inlinesix Hypersonic April 28, 2016 Share April 28, 2016 orh, haha ok not my taichi. except please don't add more speeding cameras.With cellular ERP, still need speeding camera meh? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged April 28, 2016 Share April 28, 2016 easy, just get the malls to do a "park for free if you spend $500 with us" sales increase, wife happy, husband no need to be heart pain. You no heart pain? ... every time wife says she wants to go Orchard shopping. .... confirm $500 gone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darky8888 4th Gear April 28, 2016 Share April 28, 2016 easy, just get the malls to do a "park for free if you spend $500 with us" sales increase, wife happy, husband no need to be heart pain. husband will still heart pain lah... $500 can buy many cans of milk powder leh... LOL i do feel the pain when they introduce more regulation as i have a young family (youngest child 19mths) i do foresee myself carrying her and hop onto a cram MRT with stroller, nanny bag and a small school bag... MRT better not suffer downtime if i am in this situation, else it would be a end of day for me... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 28, 2016 Share April 28, 2016 seriously, this will discourage people going into malls for shopping or worst case see a drop in consumer spending in retail sector... more will go to online shopping and have the items be delivered right to their door steps... more traffic chaos at orchard rd and CDB due to people will just drop off their wives to do the shopping and circle around the area when its time to pick them up from malls. Resulting more cars on the road circling and road hoggers drive slow or illegally stop at the road side to wait for their family to finish their shopping list.... years back we do not have that many options to choose so LL have to absorb all these nonsense.. but now we can go online shopping or drive up north to enjoy "reasonable" price parking/food/shopping and etc... just my 2 cents... Agreed. if orchard road parking is prohibitive, simply i won't end up at orchard road. Nowadays too many options. Online shopping is also making inroads to all types of retail spending. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 28, 2016 Share April 28, 2016 husband will still heart pain lah... $500 can buy many cans of milk powder leh... LOL i do feel the pain when they introduce more regulation as i have a young family (youngest child 19mths) i do foresee myself carrying her and hop onto a cram MRT with stroller, nanny bag and a small school bag... MRT better not suffer downtime if i am in this situation, else it would be a end of day for me... They will introduce more regulation to go car lite. Better learn to adapt. Whine also no use. Agreed. if orchard road parking is prohibitive, simply i won't end up at orchard road. Nowadays too many options. Online shopping is also making inroads to all types of retail spending. A lot of landlord don't/refuse to realize that online shopping is slowly changing retail landscape. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 28, 2016 Share April 28, 2016 husband will still heart pain lah... $500 can buy many cans of milk powder leh... LOL i do feel the pain when they introduce more regulation as i have a young family (youngest child 19mths) i do foresee myself carrying her and hop onto a cram MRT with stroller, nanny bag and a small school bag... MRT better not suffer downtime if i am in this situation, else it would be a end of day for me... when people say they are afraid to try usually have not done it before and Base on imagination, every morning or evening I still see parent doing that, some foreigner (ang mo or japanese) can even handle 2-3 kids on her own. I stop using stroller once the kids can walk on their own. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ins1dious Turbocharged April 28, 2016 Share April 28, 2016 There's another article about downsizing carparks at cbd and make more efficient use of space So weird, aren't the mall tenants complaining there is no crowd. Would a customer of a mall go to level 6 carpark to visit a shop? It will smell of fumes Malls are suffering... but that's more due to over-capacity. And with REITs, some of the managers are more interested in the short term distribution of the collected lease. High rental, cost of operation, sheer number of same/similar/boring brands all plays a part in this sad story. Having more parking or less won't change how some of these malls are performing. We are just not price competitive vs other countries or vs online sales. Take sale of CDs for example... I have over a 100 CDs collected over the years... bought for 8-12$ each. I've bought another 50 or so iTunes albums online at about 4$ each. It wasn't just convenient to buy, but was also convenient to consume... didn't have to rip and burn, etc. Now, you can get a family Music account for 6 people for 14$ a month, unlimited music/genre/artist. That's just crazy... I don't even have a CD player at home anymore 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 28, 2016 Share April 28, 2016 when people say they are afraid