New Harrier Japan

Marcostan

Hi guys, hope to share & hear some opinions.

The Harrier(NA version from PI) was on my consider list when changing my ride last year. Always keen on a good SUV, but it was slightly off my budget then. So eventually brought the new Honda Civic 1.5T(driving for 8mths since). Good ride overall.

Now knowing BM bringing in the Turbo Harrier, I'm tempted to change & upgrade leh. Haha!!

Wonder if it's a good idea? I'm stuck!!

Depend on how much Borneo take in your civic

You must have won the toto or something between 8 months ago and now.

From Harrier NA being slightly out of budget to having sunk in depreciation for a brand new Civic turbo and now still can seriously contemplating a change to Harrier Turbo.

Either your story doesn't gel or you are making full use of your school holiday.

I was thinking that Harrier NA and civic turbo price diff not much leh.. i think harrier priced $5-7k higher than civic turbo..

Hi guys, hope to share & hear some opinions.

The Harrier(NA version from PI) was on my consider list when changing my ride last year. Always keen on a good SUV, but it was slightly off my budget then. So eventually brought the new Honda Civic 1.5T(driving for 8mths since). Good ride overall.

Now knowing BM bringing in the Turbo Harrier, I'm tempted to change & upgrade leh. Haha!!

Wonder if it's a good idea? I'm stuck!!

Is there anything you need from Harrier that the Civic can't? Financial lost for the trade in aside (I bet you must be prepared, maybe you tio 4D or win in recent stocks rally :p), the ride are very different for both.

IMO Civic is pretty good chiong car esp yours is turbo...cornering...pickup...overtaking....70% of the road car can smell your smoke....however if you switch to SUV....you will smell the smoke from 70% of the road car :p

Regardless of new TC Harrier or not, they are heavy, tall and big, immediately you can feel the sluggishness and it won't be as agile....parking will need extra care and also it tends to be noisier due to aero drag and more surface for noise to penetrate :p

But if I am in your shoe, hack care what other people say lah....it's my money and I will still plunge.....YOLO and the Harrier is super damn chio :lol:

Is there anything you need from Harrier that the Civic can't? Financial lost for the trade in aside (I bet you must be prepared, maybe you tio 4D or win in recent stocks rally :p), the ride are very different for both.

IMO Civic is pretty good chiong car esp yours is turbo...cornering...pickup...overtaking....70% of the road car can smell your smoke....however if you switch to SUV....you will smell the smoke from 70% of the road car :p

Regardless of new TC Harrier or not, they are heavy, tall and big, immediately you can feel the sluggishness and it won't be as agile....parking will need extra care and also it tends to be noisier due to aero drag and more surface for noise to penetrate :p

But if I am in your shoe, hack care what other people say lah....it's my money and I will still plunge.....YOLO and the Harrier is super damn chio :lol:

"IMO Civic is pretty good chiong car esp yours is turbo...cornering...pickup...overtaking....70% of the road car can smell your smoke....however if you switch to SUV....you will smell the smoke from 70% of the road car :p"

That is until 1.5T owners start smelling smoke from their prematurely worn down engine pistons and turbo units.  [;)] 

"IMO Civic is pretty good chiong car esp yours is turbo...cornering...pickup...overtaking....70% of the road car can smell your smoke....however if you switch to SUV....you will smell the smoke from 70% of the road car :p"

That is until 1.5T owners start smelling smoke from their prematurely worn down engine pistons and turbo units. [;)]

So bad for the Civic?

No matter how they tune, they cannot move the start of peak torque 1,650rpm earlier without adversely affecting the overall smoothness of the engine for daily commute. So I think the low end pick up will suffer from the same lag as the NX (or worse since it is potentially a heavier car with the new turbo setup and overall bigger footprint/sheet metal compared to the NX)

28f55dd010.jpg

dont mean to OT, but this graph almost represent general Sex drives of men and women

red - men

blue - women

below ,,20yrs, 30yrs, 40yrs, 50yrs ..60yrs old

peisei...... [lipsrsealed]

• Praise 21

:XD:

dont mean to OT, but this graph almost represent general Sex drives of men and women

red - men

blue - women

red - men

blue - women

this needs to be praised.

