Tayspiderx 3rd Gear April 5, 2016 Share April 5, 2016 For new cars, the CO2 emissions are based on requisite test reports from the manufacturers. This cow better not prata his words. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tayspiderx 3rd Gear April 5, 2016 Share April 5, 2016 KBW flawed explanation really proved a point. ownself check ownself. seriously...... PAP where got wrong one. At least this time no Zhu Yingtai story Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic April 5, 2016 Share April 5, 2016 true... but assuming if Tesla allows reservations from SG, it's safe to say they will be arranging with the vehicle import and stuff... We can let Tesla handle it with SG authorities.. It's not clear at this stage if the cost quoted on Tesla's site at the point of vehicle customization includes additional tax and charges like ARF, Excise Duty, etc.. But it wouldn't make sense for Tesla to expect buyers to separately pay/handle the additional SG charges on their own - that would piss potential buyers off... I dont think Tesla will ship it to Singapore..... usually its ex-works or maybe from the yard there.... you have to arrange with a Freight forwarder to ship it here in a full container and again the Agent in Singapore will take over and charge you for release of the car from their local warehouse here after doing all the necessary GST/ Duties/Taxes and Crap is paid and IU installed ; Just make sure if you book its a right hand drive one..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ValdricLim 1st Gear April 5, 2016 Share April 5, 2016 Hello all, Great Tesla discussion here! Just thought I let you know that Joe Nguyen (the SG Model S owner) has created a Facebook group to connect us all, and I am one of the admins of the group. We have more than 20 confirmed members of the group that have placed our pre-order deposits for the Model 3. Our group is called "Tesla Enthusiasts SG", and we welcome all here to join our group and discussion! Thanks and have a great day! 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged April 5, 2016 Share April 5, 2016 Hello all, Great Tesla discussion here! Just thought I let you know that Joe Nguyen (the SG Model S owner) has created a Facebook group to connect us all, and I am one of the admins of the group. We have more than 20 confirmed members of the group that have placed our pre-order deposits for the Model 3. Our group is called "Tesla Enthusiasts SG", and we welcome all here to join our group and discussion! Thanks and have a great day! good luck bro coz by time it comes here, probably 2018 liao lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged April 5, 2016 Share April 5, 2016 http://www.wsj.com/articles/huge-backlog-leaves-tesla-little-time-to-ramp-up-model-3-production-1459543280 "Barclays auto analyst Brian Johnson on Friday said the new sedan’s ramp could also prove tedious and costly. He doesn’t expect full production of the Model 3 until 2019" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
weak_pig 1st Gear April 5, 2016 Share April 5, 2016 (edited) http://www.wsj.com/articles/huge-backlog-leaves-tesla-little-time-to-ramp-up-model-3-production-1459543280 "Barclays auto analyst Brian Johnson on Friday said the new sedan’s ramp could also prove tedious and costly. He doesn’t expect full production of the Model 3 until 2019" it's quite possible production may get delayed til 2020. Just look at Tesla's past history: Model S and X, prototype launch date until first production, on average wait is about 3-4 yrs. BTW, can't read your article. No WSJ account. Can copy paste here? Edited April 5, 2016 by weak_pig Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged April 5, 2016 Share April 5, 2016 it's quite possible production may get delayed til 2020. Just look at Tesla's past history: Model S and X, prototype launch date until first production, on average wait is about 3-4 yrs. BTW, can't read your article. No WSJ account. Can copy paste here? As electric car maker Tesla Motors Inc. was preparing in 2008 to sell its first product, staffers offered test drives of its Roadster prototype with a glaring problem: the speedometer didn’t work. Operating on a shoestring from a small workshop in northern California at the time, the startup was racing to prove electric cars could be cool even if they had glitches. Today, the company has made more than 110,000 vehicles, and its pricey Model S sedan and Model X sport-utility vehicle are hailed as legitimate contenders to German performance cars. The unveiling this week of its Model 3, its most affordable car to date, represents the capstone of Tesla Chief Executive Elon Musk’s “secret master plan” to popularize