to try usually have not done it before and Base on imagination, every morning or evening I still see parent doing that, some foreigner (ang mo or japanese) can even handle 2-3 kids on her own. I stop using stroller once the kids can walk on their own. Nowadays stroller is the new trolley. Singaporean are pamper & spoilt parents. Everywhere also got escalator. HK, Tokyo & Seoul MRT station everywhere also staircase Malls are suffering... but that's more due to over-capacity. And with REITs, some of the managers are more interested in the short term distribution of the collected lease. High rental, cost of operation, sheer number of same/similar/boring brands all plays a part in this sad story. Having more parking or less won't change how some of these malls are performing. We are just not price competitive vs other countries or vs online sales. Take sale of CDs for example... I have over a 100 CDs collected over the years... bought for 8-12$ each. I've bought another 50 or so iTunes albums online at about 4$ each. It wasn't just convenient to buy, but was also convenient to consume... didn't have to rip and burn, etc. Now, you can get a family Music account for 6 people for 14$ a month, unlimited music/genre/artist. That's just crazy... I don't even have a CD player at home anymore Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ins1dious Turbocharged April 28, 2016 Share April 28, 2016 Nowadays stroller is the new trolley. Singaporean are pamper & spoilt parents. Everywhere also got escalator. HK, Tokyo & Seoul MRT station everywhere also staircase I still buy CD from either Amazon or Yesasia. I like lossless music Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Still2016 Twincharged April 28, 2016 Share April 28, 2016 With cellular ERP, still need speeding camera meh?The answer is still yes.just in case superman drives in a lead shielded car camera will detect if he speed no escape this is call redundancy back up Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 28, 2016 Share April 28, 2016 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
7hm Turbocharged April 28, 2016 Share April 28, 2016 I got charged $10+ for parking in Marina Square during IT show, that's normal right? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic April 28, 2016 Share April 28, 2016 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic April 28, 2016 Share April 28, 2016 orh, haha ok not my taichi. except please don't add more speeding cameras. You realize that GPS can measure and record your speed to a certain accuracy right? They just need to program the system to automatically issue traffic summon to you once you exceed that certain +-. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 28, 2016 Share April 28, 2016 You realize that GPS can measure and record your speed to a certain accuracy right? They just need to program the system to automatically issue traffic summon to you once you exceed that certain +-. of course. It's just whether they want to. when people say they are afraid to try usually have not done it before and Base on imagination, every morning or evening I still see parent doing that, some foreigner (ang mo or japanese) can even handle 2-3 kids on her own. I stop using stroller once the kids can walk on their own. the stroller is for me lah. Put bags, groceries sibei good. Can't leave home without it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic April 28, 2016 Share April 28, 2016 of course. It's just whether they want to. the stroller is for me lah. Put bags, groceries sibei good. Can't leave home without it my kids primary 6 liao I still use stroller :XD: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KumarB 3rd Gear April 28, 2016 Share April 28, 2016 (edited) $400 for hdb season parking,people will support it if the parking lot can be treated like property and sold it off to another buyer. but...who wants to buy? cars are not cheap here compared to likes of HK where parking lots are categorized under properties which can be sold at profit. the cars are cheap there that's why the demand for parking lots is high and many are on waiting list and the lots value ranged at 5 digits to 6 digits SGD depending on location. this ST writers shouldn't put $400..instead they should just write $4,000.bunch of dimwits. Edited April 28, 2016 by KumarB Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
G1234 3rd Gear April 28, 2016 Share April 28, 2016 husband will still heart pain lah... $500 can buy many cans of milk powder leh... LOL i do feel the pain when they introduce more regulation as i have a young family (youngest child 19mths) i do foresee myself carrying her and hop onto a cram MRT with stroller, nanny bag and a small school bag... MRT better not suffer downtime if i am in this situation, else it would be a end of day for me... I did, and pretty used to it. I got many stares when I brought my double stroller inside the MRT. Some even grumbled, why the h*ll bring stroller inside MRT (that they have less space to stand). I didn't really go anywhere when kids were smaller. Thanks god no more stroller now. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...