Atrecord Supersonic April 11, 2016 Share April 11, 2016 Went for the annual Qing Ming session yesterday at Peck San Theng @ Bishan. In other years, we will avoid the 2 weeks before and 2 weeks after the actual day, to avoid the expected jam. This year, though, my uncle asked my mother to go yesterday (which I realized only when i asked being stuck in the jam, that it's the very weekend of Qing Ming) as my that works best for my cousins. Big mistake! I went via CTE side and missed the long queue which started before SPH, then had the bad experience of having to try to cut into the bumper-to-bumper queue of cars waiting to turn into Peck San Theng… Even before I reached there (to start to squeeze), at the traffic light, can hear got cars sounding (not sounded) their horns non-stop - an indication of the frustration of being obediently queueing but seeing other vehicles cutting in in front. The fact that the cars inside the single-lane road were crawling (as most cars will stop to allow passengers to alight somewhere inside, hence stopping traffic), doesn't help. 10+ years ago, when caught in such jams, I would let my folks alight on the main road, then I proceed to go to the HDB carpark opp RI to park and walk over, so as not to get caught in the unpleasant situation like yest. Now my folks are 79 and 82, and my mother had knee op on one leg last year, and is going for the other leg next month. She walks with a walking stick, very very slowly - but refuses to use wheelchair. Yest was to pray to her late parents and elders, and she insisted must go. Wouldn't have been able to make her walk the long distance from main road to go in... Really no choice but had to resort to squeezing in and cutting queue. Can feel the frustration and unhappiness of the other drivers. To them all, very sorry for the bad driving behavior. Apology... Already told my mum, next year if my cousins/uncle side said can only make it on the '2+2' peak weekends, then we split and go separately. Confirm don't want to do this again. ↡ Advertisement 12 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic April 11, 2016 Share April 11, 2016 Apology accepted. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkseah Supercharged April 11, 2016 Share April 11, 2016 Really no choice but had to resort to squeezing in and cutting queue. Actually u had a choice.. u could have made a loop back and join the queue.. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alg 5th Gear April 11, 2016 Share April 11, 2016 You can drop them off like me along braddell road coming from Thomson. There is an entrance to Pek Sang Teng there. Then you can slowly queue to enter the carpark or park opposite HDB. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged April 11, 2016 Share April 11, 2016 MCF becoming a confession booth? Radx next year just post your 6,666 sins here lah LOL. seriously, if the queue cutter has the decency to at least wave an apology, i will just let them cut, give them the benefit of doubt they may be on urgent business 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic April 11, 2016 Share April 11, 2016 If really sincere, take a picture of your rear of the car with licence plate uncensored and post it here. Why? Because that is how the people whom you offended directly will remember who you are when you cut in front of them after they lined up for hours. The rear of your car is how they best remembered you. Cannot do this? Then this thread is worthless. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic April 11, 2016 Share April 11, 2016 (edited) I can see all the armchair critics rubbing their palms in glee ready to set you on fire liao. Never let a good apology goes unpunished. You've just served up some therapy for their Monday blues LOL. Usually if ppl give an apologetic wave I'll just let them through. But I hate the whole Qing Ming gridlock nonetheless. Edited April 11, 2016 by Jellandross 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic April 11, 2016 Share April 11, 2016 Went for the annual Qing Ming session yesterday at Peck San Theng @ Bishan. In other years, we will avoid the 2 weeks before and 2 weeks after the actual day, to avoid the expected jam. This year, though, my uncle asked my mother to go yesterday (which I realized only when i asked being stuck in the jam, that it's the very weekend of Qing Ming) as my that works best for my cousins. Big mistake! I went via CTE side and missed the long queue which started before SPH, then had the bad experience of having to try to cut into the bumper-to-bumper queue of cars waiting to turn into Peck San Theng… Even before I reached there (to start to squeeze), at the traffic light, can hear got cars sounding (not sounded) their horns non-stop - an indication of the frustration of being obediently queueing but seeing other vehicles cutting in in front. The fact that the cars inside the single-lane road were crawling (as most cars will stop to allow passengers to alight somewhere inside, hence stopping traffic), doesn't help. 10+ years ago, when caught in such jams, I would let my folks alight on the main road, then I proceed to go to the HDB carpark opp RI to park and walk over, so as not to get caught in the unpleasant situation like yest. Now my folks are 79 and 82, and my mother had knee op on one leg last year, and is going for the other leg next month. She walks with a walking stick, very very slowly - but refuses to use wheelchair. Yest was to pray to her late parents and elders, and she insisted must go. Wouldn't have been able to make her walk the long distance from main road to go in... Really no choice but had to resort to squeezing in and cutting queue. Can feel the frustration and unhappiness of the other drivers. To them all, very sorry for the bad driving behavior. Apology... Already told my mum, next year if my cousins/uncle side said can only make it on the '2+2' peak weekends, then we split and go separately. Confirm don't want to do this again. Let's move on ... lesson learnt: don't go too near the blocked out dates ... if can go on weekdays, also better ... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic April 11, 2016 Share April 11, 2016 Just wondering if the car behind you reported your queue cutting to TP and you receive a summon, will you feel you deserve it? According to DIPS, http://driving-in-singapore.spf.gov.sg/services/driving_in_singapore/services/dips.html you can be charged with : No.24 Forming up incorrectly when turning left or right or No.35 Careless driving 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic April 11, 2016 Share April 11, 2016 Actual date for Qing Ming was 4 april 2016..............so the very weekend was last weekend.............during the "2+2" window period is where you can offer your praying within the whole month..........and if you dont do it within that window period..............when are you going to do it???................. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
