2017 Tesla Model 3, 2024 Facelift

Carbon82

err toyota has been selling the prius for how long liao n they also have the mirai, hybrid hydrogen electric car.

Errr... The price difference is narrowing.

Hybrids may not be able to match full electric cars soon.

But it is true that Toyota is the best prepared for the Tesla's tsunami but if Prius is Toyota's best answer, I am afraid the outlook is bleak too.

http://insideevs.com/2016-toyota-prius-versus-upcoming-tesla-model-3/

tesla 3 (young, vibrant, sexy, etc) vs prius (soccer mum and dad) ... i think it's very different market segment

maybe but i dont thk tesla is young sexy, more like high tech n geeky

Errr... The price difference is narrowing.

Hybrids may not be able to match full electric cars soon.

But it is true that Toyota is the best prepared for the Tesla's tsunami but if Prius is Toyota's best answer, I am afraid the outlook is bleak too.

http://insideevs.com/2016-toyota-prius-versus-upcoming-tesla-model-3/

i rather wait for the next version of model 3 coz by then the local dealer wld have been setup n spare parts shld b cheaper.

now there isnt even a local dealer with trained mechanics n tesla is already accepting pre-orders, so u can guess how long itll take before anyone can drive it here. im willing to wait the entire sales to repair network to be setup here first, plus like any new product, the 1st version is the one w the least features for the most premium.

i thk the main challenge will be for hdb n condo owners to get their power supply installed.

early adopters for the bmw i3 n i8 are landed property owners.

if bmw made a 3 series fully electric, that will give tesla a good fight.

Yes. I guess we Singaporeans best hope is for the next model. But our market is insignificant.

If for example Toyota loses a big chunk of business to Tesla in US and Europe in the next few years, this will signal the beginning of a free fall that Toyota may not be able to recover. A sales drop of 20-30% is not going to be small laughing matter, we will def start to see retrenchments, etc. A lot of hardware companies are already been taken over by tech companies. Motorola eaten up by first Google then sold to Lenovo, Nokia eaten up by Microsoft. With Google also building driverless cars and Apple rumored to be building cars of their own. Who is to say, the next Auto big players are not going to be Tesla, Apple and Google. Exciting times indeed.

i rather wait for the next version of model 3 coz by then the local dealer wld have been setup n spare parts shld b cheaper.

now there isnt even a local dealer with trained mechanics n tesla is already accepting pre-orders, so u can guess how long itll take before anyone can drive it here. im willing to wait the entire sales to repair network to be setup here first, plus like any new product, the 1st version is the one w the least features for the most premium.

High tech and geeky are what the majority customers want. Look at how smartphones are replacing mobile phones.

Smart watches are also catching up. Cars need to get smart and the problem is the auto makers are poor at software. Hope that they can catch up fast.

maybe but i dont thk tesla is young sexy, more like high tech n geeky

Seriously thinking of putting down USD1000 to book one. Very very tempted!

Am also tempted but too many uncertainties for now

1. Tesla has not committed to building charging stations in Singapore or facility to swap batteries.

2. No solution yet for people staying in apartments

3. No confirmation what is the CEV rebate. If no rebate cost may go up north of $200k

when it comes to electric car ... spore infra is far from ready ... still very very far

i wonder what's the go green and low carbon footprint ambition that spore is talking about?

I calculated the price of Tesla Model 3 based on its starting price of US$35K. Below is the breakdown.

Pricing does not include freight charges (if any). 

Let me know what you think? (Sorry if alignment is out)

• Tesla Model 3 in SGD (Base Price US$35K)            $47,274.50
  • Registration Fee                                                  $140.00
  • Additional Registration Fee (ARF) - 1st 20K            $20,000.00
  • ARF - next 30K (Actual-27275.50 x 140%)             $38,184.30
  • COE (Cat B based on last exercise)                       $46,502.00
  • Excise Duty (20% of OMV, when OMV=47274.50)  $9,454.90
  • Road Tax (see Notes below)                                 $4,189.17
  • CEVS rebate (see Notes below)                           -$30,000.00
Grand Total (after rebate) = $135,744.87

Road Tax Notes - No kW info on M3 yet, so will base calc on P90D Model S, which is 397kW. The kW for Model 3 will obviously be lower, depending on the product range you select.

CEVS Rebate - no rating for M3 yet, but based on Model S, it's 90 CO2 g/km, which falls under  A1 band. Thus $SGD30K rebate. Source: http://electrek.co/2016/03/10/tesla-model-s-singapore-emissions/

Tesla already stated Singapore is one of the new countries where Model 3 will be officially launched. In addition, you can place advanced order for Model 3 with the registration options allowing you to select SG. This likely means as a buyer, you most likely don't need to go through the hassles of self-importation and getting LTA approval as these would have been done in advance for you. It's basically the same as purchasing a car from an AD like Borneo Motors for Toyota, etc.

