Cable Neutral Newbie April 3, 2016 Share April 3, 2016 From on the calculator: Drive: 40miles/64km drive per day (17.7kWh) Charging time based on 110V/12A: 12:16hr Assuming the charger is suited to SG SG power supply: 230V/13A/1ph Charging time based on 230V/12A: ~6:08hr 415V/3ph charging would be even shorter. Interesting.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wira 1st Gear April 3, 2016 Share April 3, 2016 Put in USD1000 liao. Waiting for durian to drop. So long we have at least 1 charger in the central here. I am set! Charge once forth nightly is good enough. Awaiting final govt obstacles. Is the deposit refundable ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
east41st 3rd Gear April 3, 2016 Share April 3, 2016 Errr... The price difference is narrowing. Hybrids may not be able to match full electric cars soon. But it is true that Toyota is the best prepared for the Tesla's tsunami but if Prius is Toyota's best answer, I am afraid the outlook is bleak too. http://insideevs.com/2016-toyota-prius-versus-upcoming-tesla-model-3/ Toyota just needs to spruce up the look. It is lacking in the looks department now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skymax 5th Gear April 3, 2016 Share April 3, 2016 Is the deposit refundable ? Yes, "if durian not sweet can return for refund " See final price, cost, tax, incentive, infrastructure, service then decide. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
east41st 3rd Gear April 3, 2016 Share April 3, 2016 this question you need to ask LTA/Vicom liao... They view it differently, or rather, come up with excuses to charge surcharge whenever possible. But i think their mentality is, the car was 2nd hand, and due to the extensive testing period when it was trying to get approval in SG, the car was left idle and only test driven very very rarely throughout a period of almost 1 year. This idleness (or unused vehicle state) somehow deteriorated the battery overtime and when they finally conducted the test, found that the battery effectiveness is not as good as a new car. (add to the fact that they also include carbon calculations from the grid, etc) hence coming up with the shocking rating. The consumers and the rest of the world is ready for electric cars. So sad that our government seems still stuck in the dinosaur age and hindering progress. Very disappointing to say the least. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged April 3, 2016 Share April 3, 2016 (edited) Probably the closest model they can adopt is like VW, where the brand themselves are also the importer/dealer, AKA all in one. But you would be naive if you think they won't be looking to make profits, especially given that a car like this will have high development costs. Tesla the company are not charity. They also doing business like everyone else. Edited April 3, 2016 by Benarsenal Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic April 3, 2016 Share April 3, 2016 govt is not stupid la ... how much investment (oil refinery) and tax received from oil cartel The consumers and the rest of the world is ready for electric cars. So sad that our government seems still stuck in the dinosaur age and hindering progress. Very disappointing to say the least. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
weak_pig 1st Gear April 3, 2016 Share April 3, 2016 (edited) My car is due for scrap this mid year. As my wife is so used to being chaffeured around , now she expects me to buy a second hand car to tide over the period before model 3 arrives. But if I splurge on a second hand car now then it will surely raid my $$ reserves and I won't have enough when the durian is ripe. I have a hard time convincing her to go carless for 2-3 years Sibeh headache siah,.... Sigh Also there way too many uncertainties now regarding the final cost of a model 3 when it finally gets sold in SG. As well as the charging infrastructure. Best case scenario, tesla set up shop here and sells direct, keeping the car cost low <150K. If garment play underhand and force them to go through AD or slap them with super high fees which they have no choice but to pass on to consumers, thereby jacking up the price to 250K or more. Then my dreams of owning model 3 GG liao. Then I would have waited in vain. Edited April 3, 2016 by weak_pig Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Oxygen89 1st Gear April 3, 2016 Share April 3, 2016 My car is due for scrap this mid year. As my wife is so used to being chaffeured around , now she expects me to buy a second hand car to tide over the period before model 3 arrives. But if I splurge on a second hand car now then it will surely raid my $$ reserves and I won't have enough when the durian is ripe. I have a hard time convincing her to go carless for 2-3 years Sibeh headache siah,.... Sigh Also there way too many uncertainties now regarding the final cost of a model 3 when it finally gets sold in SG. As well as the charging infrastructure. Best case scenario, tesla set up shop here and sells direct, keeping the car cost low <150K. If garment play underhand and force them to go through AD or slap them with super high fees which they have no choice but to pass on to consumers, thereby jacking up the price to 250K or more. Then my dreams of owning model 3 GG liao. Then I would have waited in vain. I hope.. but i doubt.. that Tesla can go direct sales to consumers here in sg.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear April 3, 2016 Share April 3, 2016 My car is due for scrap this mid year. As my wife is so used to being chaffeured around , now she expects me to buy a second hand car to tide over the period before model 3 arrives. But if I splurge on a second hand car now then it will surely raid my $$ reserves and I won't have enough when the durian is ripe. I have a hard time convincing her to go carless for 2-3 years Sibeh headache siah,.... Sigh Also there way too many uncertainties now regarding the final cost of a model 3 when it finally gets sold in SG. As well as the charging infrastructure. Best case scenario, tesla set up shop here and sells direct, keeping the car cost low <150K. If garment play underhand and force them to go through AD or slap them with super high fees which they have no choice but to pass on to consumers, thereby jacking up the price to 250K or more. Then my dreams of owning model 3 GG liao. Then I would have waited in vain. This durian may take very long to ripe, eat other fruit first or kampong durian first lah. