2017 Tesla Model 3, 2024 Facelift

Carbon82

There are more than a *few* reasons for the 3/4 tank rule...

There's only 1 reason la.

$$$$$

You have a point on high tech but don't forget cars have to be reliable as well.

So quite tough on car manufacturers wanting to keep up with technology and at the same time keep cars reliable.

Classic examples today are Jap cars vs conti cars with advanced technology like BMW. There are quite a substantial amount of local buyers who rate reliability over technology and prefer BNB Toyotas vs "less reliable but high technology" contis due to the vast amount of electronics and sensors used cos as we all know more electronics will likely mean more faults which the plain Jane Japs will unlikely suffer so till higher reliability scores are achieved, not all car buyers may be convinced with higher tech I'm afraid.

I agree fully that tech should not come with unreliability. That's why I say the current car manufacturers are still behind in terms of tech especially in IT. I have no experience with Carplay or Android Auto but if both are found to be rather problem free and just works. Why does it take the automakers so long to do it? Most of them are trying to create proprietary systems but just cannot integrate well with our smartphone OS. If they cannot get the hang of IT faster than Google/Apple can get the hang of the mechanics of a car, then I am afraid it is not too long before Google/Apple replaces them as automakers.

You will need this in Singapore. Don't throw it away when you MR hor....

ET+stick.jpg

Happy digging for the power line!

:grin:

If you are innovative and daring enuf, can DIY directly from a overhead power line.

Like this Model-S owner from Shanghai who drove all the way to Chengdu (over 2000km road trip) -  without a single Tesla supercharger station along the way.

Desperate time means desperate measure...

Hi Ma, I am now mid way somewhere near some forsaken town which Elon has forget...

One-driver-shows-how-you-can-illegally-c

Hi Ma, took me a while to climb up this pole and connect up with my DIY charger circuit....

...but worth every effort.... [:p]

https://www.techinasia.com/illegally-charge-tesla-china

Edited by Vratenza

You forgot another entry:

Grand Total (after rebate) = $135,744.87 + $2000,000.00 (Ang Moh Chu with parking space for 1 Tesla Model 3)

I calculated the price of Tesla Model 3 based on its starting price of US$35K. Below is the breakdown.

Pricing does not include freight charges (if any). 

Let me know what you think? (Sorry if alignment is out)

• Tesla Model 3 in SGD (Base Price US$35K)            $47,274.50
  • Registration Fee                                                  $140.00
  • Additional Registration Fee (ARF) - 1st 20K            $20,000.00
  • ARF - next 30K (Actual-27275.50 x 140%)             $38,184.30
  • COE (Cat B based on last exercise)                       $46,502.00
  • Excise Duty (20% of OMV, when OMV=47274.50)  $9,454.90
  • Road Tax (see Notes below)                                 $4,189.17
  • CEVS rebate (see Notes below)                           -$30,000.00
Grand Total (after rebate) = $135,744.87

Road Tax Notes - No kW info on M3 yet, so will base calc on P90D Model S, which is 397kW. The kW for Model 3 will obviously be lower, depending on the product range you select.

CEVS Rebate - no rating for M3 yet, but based on Model S, it's 90 CO2 g/km, which falls under  A1 band. Thus $SGD30K rebate. Source: http://electrek.co/2016/03/10/tesla-model-s-singapore-emissions/

Tesla already stated Singapore is one of the new countries where Model 3 will be officially launched. In addition, you can place advanced order for Model 3 with the registration options allowing you to select SG. This likely means as a buyer, you most likely don't need to go through the hassles of self-importation and getting LTA approval as these would have been done in advance for you. It's basically the same as purchasing a car from an AD like Borneo Motors for Toyota, etc.

I agree fully that tech should not come with unreliability. That's why I say the current car manufacturers are still behind in terms of tech especially in IT. I have no experience with Carplay or Android Auto but if both are found to be rather problem free and just works. Why does it take the automakers so long to do it? Most of them are trying to create proprietary systems but just cannot integrate well with our smartphone OS. If they cannot get the hang of IT faster than Google/Apple can get the hang of the mechanics of a car, then I am afraid it is not too long before Google/Apple replaces them as automakers.

Fair points bro!

Guess like what you say they want to get proprietary systems but IMO leave the tech guys to focus on technology whilst they focus on cars and do a tie-up. I was told BMW has tied up with Samsung recently?

Anyway, I doubt if Apple or Google will end up as a car manufacturer though stranger things have happened lol!

Fair points bro!

Guess like what you say they want to get proprietary systems but IMO leave the tech guys to focus on technology whilst they focus on cars and do a tie-up. I was told BMW has tied up with Samsung recently?

Anyway, I doubt if Apple or Google will end up as a car manufacturer though stranger things have happened lol!

strangest is that you bought a BMW....scary :grin:  :grin:  :grin:

Hi guys,

Supposed you own / staying in a landed house in SG and will like to install solar panels to generate electricity to power your Model 3.

