cheewah0 1st Gear May 15, 2018 Share May 15, 2018 @may_dream, I bought a white 5D Impreza and was given a discount for the showroom unit. Would not want to ruin their market publicly but happy to share more information via PM. @Nemo88, no choice, wife would only approve of the car if it is white. Exterior wise, they will prep the car again so you will get one looking brand new but you have to be careful of interior scratches, this cannot would not be fixed by MI. Good thing about showroom cars (besides the price reduction if you can get it) is that you usually get given the COE quickly as they have an incentive to get the car out (got mine in the first bid even though I paid non-guaranteed bids) ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scenic98 Clutched May 15, 2018 Share May 15, 2018 When did you book? I went recently to test drive and was told still got one red in stock. This was wkend before the 9th bidding My friend booked NG and got it after the first bid but open cat as well. Took ex-stock forgot what colour. Between booking and receiving car just under 2 wks, very lucky. the dark grey ones are still in stock....that's the color i got, since fengshui says so. preferred dark blue though. the other that is in stock is the light blue one i think. pretty fast...booked on labour day...getting next week. now kalang kabuk selling off existing car. MI trade in sucks. this time round, i tried Quotz, bid closing tomorrow, but already exceed my expected sell price. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nemo88 Clutched May 15, 2018 Share May 15, 2018 the dark grey ones are still in stock....that's the color i got, since fengshui says so. preferred dark blue though. the other that is in stock is the light blue one i think. pretty fast...booked on labour day...getting next week. now kalang kabuk selling off existing car. MI trade in sucks. this time round, i tried Quotz, bid closing tomorrow, but already exceed my expected sell price. How old is your car? My friend did trade in coz the car had just over a year to go and hadn’t been very well cared for (plus high mileage). Price plus tradein discount just a little less than sgcarmart prices so they figure save the hassle. SE told me got the dark grey and I thought a silver colour left? Maybe is light blue I rmb wrongly. Anyway dunno if I will buy or not seems like a real value for money car but not 100% convinced yet. Solid drive though I was quite impressed..... never tried a Subaru before so didn’t know what to expect. @may_dream, I bought a white 5D Impreza and was given a discount for the showroom unit. Would not want to ruin their market publicly but happy to share more information via PM. @Nemo88, no choice, wife would only approve of the car if it is white. Exterior wise, they will prep the car again so you will get one looking brand new but you have to be careful of interior scratches, this cannot would not be fixed by MI. Good thing about showroom cars (besides the price reduction if you can get it) is that you usually get given the COE quickly as they have an incentive to get the car out (got mine in the first bid even though I paid non-guaranteed bids) Must they inform you if it’s a showroom unit? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scenic98 Clutched May 15, 2018 Share May 15, 2018 (edited) How old is your car? My friend did trade in coz the car had just over a year to go and hadn’t been very well cared for (plus high mileage). Price plus tradein discount just a little less than sgcarmart prices so they figure save the hassle. SE told me got the dark grey and I thought a silver colour left? Maybe is light blue I rmb wrongly. Anyway dunno if I will buy or not seems like a real value for money car but not 100% convinced yet. Solid drive though I was quite impressed..... never tried a Subaru before so didn’t know what to expect. Must they inform you if it’s a showroom unit? u might be rite...the other color in stock might be silver. my current car is going 7 years old. if u take the hassle to sell yourself, can defintely get a better price. their in house dealer normally just use paper value plus a bit more for body value. Edited May 15, 2018 by Scenic98 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
may_dream 4th Gear May 15, 2018 Share May 15, 2018 the dark grey ones are still in stock....that's the color i got, since fengshui says so. preferred dark blue though. the other that is in stock is the light blue one i think. pretty fast...booked on labour day...getting next week. now kalang kabuk selling off existing car. MI trade in sucks. this time round, i tried Quotz, bid closing tomorrow, but already exceed my expected sell price. You so lucky leh. Booked on labour day and can get next week. I think different SE works differently ? Not very happy with mine but too late now. Going to collect next week already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nemo88 Clutched May 16, 2018 Share May 16, 2018 You so lucky leh. Booked on labour day and can get next week. I think different SE works differently ? Not very happy with mine but too late now. Going to collect next week already.My friend who is familiar with the car sector says those who negotiate for more discounts and freebies the SE/dealer will deprioritise when awarding COEs. And i think might depend on the sales quota allocation to the SEs? Don’t know true or not. My friend who got the car after the first round just took standard rebates and accessories discount. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
may_dream 4th Gear May 16, 2018 Share May 16, 2018 My friend who is familiar with the car sector says those who negotiate for more discounts and freebies the SE/dealer will deprioritise when awarding COEs. And i think might depend on the sales quota allocation to the SEs? Don’t know true or not. My friend who got the car after the first round just took standard rebates and accessories discount. that why i think its all depends on the SE. whether the SE is senior in the company too...... anyway, buying a car is not a yearly thing.... so no need to see the SE again until 10 years later (fingers crossed). 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nemo88 Clutched May 16, 2018 Share May 16, 2018 that why i think its all depends on the SE. whether the SE is senior in the company too...... anyway, buying a car is not a yearly thing.... so no need to see the SE again until 10 years later (fingers crossed).True true.... my last car purchase was 10 years ago back then my COE less than 10k even LOL. Painless purchase got some inside lobang so got all the rebates no need to fulfill criteria. Too bad this time the cars I am eyeing no lobang need to do my own homework. But once every 10years then just do lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
cheewah0 1st Gear May 16, 2018 Share May 16, 2018 How old is your car? My friend did trade in coz the car had just over a year to go and hadn’t been very well cared for (plus high mileage). Price plus tradein discount just a little less than sgcarmart prices so they figure save the hassle. SE told me got the dark grey and I thought a silver colour left? Maybe is light blue I rmb wrongly. Anyway dunno if I will buy or not seems like a real value for money car but not 100% convinced yet. Solid drive though I was quite impressed..... never tried a Subaru before so didn’t know what to expect. Must they inform you if it’s a showroom unit? I would think they need to inform you if it is a showroom unit. This was not needed as I was in the showroom and sat in the showroom unit. Would definitely recommend seeing the condition of the showroom unit before buying, as mentioned previously MI will not repair any scratches if it is on the interior. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
titalike 1st Gear May 17, 2018 Share May 17, 2018 some of the friends are really lucky..first round can get COE one.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kryxwee 2nd Gear May 18, 2018 Share May 18, 2018 Good news for those looking at the imp. Seems no ves surcharge come June with the pm measurement. http://www.subaru.asia/sg/en/vehicles/impreza/17my/?pg=lineup 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
fordsolo 1st Gear May 18, 2018 Share May 18, 2018 If u read through, some are not so lucky. I didn’t get for 2 bidding. Ok we are in the same boat sigh ... maybe our SEs thought we have no urgency to collect new car so their bids are not aggressive or don't allocate Cat Es to us. that why i think its all depends on the SE. whether the SE is senior in the company too...... anyway, buying a car is not a yearly thing.... so no need to see the SE again until 10 years later (fingers crossed). Yup agree, I also no need to see my SE until 10 years later lol. I am not good in negotiating, whatever SE offers, I just take but I don't ask for more. You so lucky leh. Booked on labour day and can get next week. I think different SE works differently ? Not very happy with mine but too late now. Going to collect next week already. Oh .. you are going to collect next week? Thought like me, you also did not secure COE during the last bidding? Did your SE subsquently allocate open cat to you as well? Hi guys, not non guarantee bidding issue, it’s poor management, shipment not in, no rush for bidding. They take the order before place their order from Japan, keep a minimal stock only. Guys, how many of you buy Subaru because of the SE? Poor service, poor after sell service, poor maintenance...... The only reason choose Subaru is why we like it! This is my first Subaru car (switch from Honda) and I do hope I will like it too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
may_dream 4th Gear May 18, 2018 Share May 18, 2018 I think SE throw open cat to all... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
titalike 1st Gear May 19, 2018 Share May 19, 2018 after 2 weeks driving, have to say is a good car, hope you all will enjoy it 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
fordsolo 1st Gear May 20, 2018 Share May 20, 2018 I think SE throw open cat to all... Not me though Anyway, the next bidding is this week .. keeping my fingers crossed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
may_dream 4th Gear May 21, 2018 Share May 21, 2018 Not me though Anyway, the next bidding is this week .. keeping my fingers crossed ya, i hope you will get it this round or that SE will offer the open cat for you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newsubaru Clutched May 23, 2018 Share May 23, 2018 Going to Malaysia soon. Have the 1.6. What is the max speed that I should go at? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mahjong74 Supercharged May 23, 2018 Share May 23, 2018 Going to Malaysia soon. Have the 1.6. What is the max speed that I should go at? Max speed you should go at is around 200km/h. Try not to drive more than 200 km/h. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...