vehicles with no tailpipe emissions. The Model 3 promises a sedan capable of seating five and going 215 miles on a charge—all at a starting price of $35,000. Mr. Musk on Friday tweeted that deposits for 180,000 of the vehicles had been amassed in 24 hours since its release. He said the Model 3 generated a $7.5 billion backlog in a day, calculating the average selling price at $42,000. The enormous interest in a car that won’t ship for at least 18 months, however, presents a difficult challenge for the Palo Alto, Calif., auto maker. Mr. Musk has just 20 months to ramp up production amid continuing quarterly losses and hefty cash outflows. Even as he and other executives celebrated the latest unveiling with hundreds of cheering fans and Tesla owners at a hanger near Los Angeles, he reiterated a promise to achieve 500,000 total annual sales by 2020, up from about 50,000 last year. That is a very ambitious timetable for any auto maker. During a test drive Thursday, Tesla Vice President Doug Field floored a preproduction version of the Model 3, pinning occupants to their seat backs as he demonstrated acceleration billed to go from standstill to 60 miles an hour in less than six seconds. A panoramic roof, large telematics touch screen and futuristic steering wheel and door handles distinguish its interior. The reservations and the extraordinary initial enthusiasm for the Model 3 contrasts lackluster interest in rival electric and hybrid cars now struggling for sales amid low gasoline prices. General Motors Co. will begin selling a Chevrolet Bolt electric small car later this year with some characteristics similar to the Model 3, but the Detroit auto giant doesn’t have a waiting list. On Friday, Tesla investors responded favorably, sending the stock up 3.4% to $237.59 Its current $31.77 billion market value is closing in on GM’s $47.85 billion despite selling fewer cars in a year than the Detroit auto giant sells in two weeks. Delivering desirable cars is only part of the equation. Tesla’s sources of cash include selling regulatory credits, battery packs, financing packages and repair services. By early Friday, the company had added $180 million from new deposits, less than 10% of the company’s expected annual operating expense. But Tesla is spending big as it expands an assembly plant in California and opens a battery factory in Nevada. It plans to spend $1.5 billion in capital expenditures this year, or 20% more than its cash on hand, and expects operating expenses will grow 20%. The company recently installed a new paint shop and stamping lines at a factory it bought from GM and Toyota last decade. More improvements are planned to make way for the Model 3’s production. And Tesla has struggled to meet past commitments on the Model X, a sport-utility vehicle that went on sale last fall. Design glitches, such as complex seats and falcon-wing doors, slowed its production launch and dented the company’s bottom line. “It’s a big challenge to ramp up from 50,000 to 500,000,” AlixPartners LLP’s auto consultantMark Wakefield said. Even with those challenges Mr. Wakefield reserved a Model 3 within the first 24 hours, has ordered a Model X and owns a Model S.Barclays auto analyst Brian Johnson on Friday said the new sedan’s ramp could also prove tedious and costly. He doesn’t expect full production of the Model 3 until 2019, and wouldn’t be surprised if Tesla raised cash in the near-term despite the company’s guidance that it has enough money. Mr. Wakefield said a substantial chunk of those wanting to buy the Model 3 will be patient because Tesla owners are still more interested in being first adopters than immediately filling a slot in their garage. Mr. Musk isn't ignoring the potential hurdles. In his speech, he laughed about the company’s proposed timetable for Model 3 deliveries, adding “I do feel fairly confident it will be next year.” As Tesla’s buyers wait, more rivals will come into view. In addition to the Chevrolet Bolt, luxury car maker Audi AG is preparing to sell an electric SUV and startups, such as California’s Faraday Future, have big-spending Chinese backers eager to crack the global electric-vehicle market. “Tesla has a lot going for it despite these teething problems,” Mr. Wakefield said. Swimming against the tide is core to the company’s business model. that before going through the prior steps,” he said. Write to John D. Stoll at [email protected] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear April 5, 2016 Share April 5, 2016 Hello all, Great Tesla discussion here! Just thought I let you know that Joe Nguyen (the SG Model S owner) has created a Facebook group to connect us all, and I am one of the admins of the group. We have more than 20 confirmed members of the group that have placed our pre-order deposits for the Model 3. Our group is called "Tesla Enthusiasts SG", and we welcome all here to join our group and discussion! Thanks and have a great day! Welcome! And please keep this Thread active by sharing your members (painful ?) journey towards 100kph in sub-4-sec on zero-emission! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear April 5, 2016 Share April 5, 2016 KBW flawed explanation really proved a point. ownself check ownself. seriously...... What's new - when comes to Singapore, everything we have to be the 1st or the No.1. UN body on Tesla: Singapore likely to be only nation factoring carbon emission from grid for EVs http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/un-body-on-tesla/2589878.html The LTA appears to have applied the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE) R101 correctly when assessing the carbon emission of a used Tesla Model S recently, said Mr Jean Rodriguez, Chief of the Information Unit at UNECE. However, LTA also appears to be the only national regulator to have included power grid emission into the evaluation of electric vehicles’ (EVs) carbon footprint, he added. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic April 5, 2016 Share April 5, 2016 don't play play ... sekali kena slapped carbon tax on charging iPhone in the name of "reducing carbon footprint" then you know What's new - when comes to Singapore, everything we have to be the 1st or the No.1. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ValdricLim 1st Gear April 5, 2016 Share April 5, 2016 Welcome! And please keep this Thread active by sharing your members (painful ?) journey towards 100kph in sub-4-sec on zero-emission! Yes I will do my best, but I prefer for much of this discussion to be in our Facebook group as Joe is also active there rather than here. And he of all people in Singapore can answer your questions better than anyone else in Singapore currently. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear April 6, 2016 Share April 6, 2016 don't play play ... sekali kena slapped carbon tax on charging iPhone in the name of "reducing carbon footprint" then you know haha....Just think about this - Getting carbon-taxed for charging your smart phones !!! This epitomised the self-indulged Pay-And-Pay Singapore Inc ideology while making a mockery of our highly paid ministers and policy-makers.I thought COE is one of the greatest ROI contribution to gov coffer. Yet, over 3 decades later, this CO2 tax on EV really top the game of creative revenue scheme. MF...他妈的... Enuf of rant, back to the Topic. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
weak_pig 1st Gear April 6, 2016 Share April 6, 2016 For those who place a deposit - would you still go ahead to buy Model 3 if COE price increased to 60-90K during the time when M3 is released? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged April 6, 2016 Share April 6, 2016 haha....Just think about this - Getting carbon-taxed for charging your smart phones !!! This epitomised the self-indulged Pay-And-Pay Singapore Inc ideology while making a mockery of our highly paid ministers and policy-makers.I thought COE is one of the greatest ROI contribution to gov coffer. Yet, over 3 decades later, this CO2 tax on EV really top the game of creative revenue scheme. MF...他妈的... Enuf of rant, back to the Topic. ARF then GST then COE then road tax then carbon tax! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic April 6, 2016 Share April 6, 2016 (edited) then you drive out .... you hear beep beep beep alamak must also pay ERP everyday to drive to work and home ... sibei shiok ar! a-ber-then !!! ARF then GST then COE then road tax then carbon tax! Edited April 6, 2016 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic April 6, 2016 Share April 6, 2016 might as well penalise all office and home for turning on the air con that contributed carbon emission.....pui, double pui. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic April 6, 2016 Share April 6, 2016 (edited) no tailpipe emission does not mean no carbon tax wor it's as good as saying charging iphone with electricity the contributed carbon is not carbon ... invisible one charging car with electricity the carbon sibei tok kong ... must pay $15k charging mobile scooter and electric bike ... open 1 eye close 1 eye ... the carbon is now you see now you don't when want to charge ... the carbon is expensive might as well penalise all office and home for turning on the air con that contributed carbon emission.....pui, double pui. Edited April 6, 2016 by Wt_know ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...