

The govt must make sure the decal is prominent enough to be identified because at the rate the taxis are getting replaced by Uber / Grab, the govt has to very soon allow Uber/Grab to do roadside / taxi stand pick-ups.  

I see some people here still hoping and wishing for the supposedly "low" COE... but maybe it's already here? [:)]

Lol. Then some people can really kiss his/her dream goodbye.

I feel that there is no point waiting and speculating. As long as you feel you are comfortable of the price you're paying then just go ahead and make the purchase. We will not know what will happen in the future.

At least the price of COE now is still cheaper than last year.

Many cannot afford. They bought their cars maybe around 60k 10 yrs ago. Over the years these people never accumulate high savings or high pay. These are the people waiting by the side.too bad no luck for them.

Lol. Then some people can really kiss his/her dream goodbye.

They better do so n face reality.
  • Dislike 1

Many cannot afford. They bought their cars maybe around 60k 10 yrs ago. Over the years these people never accumulate high savings or high pay. These are the people waiting by the side.too bad no luck for them.

They better do so n face reality.

They can go the uber route and hire a car from Lion City, treat it as a personal car and use it for Uber for the minimum hours enough to pay for the hiring charges.

Govt has really opened up a can of worms.

Edited by Nav14

They can go the uber route and hire a car from Lion City, treat it as a personal car and use it for Uber for the minimum hours enough to pay for the hiring charges.

Yah no money borrow from Uber. Drive part time?

Party continues leh.

They can go the uber route and hire a car from Lion City, treat it as a personal car and use it for Uber for the minimum hours enough to pay for the hiring charges.

The worm will shoot up car prices

We should make the sticker on the car BIG BIG and obvious or have a sign on the roof just like normal taxi. 

Making use of the social perception to control....

Paste a big "UBER" sticker across the passenger doors and both front and back bumpers.  :grin: