Kopites Supersonic April 9, 2016 Share April 9, 2016 Gotta look further la. I am expecting to see the 80 mark in my lifetime Don't kid yourselves. You aren't that young. Probably my son can withdraw 80. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic April 9, 2016 Share April 9, 2016 Don't kid yourselves. You aren't that young. Probably my son can withdraw 80. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic April 9, 2016 Share April 9, 2016 Should put at 69. More meaningful. All workers be full time office staff till 69 10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged April 9, 2016 Share April 9, 2016 If Mr. Lee can do it so Kuan Yew! how many 70-80yr old pple u know gets job offers easily now? lky did it coz he appointed himself the MM job n nobody dared to tell him to retire! 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic April 10, 2016 Share April 10, 2016 Kee Chiu! How many of you guys/gals bring family for 3-5 days beach resort vacation will see Ang Moh retirees, sipping pina coladas and reading a book by the poolside day in day out. According to some casual chats with the resort staffs, these people stay for weeks if not months at a stretch.... Honestly, how many of us here can afford to do the same when we retire and still have the health to travel? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 10, 2016 Share April 10, 2016 Kee Chiu! How many of you guys/gals bring family for 3-5 days beach resort vacation will see Ang Moh retirees, sipping pina coladas and reading a book by the poolside day in day out. According to some casual chats with the resort staffs, these people stay for weeks if not months at a stretch.... Honestly, how many of us here can afford to do the same when we retire and still have the health to travel? Some mcfer do it a few times a year, no need to wait till retire 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged April 10, 2016 Share April 10, 2016 Kee Chiu! How many of you guys/gals bring family for 3-5 days beach resort vacation will see Ang Moh retirees, sipping pina coladas and reading a book by the poolside day in day out. According to some casual chats with the resort staffs, these people stay for weeks if not months at a stretch.... Honestly, how many of us here can afford to do the same when we retire and still have the health to travel? aside from early financial planning, the best investment is regular exercise. No point havings lots of $ but not able to enjoy it later on. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Doppel Turbocharged April 10, 2016 Share April 10, 2016 (edited) If we do not have enough savings, then no choice but to continue to work ... whether retirement age comes or not ... Its a foregone conclusion that the withdrawal age will increase... just wondering when its the ultimate age ... Don't look at cpf as the main source of income... rather its emergency funds when we die ... Better save while we can ... The 'alternate' acronym to CPF is really appropriate: Cash prior To Funeral. Sorry, nowadays cannot even get cash: must buy CPF Life. Edited April 10, 2016 by Doppel 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged April 10, 2016 Share April 10, 2016 aside from early financial planning, the best investment is regular exercise. No point havings lots of $ but not able to enjoy it later on. Best advice. Problem is, most make the $ not to enjoy but to pass it down. Then it is their kids who enjoy. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic April 10, 2016 Share April 10, 2016 (edited) now can get loan until 67 ... yippee i hope govt increase retirement age to 100 ... huat ah! Edited April 10, 2016 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gitanic 6th Gear April 10, 2016 Share April 10, 2016 now we already have targeted therapy for cancers. wait till we have complete cure for cancers 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged April 10, 2016 Share April 10, 2016 Actually I don't quite like the fact that we use a longer statistical age in the modern times to justify longer retirement age. Perhaps it is true that people live longer now, but the question is the "extended life" here capable of working? Let's say last time most people only lived till 75 and today they lived till 90. But if that extended 15 years is mostly having health issues or mental issues, then this group of people is still not capable of working and are just using technology and $$$ to keep him/her alive longer. To me, too shallow a justification to use statistical age to determine retirement age 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic April 10, 2016 Share April 10, 2016 (edited) Long time no seeerrr....not many here have seen me....hahaha! But ya.....i still lurk around watching and reading the peeps here maciam jaws! how many 70-80yr old pple u know gets job offers easily now? lky did it coz he appointed himself the MM job n nobody dared to tell him to retire! bro...that sentence can be rubbed as a sarcasm or a praise depends on which camp you are on...hehe Edited April 10, 2016 by Eviilusion 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged April 10, 2016 Share April 10, 2016 Can anyone explain the significant for this? Does this means you will not be retrenched before 67? People are being asked to go even before 50. You also done enjoy any retirement benefits. So in Singapore, there is.no retirement age. If financially you are OK, you can retire anytime. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic April 10, 2016 Share April 10, 2016 Can anyone explain the significant for this? Does this means you will not be retrenched before 67? People are being asked to go even before 50. You also done enjoy any retirement benefits. So in Singapore, there is.no retirement age. If financially you are OK, you can retire anytime. Mainly CPF Retirement Sum withdrawal related. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Uncle2 Hypersonic April 10, 2016 Share April 10, 2016 To my understanding, retirement age still 62 and re-employment 65. You retire at 62 and re-employ till 65. Till 62 permanent staff after that contract staff. Terms will nego and benefits cut. My turn approaching.... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 10, 2016 Share April 10, 2016 Can anyone explain the significant for this? Does this means you will not be retrenched before 67? People are being asked to go even before 50. You also done enjoy any retirement benefits. So in Singapore, there is.no retirement age. If financially you are OK, you can retire anytime. If you are finicually ok, no need to wait till that age and can still have money to live comfortably. If you financially not ok, after that age you will still need to carry on working. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic April 10, 2016 Share April 10, 2016 http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/re-employment-age-raised/2678966.html Dear bros, Do you think that the government will raise the age that you can start withdrawing from the CPF Retirement Account from the current 65 to 67 in 2017? I invited a VIP to sing for you ↡ Advertisement 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...