Chucky2007 Turbocharged January 5, 2018 Share January 5, 2018 Subaru cars’ some small parts may fail like all cars... but these small parts costs maybe $100-400 to replace that’s all..not as frightening as other makes that may cost thousands when parts fail. My subaru I have been servicing outside after 10,000km. Now almost 70k, the only parts that failed are suspension bushing. Not that scary in terms of warranty issues. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic January 5, 2018 Share January 5, 2018 MI has since softened their stance on warranty conditions on the website. I remember it used to say that MI is not obliged to honor warranty claims if car is serviced or modified other than with MI. Now it has been amended to something like it is owner responsibility to maintain the car according to warranty handbook. So that means go outside workshop at your own risk during warranty period lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_mark 2nd Gear January 6, 2018 Share January 6, 2018 So that means go outside workshop at your own risk during warranty period lor. My 20k servicing is due, and after a lot of considerations, I am planning to go service outside with pro-subaru shops. Key considerations as follows: 1) MI servicing very slow and need to book slot 2 wks in advanced, even for simple oil change = need take more leave 2) Researched around and found many pro subaru shops are actually started by ex subaru certified mechanics, or worked at MI before. Service and workmanship wise, shouldnt be worse off. 3) Cheaper than MI for better quality engine oil Mental note to myself is that I will need to take note is to ensure I keep servicing records and receipts for unforseen circumstances. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mycar1234 1st Gear January 6, 2018 Share January 6, 2018 2018-01-02.png 1.6 falls in VES Band C1 vs Band B for 2.0, so unless something is done to re-tune the 1.6, I guess MI will probably stick to selling just the 2.0. Thought VES mean for more environmental, why 1.6 Impreza fall under band C1 & 2.0 fall under band B? Personally won’t pay extra $ for a same size Impreza just for that pickup feel. You not only pay the extra 2.0 cat B cost, consider the extra road tax, insurance over the next 10 years, the extra FC consumption.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic January 6, 2018 Share January 6, 2018 Metal-to-price ratio again syndrom. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic January 6, 2018 Share January 6, 2018 Thought VES mean for more environmental, why 1.6 Impreza fall under band C1 & 2.0 fall under band B? Personally won’t pay extra $ for a same size Impreza just for that pickup feel. You not only pay the extra 2.0 cat B cost, consider the extra road tax, insurance over the next 10 years, the extra FC consumption.... How much is the subcharge for the 1.6l? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jg2000 4th Gear January 6, 2018 Share January 6, 2018 Thought VES mean for more environmental, why 1.6 Impreza fall under band C1 & 2.0 fall under band B? Personally won’t pay extra $ for a same size Impreza just for that pickup feel. You not only pay the extra 2.0 cat B cost, consider the extra road tax, insurance over the next 10 years, the extra FC consumption.... Actually real FC better with 2.0 1.6 struggling will mean worse fc. 2.0 will not struggle and just right - has better fc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thecarboy302 3rd Gear January 7, 2018 Share January 7, 2018 Thought VES mean for more environmental, why 1.6 Impreza fall under band C1 & 2.0 fall under band B? Personally won’t pay extra $ for a same size Impreza just for that pickup feel. You not only pay the extra 2.0 cat B cost, consider the extra road tax, insurance over the next 10 years, the extra FC consumption.... Subaru's 2.0-litre engine is probably a more updated one compared to the 1.6-litre. However, was looking through Subaru Japan site and came across the emission figures for both 1.6 and 2.0 models of the Impreza, both engines seem to share the same CO, NOx and HC figures based on Japan's testing so I do not understand why on local testing, the 1.6 is in Band C1 and 2.0 in Band B. Maybe MI need to bring in the 1.6 2WD (available in Japan) instead maybe can hit Band B of VES I guess? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogerNg_185295 6th Gear January 7, 2018 Share January 7, 2018 My 20k servicing is due, and after a lot of considerations, I am planning to go service outside with pro-subaru shops. Key considerations as follows: 1) MI servicing very slow and need to book slot 2 wks in advanced, even for simple oil change = need take more leave 2) Researched around and found many pro subaru shops are actually started by ex subaru certified mechanics, or worked at MI before. Service and workmanship wise, shouldnt be worse off. 3) Cheaper than MI for better quality engine oil Mental note to myself is that I will need to take note is to ensure I keep servicing records and receipts for unforseen circumstances. It's very risky you know. If got issues, then it will be a grey area. Do think twice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mycar1234 1st Gear January 7, 2018 Share January 7, 2018 Actually real FC better with 2.0 1.6 struggling will mean worse fc. 2.0 will not struggle and just right - has better fc. Unless VES measure in the way 1.6L run at 15.6km/l compare to 2.0L run at 15.1km/l is less efficiency! But in reality 2.0L still consume more petrol than 1.6L Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_mark 2nd Gear January 8, 2018 Share January 8, 2018 Unless VES measure in the way 1.6L run at 15.6km/l compare to 2.0L run at 15.1km/l is less efficiency! But in reality 2.0L still consume more petrol than 1.6L 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_mark 2nd Gear January 8, 2018 Share January 8, 2018 It's very risky you know. If got issues, then it will be a grey area. Do think twice Thanks for the caution. I had put some thought into this even before the new policy came out. Before this new policy, I was swaying more towards staying with MI due to the strict warranty clauses. The announcement of that policy made it an easy choice for me to swing the other way as I am a believer that if something don't break down within the 6 months you buy it, it shouldn't break so easily subsequently. I don't abuse my car nor clock crazy mileage, so I think the risk I take is manageable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swiftgolfer 2nd Gear January 8, 2018 Share January 8, 2018 Can the agent still void your 5 yrs limited warranty if you service outside? anyway here is the article http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/restrictions-on-car-servicing-repairs-and-parts-to-be-lifted-competition-watchdog don't really worry abt warranty since most AD are so specific about what is covered. can read the manual they gave you, there is a breakdown on what is covered and which part. sometimes being too specific is a double edged sword. my previous VW, also service outside after 10k, but when the gearbox ko, they still repaired it FOC within that 3yr period. Hence always keep your service records. dont flame me ok, just sharing my own experience. i also know afew colleagues that swear AD service is the best and top notch. even though sometimes their car can be stuck there for afew days because no spares and they had to order. Still they insist AD is best. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivantanjh 1st Gear January 15, 2018 Share January 15, 2018 Anyone brought the Impreza during the motor show ? Care to share your thoughts and experience Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vios73 1st Gear January 15, 2018 Share January 15, 2018 Anyone brought the Impreza during the motor show ? Care to share your thoughts and experience Yes, keen to know more too on the experience and thoughts on the purchase. Anyone bite the deal at $99800 at last Motorshow? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_mark 2nd Gear January 15, 2018 Share January 15, 2018 Yes, keen to know more too on the experience and thoughts on the purchase. Anyone bite the deal at $99800 at last Motorshow? Best value for 2L mid-sized family car, mai tu liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivantanjh 1st Gear January 15, 2018 Share January 15, 2018 Yes, keen to know more too on the experience and thoughts on the purchase. Anyone bite the deal at $99800 at last Motorshow? I bite... and still chewing on it, haven’t swallow it yet since I’m on 8 bid non guaranteed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vios73 1st Gear January 15, 2018 Share January 15, 2018 I bite... and still chewing on it, haven’t swallow it yet since I’m on 8 bid non guaranteed Congratulations for biting the deal. Can share what's the terms and conditions to fulfill? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...