sonic_kp 2nd Gear April 11, 2016 Share April 11, 2016 Went for the annual Qing Ming session yesterday at Peck San Theng @ Bishan. In other years, we will avoid the 2 weeks before and 2 weeks after the actual day, to avoid the expected jam. This year, though, my uncle asked my mother to go yesterday (which I realized only when i asked being stuck in the jam, that it's the very weekend of Qing Ming) as my that works best for my cousins. Big mistake! I went via CTE side and missed the long queue which started before SPH, then had the bad experience of having to try to cut into the bumper-to-bumper queue of cars waiting to turn into Peck San Theng… Even before I reached there (to start to squeeze), at the traffic light, can hear got cars sounding (not sounded) their horns non-stop - an indication of the frustration of being obediently queueing but seeing other vehicles cutting in in front. The fact that the cars inside the single-lane road were crawling (as most cars will stop to allow passengers to alight somewhere inside, hence stopping traffic), doesn't help. 10+ years ago, when caught in such jams, I would let my folks alight on the main road, then I proceed to go to the HDB carpark opp RI to park and walk over, so as not to get caught in the unpleasant situation like yest. Now my folks are 79 and 82, and my mother had knee op on one leg last year, and is going for the other leg next month. She walks with a walking stick, very very slowly - but refuses to use wheelchair. Yest was to pray to her late parents and elders, and she insisted must go. Wouldn't have been able to make her walk the long distance from main road to go in... Really no choice but had to resort to squeezing in and cutting queue. Can feel the frustration and unhappiness of the other drivers. To them all, very sorry for the bad driving behavior. Apology... Already told my mum, next year if my cousins/uncle side said can only make it on the '2+2' peak weekends, then we split and go separately. Confirm don't want to do this again. Do you think abt other people in the car who might also have some elderly who have difficulties in walking? Other pp might have facing the same problem as you but they still have to queue. Remember to think how other feel before you act on it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neost 6th Gear April 11, 2016 Share April 11, 2016 Many ways to resolve this annual affair 1. Maybe the place can open 24hrs during these period 2. Or 24hrs during Fri and Sat 3. Go early early. This year I reach Mandai around 7am. Although got a crowd but manageable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic April 11, 2016 Share April 11, 2016 I can see all the armchair critics rubbing their palms in glee ready to set you on fire liao. Never let a good apology goes unpunished. You've just served up some therapy for their Monday blues LOL. Usually if ppl give an apologetic wave I'll just let them through. But I hate the whole Qing Ming gridlock nonetheless. He said he feels bad about it right - so come here to let people scold and ridicule. After that, he won't feel bad anymore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic April 11, 2016 Share April 11, 2016 Apology accepted. So you the one with the long horn .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altis72 3rd Gear April 11, 2016 Share April 11, 2016 You can drop them off like me along braddell road coming from Thomson. There is an entrance to Pek Sang Teng there. Then you can slowly queue to enter the carpark or park opposite HDB. Actually I missed this side entrance this year as the area was all boarded up and the entrance was hidden. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic April 11, 2016 Share April 11, 2016 I never visit my grandma donno how many years liao :( Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soundphile 2nd Gear April 11, 2016 Share April 11, 2016 Actually u had a choice.. u could have made a loop back and join the queue..Yes u r right. Personally I have also missed entrances to building car parks many times due to the start of the queue being too far early and I had no idea that is the queue to the entrance, until I've reach the entrance. Had to made U-turn further ahead or park elsewhere n walk. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged April 11, 2016 Share April 11, 2016 I never visit my grandma donno how many years liao :( Huh!! . . . I don't even know where my grandparents "staying" at. Yes u r right. Personally I have also missed entrances to building car parks many times due to the start of the queue being too far early and I had no idea that is the queue to the entrance, until I've reach the entrance. Had to made U-turn further ahead or park elsewhere n walk. That's what happened on Sunday going down to Bright Hill . . . . missied the queue turning in and got chased away by Certis mata when I parked along the stretch outside. In the end parked about 4-500m away. Walked in with the usual big boxes of offerings only to find out I left the fruits in the boot. Walked back again and wah lao, damn tired!! Wanted to go on weekday but BIL keh kiang, insisted on going Sunday! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...