Wishcumstrue 6th Gear March 23, 2016 Share March 23, 2016 Seems like Trump predicted the attacks in Brussels and Paris too. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 23, 2016 Share March 23, 2016 Seems like Trump predicted the attacks in Brussels and Paris too. I could have predicted this years ago also mah. Tom clancy predicted how 9-11 would occur. Now that's an achievement. After the london bombs in 2005, everyone knew Europe is vulnerable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TameDriver Twincharged March 23, 2016 Share March 23, 2016 I was already dithering about whether to go to Barcelona in early April to test the M2 on the Catalunya circuit. My reluctance was because it's my son's PSLE year, and it's a little stressful at home. After this, my mind is made up. Even if it's not near the attack zone, I bet the security screening etc. will be scaled up to ridiculous heights in the aftermath of this tragedy. Just not worth the bother. Test driving the M2 can always be done somewhere, somehow.......but to be around & give support for our loved ones takes priority & this opportunity can never be repeated. Relax, bro, it's PSLE only. Don't over stress yourself & your son; should be able to gauge how well he's gonna perform by now. Agree with u that there will definitely be hassle & delays due to heightened security checks. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear March 23, 2016 Share March 23, 2016 I could have predicted this years ago also mah. Tom clancy predicted how 9-11 would occur. Now that's an achievement. After the london bombs in 2005, everyone knew Europe is vulnerable. I also predicted terrorists gonna strike these places some year ago. Problem is I wasn't some billionaire real-estate boss who is running for US presidency. Seems like Trump predicted the attacks in Brussels and Paris too. http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2699348-donald-trump-offended-mexico/?p=5768551 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TameDriver Twincharged March 23, 2016 Share March 23, 2016 The after conference itinerary must be darn sexciting that made you blown black smoke now that's cancelled... Hehehe....your guesswork is quite close. Sexciting if u can recommend where I can find gigolos. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear March 24, 2016 Share March 24, 2016 Belgian authorities finally began to connect the dots as investigation widen. They also discover another thing - they screwed up the chance to prevent this week attack by failing to act on the information shared by other security agencies. Some of these terrorist were already on wanted or warning list provided by other EU members after the Paris attack. http://www.wsj.com/articles/brussels-suicide-bomber-slipped-terror-net-1458779556 One of the Brussels suicide bombers was detained last summer on suspicion of being an Islamic State fighter, but Turkish authorities sent him on the path toward freedom after their Belgian counterparts couldn’t establish that he had any link to terror groups.The revelation Wednesday from Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan was the latest in a string of miscues that has plagued Europe’s efforts to crack a terror network that has killed more than 160 people in two of the continent’s capitals in the past four months. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged March 24, 2016 Share March 24, 2016 Changi Airport security seems also to be very tight. every 10-15mins able to see Soldier and mata walking beside you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datsun366 Turbocharged March 25, 2016 Share March 25, 2016 Changi Airport security seems also to be very tight. every 10-15mins able to see Soldier and mata walking beside you. I am sure because you look like this, maybe? Her hee. By the way, I smell a lot of chao dar around. Very stressful for our Abangs and Akaks. I feel sorry for them to suffer because they also dun wan bad things to happen. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 25, 2016 Share March 25, 2016 (edited) Good insight article by the BBC on why Brussel has become a extremist haven. http://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-35890960 The intergration between Arabs/North african immigrants and European society has failed and this is a consequence. Belgian authorities finally began to connect the dots as investigation widen. They also discover another thing - they screwed up the chance to prevent this week attack by failing to act on the information shared by other security agencies. Some of these terrorist were already on wanted or warning list provided by other EU members after the Paris attack. http://www.wsj.com/articles/brussels-suicide-bomber-slipped-terror-net-1458779556 Edited March 25, 2016 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datsun366 Turbocharged March 25, 2016 Share March 25, 2016 Good insight article by the BBC on why Brussel has become a extremist haven. http://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-35890960 The intergration between Arabs/North african immigrants and European society has failed and this is a consequence. I could have told you that it failed in the early nineties. The consequence of being welcoming and accepting without discrimination. How do you repay love and humanity? High minded ideals are only good for nice people. See what the man is doing? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 25, 2016 Share March 25, 2016 I could have told you that it failed in the early nineties. The consequence of being welcoming and accepting without discrimination. How do you repay love and humanity? High minded ideals are only good for nice people. See what the man is doing? I think we in singapore, know how difficult it is to reduce racism and build a multi-racial society. This article is more for Europeans to understand that these people are not born jihadists. Being hard headed and practical is how singaporeans are brought up to be. Germany taking in so many Syrian migrants is also going to set the stage for issues 10-20 years down the road. