Feel bad for cutting queue - must apologize

Atrecord

On the road, if we are unfamiliar with the part of the road and misses

1) a queue for right/left turn, or

2) a queue for carpark entrance, or

3) a queue for expressway exit,

the decent thing to do is to go one round and come back to join the queue or take an exit further along. Nobody deserves to have their queue cut just because you are unfamiliar or blur. 

Those deliberate queue cutters deserve to have their engine bay exploding in a burst of flames  after surrounding cars and people has gotten out of the way.

Actually ok la.. Just wave before and after cutting in lor

I know of drivers who purposely want to "short cut" by cutting people's queue everyday without remorse.. damn them !  :a-shoot:

On 4/11/2016 at 1:59 AM, Tkseah said:

Actually u had a choice.. u could have made a loop back and join the queue..   

Agree… that was always a possibility but must admit i selfishly didn't consider it at the time with the whole family on tow…  :shy:

On 4/11/2016 at 2:05 AM, Alg said:

You can drop them off like me along braddell road coming from Thomson. There is an entrance to Pek Sang Teng there. Then you can slowly queue to enter the carpark or park opposite HDB.

Actually i go from the CTE direction, but good suggestion - thanks! This is actually workable. Could pick them up at the same place later when done too.

Will remember this in future, although i'm bent on avoiding peak period next time, so will not likely have to do that. 

On 4/11/2016 at 2:40 AM, Wyfitms said:

MCF becoming a confession booth? Radx next year just post your 6,666 sins here lah

LOL. seriously, if the queue cutter has the decency to at least wave an apology, i will just let them cut, give them the benefit of doubt they may be on urgent business

Actually i did wave leh...

On 4/11/2016 at 2:45 AM, Vratenza said:

If really sincere, take a picture of your rear of the car with licence plate uncensored and post it here.

Why?

Because that is how the people whom you offended directly will remember who you are when you cut in front of them after they lined up for hours. The rear of your car is how they best remembered you.

Cannot do this? Then this thread is worthless.

Can spare me this? I drove a blue wish on Sunday. But on weekdays, my wife drives it - don't want her to bear the brunt of my action leh.

Again, my apologies to all those whom i had inconvenienced.

On 4/11/2016 at 2:57 AM, Jellandross said:

I can see all the armchair critics rubbing their palms in glee ready to set you on fire liao. Never let a good apology goes unpunished. You've just served up some therapy for their Monday blues LOL.

Usually if ppl give an apologetic wave I'll just let them through. But I hate the whole Qing Ming gridlock nonetheless.

Thanks thanks, for being gracious.

I did wave apologetically to one driver who didn't want to let me cut in, and i waved for him to go ahead. It was the car behind me who cut in first, and then he let me in… I couldn't bring myself to squeeze in...

On 4/11/2016 at 3:10 AM, Ktglfc said:

Let's move on ... lesson learnt: don't go too near the blocked out dates ...

if can go on weekdays, also better ...

Tks...

Yes, confirm will steer clear of the '2 before +2 after' weeks in future. Too stressful.

Weekdays might be tough though. kids need to go school and we need to work. Only left parents available...

Anyone ever took the AYE to go 2nd Link experienced this?

You lined up for more than half an hour on the right most lane on the upslope portion of the flyover leading to the checkpoint. Most cars do it orderly. 

Since you are stuck in the jam with the cars hardly moving, you chatted with your car occupants and looked around.

Looked into your rear view mirror and sideview mirror, you noticed that suddenly from the rear of the long queue, some "hero" will sieve out to the left lane (going to the motorcycle lane at the fork further up).

This "hero" zoom pass your stationary car and up ahead at the fork, the drivers wind down their window and stick their all-mighty hands out to ask to be let into the car queue at the fork. Almost all of them their car already wing mirror to wing mirror to the car that they want to cut into. The cars in that position has no choice but to let these "hero"s cut in unless they want to have broken wing mirror.

80% I seen are MY plated. 20% SG plated monkey see monkey do ones.

Kee Chiu?!