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arch1984 4th Gear April 3, 2016 Share April 3, 2016 My car is due for scrap this mid year. As my wife is so used to being chaffeured around , now she expects me to buy a second hand car to tide over the period before model 3 arrives. But if I splurge on a second hand car now then it will surely raid my $$ reserves and I won't have enough when the durian is ripe. I have a hard time convincing her to go carless for 2-3 years Sibeh headache siah,.... Sigh Also there way too many uncertainties now regarding the final cost of a model 3 when it finally gets sold in SG. As well as the charging infrastructure. Best case scenario, tesla set up shop here and sells direct, keeping the car cost low <150K. If garment play underhand and force them to go through AD or slap them with super high fees which they have no choice but to pass on to consumers, thereby jacking up the price to 250K or more. Then my dreams of owning model 3 GG liao. Then I would have waited in vain. Pricing is not the only issue. May have to wait for more than 3 years given Tesla production capacity is very low, where and who to maintain given that Tesla's reliability is below average. If they open shop in SG, the overheads in SG + other costs would make the car quite pricey. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear April 3, 2016 Share April 3, 2016 Pricing is not the only issue. May have to wait for more than 3 years given Tesla production capacity is very low, where and who to maintain given that Tesla's reliability is below average. If they open shop in SG, the overheads in SG + other costs would make the car quite pricey. 3 freaking YEARS !? Great timing for ERP 2.0 Somehow, I don't have a feeling that SGP would encourage electric cars in a big way unless the current oil companies in SGP has big ambitions driving that electrical path for SGP. Think of all the kpkb that comes from agonizing these oil giants when nobody uses petrol anymore.They are afterall some of the biggest employers in SGP and for such a small country like us, that can be a tricky situation. There are more than a *few* reasons for the 3/4 tank rule... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear April 3, 2016 Share April 3, 2016 What if you install a heavier ampere loading? And i would imagine condo can install a better circuit for charging. But all this discussion is largely moot till govt moves and clarifies their full electric stance If you are innovative and daring enuf, can DIY directly from a overhead power line. Like this Model-S owner from Shanghai who drove all the way to Chengdu (over 2000km road trip) - without a single Tesla supercharger station along the way. Desperate time means desperate measure... Hi Ma, I am now mid way somewhere near some forsaken town which Elon has forget... Hi Ma, took me a while to climb up this pole and connect up with my DIY charger circuit.... ...but worth every effort.... https://www.techinasia.com/illegally-charge-tesla-china 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tayspiderx 3rd Gear April 4, 2016 Share April 4, 2016 Hopes if it comes to sg, our neighbour up north also implementing charging stations in big cities lol jib kor in need of $$ can sell land to lowest bidder Tesla has been operating using the model of direct-to-consumers sales in the US, however many US states has been trying to restrict this sales model as they create unfair competition among the auto dealerships. http://www.businessinsider.sg/elon-musk-on-teslas-auto-dealer-model-2014-3/?r=US&IR=T#.VwDv5MZT7v0 The only reason why Tesla need a local dealership here in singapore will be due to govt regulations and restrictions And the reason why our government will do that is because our dearest Singapore AD will definitely complain about this "unfair competition", as most people will flock to buy Tesla cars. no one complain VW when they direct sales years ago Yes, "if durian not sweet can return for refund " See final price, cost, tax, incentive, infrastructure, service then decide. Not exactly, have to sign purchase agreement when customising the car....which means car yet ship in ....mean u wun know what kind of pattern LTA will chu. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
weak_pig 1st Gear April 4, 2016 Share April 4, 2016 Not exactly, have to sign purchase agreement when customising the car....which means car yet ship in ....mean u wun know what kind of pattern LTA will chu. I have a feeling we would need to bid the COE ourselves. Not sure if Tesla's pricing would include road tax and insurance, etc. And if we do not have enough cash to fully pay for it, can we pay a portion in cash and the rest with bank loans? No idea if Tesla offers in-house financing or we need to engage our own bank loans. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged April 4, 2016 Share April 4, 2016 (edited) Pricing is not the only issue. May have to wait for more than 3 years given Tesla production capacity is very low, where and who to maintain given that Tesla's reliability is below average. If they open shop in SG, the overheads in SG + other costs would make the car quite pricey. http://www.hybridcars.com/tesla-says-model-s-reliability-issues-cut-in-half/ "“Tesla owners chronicled an array of problems: display screen freezes, door handle malfunctions, sunroof leaks, and full-blown replacements of their car’s electric motors,” said Jake Fisher, auto test director for Consumer Reports." better wait for service center to open then consider buying. honda n toyota is still my choice for hybrids Edited April 4, 2016 by Duckduck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic April 4, 2016 Share April 4, 2016 japanese hyrids honda n toyota is still my choice for hybrids Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator April 4, 2016 Share April 4, 2016 High tech and geeky are what the majority customers want. Look at how smartphones are replacing mobile phones. Smart watches are also catching up. Cars need to get smart and the problem is the auto makers are poor at software. Hope that they can catch up fast. You have a point on high tech but don't forget cars have to be reliable as well. So quite tough on car manufacturers wanting to keep up with technology and at the same time keep cars reliable. Classic examples today are Jap cars vs conti cars with advanced technology like BMW. There are quite a substantial amount of local buyers who rate reliability over technology and prefer BNB Toyotas vs "less reliable but high technology" contis due to the vast amount of electronics and sensors used cos as we all know more electronics will likely mean more faults which the plain Jane Japs will unlikely suffer so till higher reliability scores are achieved, not all car buyers may be convinced with higher tech I'm afraid. ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...