Datura 2nd Gear June 21, 2017 Share June 21, 2017 And like most things these days, expect the problems to occur just AFTER the warranty period expires! wow you really very negative on turbo cars eh? your previous ride must be a VW/audi . ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
clement229 3rd Gear June 21, 2017 Share June 21, 2017 (edited) wow you really very negative on turbo cars eh? your previous ride must be a VW/audi .Well... u can't get the best of all worlds... generally these days turbo focuses on fuel efficiency & lower taxes. Edited June 21, 2017 by clement229 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
9xBrucie June 21, 2017 Share June 21, 2017 (edited) wow you really very negative on turbo cars eh? your previous ride must be a VW/audi .Well,the negativity is not grounded in ill formed opinions. Why don't you just simply google this bro? "Turbo in small displacement engines" Edited June 21, 2017 by 9xBrucie 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carhorn 5th Gear June 21, 2017 Share June 21, 2017 Well,the negativity is not grounded in ill formed opinions. Why don't you just simply google this bro? "Turbo in small displacement engines" Hong kan liao. Those 0.6L, 1L, 1.2L, 1.4L, 1.5L angmoh, jipon turbo chia all can up lorry liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
clement229 3rd Gear June 21, 2017 Share June 21, 2017 Well,the negativity is not grounded in ill formed opinions. Why don't you just simply google this bro? "Turbo in small displacement engines" Like I said... you can't get the best of all worlds... You can't make it very cheap to maintain & efficient at the same time... You already won part of it & it is lower road taxes.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear June 21, 2017 Share June 21, 2017 (edited) wow you really very negative on turbo cars eh? your previous ride must be a VW/audi . Plenty of mitsubishi colt plus with turbo running around even today with extended COE ..happily. Cannot say say the same for non turbo colts. At worst scenario, I rather change new turbo and overhaul engine rather after 5 yrs warranty than to drive brand new underpowered and noisy non turbo one. Well,the negativity is not grounded in ill formed opinions. Why don't you just simply google this bro? "Turbo in small displacement engines" 2.0l for harrier turbo is small displacement ?? Buy 3.0l turbo ?? Nay ... Edited June 21, 2017 by richard_crl032 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
9xBrucie June 21, 2017 Share June 21, 2017 Plenty of mitsubishi colt plus with turbo running around even today with extended COE ..happily. Cannot say say the same for non turbo colts. At worst scenario, I rather change new turbo and overhaul engine rather after 5 yrs warranty than to drive brand new underpowered and noisy non turbo one. 2.0l for harrier turbo is small displacement ?? Buy 3.0l turbo ?? Nay ... I was not talking about the Harrier T. The whole thing started on the 1.5T Civic point by some other person. Scroll up. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
clement229 3rd Gear June 21, 2017 Share June 21, 2017 Wish there were so many options when i was changing my car back in Jan '15 lol. Harrier Turbo could have made me consider a SUV. Well even now, i think I would be satisfied in a Jade RS lol. So what you bought? Jan 2015, there's harrier leh Not sure if already shared ...harrier turbo price from BM will be available on Thursday and test drive will be 1-2 weeks thereafter. Cheers. So how much is harrier? Is the price out? Haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear June 21, 2017 Share June 21, 2017 So what you bought? Jan 2015, there's harrier leh So how much is harrier? Is the price out? Haha Hi Clement, Those who place sgd3k early bird promo will get call from their BM sales tmrw. Hope the reportedly 200+ early bird booking does not let BM raise thr price too much :( Cheers. Richard I was not talking about the Harrier T. The whole thing started on the 1.5T Civic point by some other person. Scroll up. Noted and tks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
clement229 3rd Gear June 21, 2017 Share June 21, 2017 Hi Clement, Those who place sgd3k early bird promo will get call from their BM sales tmrw. Hope the reportedly 200+ early bird booking does not let BM raise thr price too much :( Cheers. Richard Noted and tks. U got place the $3k? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear June 21, 2017 Share June 21, 2017 (edited) U got place the $3k?Hi Clement, Yes I did ..my estima is due 10 yrs soon and it is either this harrier turbo or forester xt. Drove the top of range BFL version from vincar at sgd159k for few weeks and good car but not vfm .. finds it slightly underpowered, noisy when pushed, floaty suspension and no good news on PI, PI aftersales woekshop and CVT issues that this FL version from BM all addresses. But new releases will have their problems though shiok to have b4 others and AD like BM would take care. Cheers. Richard Edited June 21, 2017 by richard_crl032 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
clement229 3rd Gear June 21, 2017 Share June 21, 2017 Hi Clement, Yes I did ..my estima is due 10 yrs soon and it is either this harrier turbo or forester xt. Drove the top of range BFL version from vincar at sgd159k for few weeks and good car but not vfm .. finds it slightly underpowered, noisy when pushed, floaty suspension and no good news on PI, PI aftersales woekshop and CVT issues that this FL version from BM all addresses. But new releases will have their problems though shiok to have b4 others and AD like BM would take care. Cheers. Richard Yes. I have one also.It's slightly underpowered but the power mode adds a little boost. I would say see if diff in price between the FXT and harrier turbo then consider if it's worth the difference. PM me the price for the harrier turbo haha! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 21, 2017 Share June 21, 2017 So what you bought? Jan 2015, there's harrier leh So how much is harrier? Is the price out? Haha Accord 2.0. I had an altis, so wasn't considering another toyota. Tried something else. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