On 4/11/2016 at 3:12 AM, Adrianli said:

Just wondering if the car behind you reported your queue cutting to TP and you receive a summon, will you feel you deserve it?

According to DIPS, http://driving-in-singapore.spf.gov.sg/services/driving_in_singapore/services/dips.html you can be charged with :

No.24 Forming up incorrectly when turning left or right

or

No.35 Careless driving

If really have to face the music, then there is no running away from it since it's really my fault.

On 4/11/2016 at 3:25 AM, Tianmo said:

Actual date for Qing Ming was 4 april 2016..............so the very weekend was last weekend.............during the "2+2" window period is where you can offer your praying within the whole month..........and if you dont do it within that window period..............when are you going to do it???................. [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

For my father side, we actually went i think 3-4 weeks ago already. The whole Peck San Teng was still quite quiet then. We always do that every year.

On 4/11/2016 at 3:29 AM, sonic_kp said:

Do you think abt other people in the car who might also have some elderly who have difficulties in walking? Other pp might have facing the same problem as you but they still have to queue. 

Remember to think how other feel before you act on it.

Yup, you're right… 

Fault was entirely mine - will make sure it doesn't happen again...

On 4/12/2016 at 6:36 AM, Vratenza said:

Anyone ever took the AYE to go 2nd Link experienced this?

You lined up for more than half an hour on the right most lane on the upslope portion of the flyover leading to the checkpoint. Most cars do it orderly. 

Since you are stuck in the jam with the cars hardly moving, you chatted with your car occupants and looked around.

Looked into your rear view mirror and sideview mirror, you noticed that suddenly from the rear of the long queue, some "hero" will sieve out to the left lane (going to the motorcycle lane at the fork further up).

This "hero" zoom pass your stationary car and up ahead at the fork, the drivers wind down their window and stick their all-mighty hands out to ask to be let into the car queue at the fork. Almost all of them their car already wing mirror to wing mirror to the car that they want to cut into. The cars in that position has no choice but to let these "hero"s cut in unless they want to have broken wing mirror.

80% I seen are MY plated. 20% SG plated monkey see monkey do ones.

Kee Chiu?!

:a-whiteflag:

  On 4/12/2016 at 6:48 AM, Atrecord said:

For my father side, we actually went i think 3-4 weeks ago already. The whole Peck San Teng was still quite quiet then. We always do that every year.

I think the best timing to go is late in the afternoon just before they close. I went there the Saturday one week before the actual day at around 4pm. They were preparing to close but still allow people in. Very empty also. Don't even have to give the $2 for parking as I think the volunteers have gone back already.

apology accepted but please don't do it again.

With some planning and sacrifices on your part, you can certainly find a better timing or manage this better. . Often most people only think of convenience for themselves but not others. We should think of others first, then only ourselves.

On 4/12/2016 at 8:12 AM, Nzy said:

I think the best timing to go is late in the afternoon just before they close. I went there the Saturday one week before the actual day at around 4pm. They were preparing to close but still allow people in. Very empty also. Don't even have to give the $2 for parking as I think the volunteers have gone back already.

Smart...

But just wondering, is there any custom or tradition that says should start early (even though I don't go all that early now, ever since kids came along years ago.

Any likelihood of something like the dead relatives waiting for 'food', so better not keep them waiting n hungry?

  On 4/15/2016 at 5:53 PM, Atrecord said:

Smart...

But just wondering, is there any custom or tradition that says should start early (even though I don't go all that early now, ever since kids came along years ago.

Any likelihood of something like the dead relatives waiting for 'food', so better not keep them waiting n hungry?

On 4/16/2016 at 1:32 AM, Nzy said:

Not sure about that. My parents feel its ok. But I have heard that some people say must go before our meal. Never say which meal. Lol.

Ha ha ha. .. good one. Can be supper

I hate people who cut queue. But I still give way. 

Yesterday there was this traffic jam in a carpark and I was coming out from my lot. This nice lady gave way to me which I waved hello & thanks and I did the same almost immediately to another gentlemen coming out from his lot ahead of me.

Doesn't cost me to lose anything.

Edited by Audi2016