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ins1dious Turbocharged March 25, 2016 Share March 25, 2016 I could have told you that it failed in the early nineties. The consequence of being welcoming and accepting without discrimination. How do you repay love and humanity? High minded ideals are only good for nice people. See what the man is doing? I can't talk for Belgium... but if the supposed integration is something like what France did in Paris and elsewhere... it's not hard to understand. If you think that there was welcome with open arms without discrimination... you're sorely mistaken. There was and still is, abject racism and ghettofication of neighborhoods... discrimination in education and in the workplace. Plenty of poverty bought about by a nanny state doling out welfare. The Europeans fcked up before in the New World, the Subontinent and in the Middle-Kingdom... and some of their policies even now in their home countries, are still stupid. But as stupid as it is... it's definitely utopia when compared to extremist ideologies being perpetrated in the middle-east. We must follow the money and stamp out the heads that are financing these people. Btw, good job smearing all immigrants with your "nice people" words. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datsun366 Turbocharged March 26, 2016 Share March 26, 2016 (edited) I can't talk for Belgium... but if the supposed integration is something like what France did in Paris and elsewhere... it's not hard to understand. If you think that there was welcome with open arms without discrimination... you're sorely mistaken. There was and still is, abject racism and ghettofication of neighborhoods... discrimination in education and in the workplace. Plenty of poverty bought about by a nanny state doling out welfare. The Europeans fcked up before in the New World, the Subontinent and in the Middle-Kingdom... and some of their policies even now in their home countries, are still stupid. But as stupid as it is... it's definitely utopia when compared to extremist ideologies being perpetrated in the middle-east. We must follow the money and stamp out the heads that are financing these people. Btw, good job smearing all immigrants with your "nice people" words. We are human beings. The perception of being welcomed and that integration efforts have to be made, is inappropriate for practical and nice people.The love and humanity shown is that this group of people needed a home, effort was made for them to find their home in the said area. You won't build my house for me and my family, mr Insidious, you might give me access to you toolshed and tips on using the power saw. You might show me where I could build my house in your community. You perhaps believe it is my responsibility to find out about the building codes in my adopted nation. You definitely expect me to abide by the rules and regulations of your home country. It is a definite for you that your cultural norms be my cultural norms, after all, your country accepted my request to be a part of your culture. You come from a tough and hardy folk who expects independence and have a different culture. I have to make expectation and cultural change on my part, it's your home I want in, not the other way around. It is the immigrant responsibility. Some cultures already know this aspect of survival and politeness. To choose to be a part of said society, or to remain as a visitor. 客为主变, 主为客变。 The second part of the above requires the host to bend over backwards, in this instance forwards for the guest...which is rude for nice visitors. From personal experience, much of these people are of a visitor mind, they do not want in to the society at all. They wish to stand apart and continue their expectation with rationale and explanations. If I had so chosen, I would be a fantastic beardless Norwegian. I would host Ah mock until he died of boobies exhaustion. I would have found every which way to become a Norwegian while keeping what I can keep of the HDB boy. It's about the commentary that some of these people choose not to integrate into the adoptive tribe. They may not be 'bad' people, but they create the 'space' for bad people. The Europeans have been kind or rather dun bother with their immigrants, allowing freedom to live their lives. The greatest help has already being rendered. I already let you into my home, what more you want? It requires maturity and niceness to appreciate high minded ideals. Balik balik, go to Balikpapan lah. What for move forward? Singaporean hard headedness required. Edited March 26, 2016 by Datsun366 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ins1dious Turbocharged March 26, 2016 Share March 26, 2016 We are human beings. The perception of being welcomed and that integration efforts have to be made, is inappropriate for practical and nice people. The love and humanity shown is that this group of people needed a home, effort was made for them to find their home in the said area. You won't build my house for me and my family, mr Insidious, you might give me access to you toolshed and tips on using the power saw. You might show me where I could build my house in your community. You perhaps believe it is my responsibility to find out about the building codes in my adopted nation. You definitely expect me to abide by the rules and regulations of your home country. It is a definite for you that your cultural norms be my cultural norms, after all, your country accepted my request to be a part of your culture. You come from a tough and hardy folk who expects independence and have a different culture. I have to make expectation and cultural change on my part, it's your home I want in, not the other way around. It is the immigrant responsibility. Some cultures already know this aspect of survival and politeness. To choose to be a part of said society, or to remain as a visitor. 