That is until 1.5T owners start smelling smoke from their prematurely worn down engine pistons and turbo units. [;)]

Classic example of plain stereotyping.

Drive turbo car means every day will whack the car ah?

Even for NA cars, you whack every day the engine will wear down too.

Classic example of plain stereotyping.

Drive turbo car means every day will whack the car ah?

Even for NA cars, you whack every day the engine will wear down too.

Not stereotyping...just plain old mechanics. Europeans have been placing small turbo units in smaller cc cars for much longer and the low trend for lack of durability is well established. These from established German and Swedish automakers such as Audi, VW and Volvo.

Comparatively speaking, this is still something relatively new to the Japs and owners should expect premature costs to hit them. These include: oil leaks from the TC and blown gaskets and pistons, i.e. serious longevity problems.

As for whacking, you don't have to whack. Just drive one on a daily basis and tell me you won't sink time and again for the pulling power of forced induction from traffic lights, passing slo-mo traffic, etc.  [;)]

The very thing owners hope to achieve from a TC charged car, i.e. fuel economy, will be the first thing that slips from their fingers. Next to follow suit, will be reliability. This is not a slight on owners of such cars - they should indeed enjoy it...while it lasts!

I speak from experience here.

Still... don't take my word for it. Just come back here in a couple years time to see if I'm right.  [wave]

P.S. By the way, the best small displacement engines to TC are not the puny petrol ones but rather the diesels. Petrol engines run hotter than diesels...and added with forced induction = more heat = laundry list of failures = escalating repair bills

Edited by 9xBrucie

Not stereotyping...just plain old mechanics. Europeans have been placing small turbo units in smaller cc cars for much longer and the low trend for lack of durability is well established. These from established German and Swedish automakers such as Audi, VW and Volvo.

Comparatively speaking, this is still something relatively new to the Japs and owners should expect premature costs to hit them. These include: oil leaks from the TC and blown gaskets and pistons, i.e. serious longevity problems.

As for whacking, you don't have to whack. Just drive one on a daily basis and tell me you won't sink time and again for the pulling power of forced induction from traffic lights, passing slo-mo traffic, etc. [;)]

The very thing owners hope to achieve from a TC charged car, i.e. fuel economy, will be the first thing that slips from their fingers. Next to follow suit, will be reliability. This is not a slight on owners of such cars - they should indeed enjoy it...while it lasts!

Still... don't take my word for it. Just come back here in a couple years time to see if I'm right. [wave]

P.S. By the way, the best small displacement engines to TC are not the puny petrol ones but rather the diesels. Petrol engines run hotter than diesels...and added with forced induction = more heat = laundry list of failures = escalating repair bills

Nowadays got warranty like 3 or 5 years , so it's not too bad

As for whacking, you don't have to whack. Just drive one on a daily basis and tell me you won't sink time and again for the pulling power of forced induction from traffic lights, passing slo-mo traffic, etc.  [;)]

It depends on individual.i prefer the pull of NA. somehow it feels more natural to hit high rpm. 

As for whacking, you don't have to whack. Just drive one on a daily basis and tell me you won't sink time and again for the pulling power of forced induction from traffic lights, passing slo-mo traffic, etc. [;)]

Still... don't take my word for it. Just come back here in a couple years time to see if I'm right. [wave]

Respectfully I do not agree with some of your points but it's ok because we all have our own views but thanks for this good write-up.

Not sure if already shared ...harrier turbo price from BM will be available on Thursday and test drive will be 1-2 weeks thereafter.

Cheers.

Edited by richard_crl032

Sounds bad......lucky I sold off my Subaru turbo before any of those things you mentioned happened. :D

Still... don't take my word for it. Just come back here in a couple years time to see if I'm right.  [wave]

Wish there were so many options when i was changing my car back in Jan '15 lol.

Harrier Turbo could have made me consider a SUV.

Well even now, i think I would be satisfied in a Jade RS lol.

Nowadays got warranty like 3 or 5 years , so it's not too bad

And like most things these days, expect the problems to occur just AFTER the warranty period expires!  [:p]