clement229 3rd Gear June 21, 2017 Share June 21, 2017 Accord 2.0. I had an altis, so wasn't considering another toyota. Tried something else. Ahh.. Jan 2015 isn't a good time for nice looking cars.. Jan 2015 was the time that Volkswagen promoting their Jetta.. haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Earthboy 4th Gear June 21, 2017 Share June 21, 2017 I will be pleasantly surprise if it is priced the same or lower than FXT. The Subaru (turbo one)here always have the best power to $ ratio. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaseller 2nd Gear June 21, 2017 Share June 21, 2017 (edited) Wrong, Japanese and European car manufacturers have as much experience in turbo and placing them in mass-manufactured petrol cars. It's a matter of what the markets want and most of which are influenced by govt policies. Europe were first to incentivise smaller displacements, while penalise larger displacement all due to air pollution as in almost all cases, higher displacement = higher carbon footprint. Europe's push to diesel is also motivated by carbon-reducing and nowadays turbo diesel engine are much refined. In fact, other than exotic supercars, Japanese manufacturers were earlier to put turbo engines in mass production cars aimed at the masses. The first mitsubishi evo 1 in 1992 was mass manufactured and came with turbo engine in 1992, the toyota starlet turbo came even earlier in 1989. BMW's 3 series sedan only adopted turbo petrol in 2006, the A4 in 1994, volvo s60 in 2000. If you talk about turbo diesel, it has been in toyota and honda's trucks even earlier. Most, if not all european car manufacturers do not make their own petrol engine turbochargers Toyota and Mitsubishi manufacture their own. There is also no such thing as "best engine to turbo charge" is diesel or petrol, it all boils down to uses and specific functions. "Best" depends on the type of situations one intends to use, since both can be TC, one needs to make a case why one engine is superior to the other, and it all boils down to uses and in many countries, tax. Turbo charging inevitably results in higher heat and higher heat results in higher fail rates therefore the cooling efficiency of a turbo setup is almost as important and complex as the turbocharger itself. This 1989 turbo starlet still running and for sale in UK. Not stereotyping...just plain old mechanics. Europeans have been placing small turbo units in smaller cc cars for much longer and the low trend for lack of durability is well established. These from established German and Swedish automakers such as Audi, VW and Volvo. Comparatively speaking, this is still something relatively new to the Japs and owners should expect premature costs to hit them. These include: oil leaks from the TC and blown gaskets and pistons, i.e. serious longevity problems. As for whacking, you don't have to whack. Just drive one on a daily basis and tell me you won't sink time and again for the pulling power of forced induction from traffic lights, passing slo-mo traffic, etc. The very thing owners hope to achieve from a TC charged car, i.e. fuel economy, will be the first thing that slips from their fingers. Next to follow suit, will be reliability. This is not a slight on owners of such cars - they should indeed enjoy it...while it lasts! I speak from experience here. Still... don't take my word for it. Just come back here in a couple years time to see if I'm right. P.S. By the way, the best small displacement engines to TC are not the puny petrol ones but rather the diesels. Petrol engines run hotter than diesels...and added with forced induction = more heat = laundry list of failures = escalating repair bills Edited June 21, 2017 by Mazdaseller 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Earthboy 4th Gear June 21, 2017 Share June 21, 2017 some people think that jap engineer never go to school, make car by trial and error in their kitchen. lol some people kek kian change to big turbo than stock than what about cooling. thats is when trouble starts. Wrong, Japanese and European car manufacturers have as much experience in turbo and placing them in mass-manufactured petrol cars. It's a matter of what the markets want and most of which are influenced by govt policies. Europe were first to incentivise smaller displacements, while penalise larger displacement all due to air pollution as in almost all cases, higher displacement = higher carbon footprint. Europe's push to diesel is also motivated by carbon-reducing and nowadays turbo diesel engine are much refined. In fact, other than exotic supercars, Japanese manufacturers were earlier to put turbo engines in mass production cars aimed at the masses. The first mitsubishi evo 1 in 1992 was mass manufactured and came with turbo engine in 1992, the toyota starlet turbo came even earlier in 1989. BMW's 3 series sedan only adopted turbo petrol in 2006, the A4 in 1994, volvo s60 in 2000. If you talk about turbo diesel, it has been in toyota and honda's trucks even earlier. Most, if not all european car manufacturers do not make their own petrol engine turbochargers Toyota and Mitsubishi manufacture their own. There is also no such thing as "best engine to turbo charge" is diesel or petrol, it all boils down to uses and specific functions. "Best" depends on the type of situations one intends to use, since both can be TC, one needs to make a case why one engine is superior to the other, and it all boils down to uses and in many countries, tax. Turbo charging inevitably results in higher heat and higher heat results in higher fail rates therefore the cooling efficiency of a turbo setup is almost as important and complex as the turbocharger itself. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
clement229 3rd Gear June 21, 2017 Share June 21, 2017 (edited) I will be pleasantly surprise if it is priced the same or lower than FXT. The Subaru (turbo one)here always have the best power to $ ratio. Cannot be same or lower than FXT.... impossible... I will be surprised too... Edited June 21, 2017 by clement229 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...