Bro, I think you forgot about dunno what carbon tax which recently cause a rich Viet guy to kpkb when shipping a tesla S into SGP

Edited by Icedbs

Bro, I think you forgot about dunno what carbon tax which recently cause a rich Viet guy to kpkb when shipping a tesla S into SGP

that one is coz is considered used car, LTA say if new car then is different story

say only ... when a "new" Tesla arrive ... that's a different story ...

LTA would still have to test the car and "maybe" will charge grid carbon tax too

that one is coz is considered used car, LTA say if new car then is different story

Yeah "different story" as in different kind of new taxes? [laugh]

New car old car, what is the difference? They all use electric.

Edited by Icedbs

The Singapore Land Transport Authority (LTA) has offered a possible explanation as to why the Tesla Model S that was tested had a high electrical consumption of 444 Wh/km, which caused the owner to fork out a hefty US$10,900 tax.

“Tesla has informed LTA that based on the car’s original Certificate of Conformity, its energy consumption rating was 181 Wh/km when it left the Tesla factory on 28 June 2014,”

“This is because the emissions and fuel efficiency of a used car, unlike a new car, can vary significantly depending on its prevailing condition, how it was previously driven and maintained.”

LTA says that had a brand new Model S been tested, it would have fallen within the “CEVS A1 band,” which meant it would enjoy a rebate.

Edited by Eyke

Wow. Just wow. You're basing your opinion on all electric cars based on an experience with a scooter?

At least test drive one. I did (even if not the Tesla).

U hav 1 for me to try it out for a day?

I have been pondering about the convenience of charging issue with EV cars today and here are my thoughts.

Given that SG is one of the official countries Tesla are selling their Model 3 to, it should be fair to say Tesla may likely plan to provide SG buyers with the support and infrastructure to repair/charge the car. Even a small island like Hawaii has 1 service centre and 2-3 charging points around the island.

Scenario 1 (best possible outcome)

Assuming Tesla decides to install a couple of Supercharging stations in SG, that would have been the best possible scenario for SG buyers. A supercharger can charge a Model 3 within 25min to 90% full capacity. And the full capacity allows the owner to drive the car up to 350km. This is more than enough for most SG folks who commute between office and home on a daily basis (i probably only drive around 20-40km per day max). A single charge will probably last you for a week or so. In fact, if you visit the supercharging station every few days, you most likely won't even need to charge for 30 min. At most 5-10 min would fully charge your vehicle (since the battery is not fully depleted).

Using the supercharger, it will eliminate the need to have a charger at your residence, even if you stay in HDB. In other words, it no longer is necessary to charge overnight. This means you don't have to go through all the red tape contacting your town council and plead for a charge station to be installed in your premises.

Scenario 2

If Tesla decides not to install superchargers here (or encounters bureaucratic red tape... LOL), then another option would be to charge your EV at some of the available EV charging stations around the island. I have seen in several shopping malls that have electric charging stations for EV, like Raffles City parking, Jurong Point, etc etc. These stations would cost money to use them, and may not be as quick as superchargers, but at least you can save the hassle of writing in to your town council for the charging point installation, which at this point is still debatable whether they will cater to your request or not (or if they do, they might make you pay for the installation, etc).

Bosch eMobility Services also offer EV charging around the island. You have to sign up as a member and pay a monthly cutthroat fee of S$180 for unlimited charging at all available stations. 

https://portal.bosch-emobility.sg/en/com/home/homepage.html

Bosch Overview:

https://portal.bosch-emobility.sg/en/com/theservices/overview/overview.html

Yes, S$180 is definitely expensive to charge your EV (I don't think it is that expensive to fully charge your car. At most it should only be a few dollars per overnight charge, so $180/mth is ridiculous). But look at it this way, how much are you spending on petrol now, per mth? My Honda Civic drinks petrol on a weekly basis and it costs me on an average $300/mth to pump petrol (SPC 92). So based on this comparison, $180 is still a good deal, although Bosch is still a CB company for charging such high prices...

Scenario 3

Write in to your town council or MP and ask them for permission to install a EV charge outlet in your residence. My gut tells me you will most likely meet with failure or they may force you to pay for the install, or surcharge, etc that may cost several $Ks. But if approved, then great la. You can charge at home overnight every day. But it's not clear what happens when more and more tenants of your block buys EV cars in the future, do you need to share?

say only ... when a "new" Tesla arrive ... that's a different story ...

LTA would still have to test the car and "maybe" will charge grid carbon tax too

well, you know our garment la... but this is something we can't control. They happy happy can change rules anytime one.

Yeah "different story" as in different kind of new taxes? [laugh]

New car old car, what is the difference? They all use electric.

this question you need to ask LTA/Vicom liao... They view it differently, or rather, come up with excuses to charge surcharge whenever possible.

But i think their mentality is, the car was 2nd hand, and due to the extensive testing period when it was trying to get approval in SG, the car was left idle and only test driven very very rarely throughout a period of almost 1 year. This idleness (or unused vehicle state) somehow deteriorated the battery overtime and when they finally conducted the test, found that the battery effectiveness is not as good as a new car. (add to the fact that they also include carbon calculations from the grid, etc) hence coming up with the shocking rating.