Does anyone here knows what is the cost of setting up these solar panels and how big is the surface that we need ? ie eg, 5x1 meter area? or 5m x 2m area? on the roof or open surface - garden

will that be sufficient to power / charge Model 3 at night if we have roughly 70% sunlight exposure during day time. (8am till 5pm)

what is the efficiency of solar panels now?

Please share any SG articles / information - or comments , esp if you own solar panels in a SG house.

Will be extremely useful for future Tesla 3 buyers

Cheers!

You forgot another entry:

Grand Total (after rebate) = $135,744.87 + $2000,000.00 (Ang Moh Chu with parking space for 1 Tesla Model 3)

LOL. Not necessarily la... even if there are no Superchargers installed here in SG, and you can't get permits to install a charger in your HDB parking lot, you can always charge at multiple EV third party charging locations around SG, like the Bosch eMobility Services I mentioned in my previous post @ $180/mth, it's still cheaper than petrol on a month to month comparison.

Hi guys,

Supposed you own / staying in a landed house in SG and will like to install solar panels to generate electricity to power your Model 3.

Does anyone here knows what is the cost of setting up these solar panels and how big is the surface that we need ? ie eg, 5x1 meter area? or 5m x 2m area? on the roof or open surface - garden

will that be sufficient to power / charge Model 3 at night if we have roughly 70% sunlight exposure during day time. (8am till 5pm)

what is the efficiency of solar panels now?

Please share any SG articles / information - or comments , esp if you own solar panels in a SG house.

Will be extremely useful for future Tesla 3 buyers

Cheers!

Sorry ah, don't mean to be rude or antagonistic, 

But this is a pretty dumb question. 

I have no idea on the installation of solar panels, the cost or the return. 

HOWEVER - whatever it is, installation is fully independent of what you are using the power generated for.  If it is a logical decision to install solar panels it doesn't matter what you use the power for - whether it be recharging your Tesla, powering your aircon or running the hamsters that look for your porn makes no difference. 

The one thing I will say - if you are installing solar to charge your car overnight, remember there is no sun at night - so that means also installing batteries.  I would think that the very first thing would be solar to heat water for use later in the day, then after that see what else it can be used for.  And also - if you live in a landed house - there are lots of aircon systems that offer heat recovery to warm up water - in itself this is a great energy saving way to go about things. 

Just checked it out - things are a bit hard to decipher on the Tesla website, but it seems that with the appropriate wiring at home and a "dual charger" (which is an additional accessory) you can expect to charge at 29 miles (45 km) per hour of charge. 

For 40 miles (64 km) of range it would cost $2.24 (at 18 cents per kWh - fractionally more than our current rate). 

This amounts to 3.5 cents per km. or in terms of petrol cost - you are talking 51 km/litre (based on pricing of $1.80 for Caltex Techron 95). 

As a means of comparison - the BMW M3 Sedan gets 12km/litre

Edit to add - at 20,000 km a year, the Tesla Model 3 would cost $700 in electrons
A BMW M3 would cost $3,000  (at 12 km/l * $1.80) 

Edited by Darryn

i konfirm chop sign buying the Tesla Model 3 [bounce2]  .... after all I am staying in the house next to Plaza Singapura [:p]  

As a means of comparison - the BMW M3 Sedan gets 12km/litre

i confirm u m3 sedan gets about half that in reality :D

Well of course of you like to vroom vroom and zoom zoom everywhere...

I remember once driving my Sillycar I got 5km/litre over a 100km distance - for a 2000 cc car...

Fair points bro!

Guess like what you say they want to get proprietary systems but IMO leave the tech guys to focus on technology whilst they focus on cars and do a tie-up. I was told BMW has tied up with Samsung recently?

Yes. Software ppl shd stick to software while hardware ppl sticks to hardware. The prob is Hardware ppl insists on doing software and sucks at it. Google already has driverless cars on the road so I won't be surprised if they decide to be a car manufacturer in the near future. These tech giants are so profitable, they can easily gobble up a car manufacturer and get a foothold instantaneously.

The model 3 numbers are great at 35k price. Other ec makers really need to step up now.

Well of course of you like to vroom vroom and zoom zoom everywhere...

I remember once driving my Sillycar I got 5km/litre over a 100km distance - for a 2000 cc car...

then buy spork car to drive slow ah? :D

of cse must wack mah

then buy spork car to drive slow ah? :D

of cse must wack mah

Too true...

And just something for the car fans out there...

Anyone remember the really hot Trans Am from Smokey and the bandit? 

The 1977 Original produced 180 odd horsepower - well now there's been a new one released - signed by Burt himself - any guesses at the power output? Yep - 840 horses - or roughly FIVE times the original... 

Cars are scary vroom vroomable nowsadays