客为主åï¼ ä¸»ä¸ºå®¢åã The second part of the above requires the host to bend over backwards, in this instance forwards for the guest...which is rude for nice visitors. From personal experience, much of these people are of a visitor mind, they do not want in to the society at all. They wish to stand apart and continue their expectation with rationale and explanations. If I had so chosen, I would be a fantastic beardless Norwegian. I would host Ah mock until he died of boobies exhaustion. I would have found every which way to become a Norwegian while keeping what I can keep of the HDB boy. It's about the commentary that some of these people choose not to integrate into the adoptive tribe. They may not be 'bad' people, but they create the 'space' for bad people. The Europeans have been kind or rather dun bother with their immigrants, allowing freedom to live their lives. The greatest help has already being rendered. I already let you into my home, what more you want? It requires maturity and niceness to appreciate high minded ideals. Balik balik, go to Balikpapan lah. What for move forward? Singaporean hard headedness required. I was going to reply that I couldn't understand what you'd written. So thank you for your edits... the first section is now clear. I do agree with what you've said... and it is true of the current mass migration. In my post however, I specifically called out France for earlier failed integration. Please remember the historical context. A lot of them were actually returning citizens from their overseas colonies. They were North Africans, Indians... from Madagascar, etc. They may have been born and lived abroad in the colonies... but they were still citizens with every right to return. So that was no help there... for many... it was their right. France espoused "liberte, egalite, fraternite", but the rules and actions were anything like that. Majority did intergrate and are highly successful in their professional / personal lives. And they were the norm rather than the anomaly. This was inspite of the deck loaded against them... Of those that didn't... I can say that for many... it is not because they wanted to stand out... they were made to. Where you live, where you work, where you eat, where you pray, where you go to school, who your kids plays with... all play a role in an equal and just society. Racial integration is hard. It is difficult for individuals alone to do it. They will tend to flock to their own kind. So that's why the state plays a large role to balance things. And that's what I say, France didn't in the early 50s. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear March 26, 2016 Share March 26, 2016 It's an international conference/ workshops pertaining to updating of certain medical skills. Boss deemed me too invaluable to risk my life going there. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear March 26, 2016 Share March 26, 2016 Good insight article by the BBC on why Brussel has become a extremist haven. http://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-35890960 The intergration between Arabs/North african immigrants and European society has failed and this is a consequence. Integration or not - No matter how one feel discriminated, disenfranchised, despised, segregated or marginalised, there is no justification nor excuse to go around killing innocents. I learn this based in my ancestor's own experience and how one's fortune and destiny is dependent on how adaptive one is and being accountable for your own action. Discrimination is very much part of human history and nature. Question is how do you deal with it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datsun366 Turbocharged March 26, 2016 Share March 26, 2016 To further illustrate my connection to Paris, France. I met a rather interesting fellow at school so many years ago. He had been to Singapore as a child n the eighties. He was a boat person from Vietnam. If you closed your eyes and listened to him conversed in English, you would tot that he was a 'frogman'. His Francois was excellent, native. He can converse in Vietnamese and Cantonese. His mandarin is rudimentary 'frogman' level. He found his way to adapt to France. I asked his French (native) classmates why did they accept him and like him so. They saw him as a Renault engine with a different bodykit that drinks Porto like water. Of course there is discrimination he said, but there are also a significant majority that does not discriminate and some even find him a rather fascinating fellow countryman. He deals with it. French chicks are yum yum btw. I digress, called him up after the boom boom and Piang Piang, relieved that he and his family are well. He is a survivor and knew that he had to continue surviving after reaching France from Singapore detention camp. He is doing quite well, of course there are also that are into the bad stuff because they were not able to survive like him. Some of his cousins are those the l'agent (genderarmes) are very familiar with. The French ideals are in French for the French. Just how French are you depends on the level of commitment and ability. Like my friend. I still chuckle whenever he speaks in heavily accented English. I think I take joy in his success. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear March 28, 2016 Share March 28, 2016 Another suicide bomber attack in Pakistan. This time next to a playground full of women and children celebrating Easter on Sunday (27 Mar) at a park in Lahore...A consistent pattern as previous attacks that specifically target children and schools. This time over 70 dead, including nearly 30 children. http://news.asiaone.com/news/asia/pakistan-easter-suicide-attack-kills-72 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...