Brussels under attack!

Atrecord

A simplistic view of apple vs FBI is that apple supports terrorism by standing up to FBI.

Your murderous secrets are safe with them.

Pls come to buy apple products, all ye terrorists.

Edited by Kb27

I said before that FBI chose this particular case for a reason... to tug at the heartstrings... there is no question of acting fast. This was from an incident in Oct 2015. They finally went to court in Feb 2016. If time was of the essence... they had other less public avenues. Let me put it to you the scenario that the FBI had been trying to crack the access to the phone since Oct 2015 and had been frustrated by the lack of progress till they have no choice but to ask Apple for help. We have assumed again that FBI's act of asking Apple for help is just a shenanigan to create public awareness and to force Apple's hands and have assumed that FBI could have done it themselves in double quick time if they had set their mind to it. So that determinationa as to the time critical aspect (or the lack of) of the iphone data is an assumption at best too.

I don't have a clue what you are saying here. FBI needed the data urgently? Could have easily done it themselves? But let it drag out for 4 months just so they can force Apple's hand? How does that help the efficacy of the case...

​This was purely to set a precedent in the courts... and not to solve any impending attack. I will assume it is in the interest of preventing or potentially preventing further attacks. I also assume you have assumed it is not since we do not have the intelligence about what could potentially be contained in that device.

Are you aware of this case? The iPhone 5C was issued to Farook by his employer - the County - and is programmed with his work email and tracked by his office. The FBI also found two other personal phones of Farook.... completely destroyed by the perp. So he made major plans on the 5C and left it lying around next to two personal phones which he'd taken the pains to completely destroy?

We also have families of other victims of that shootout who've said that their family member have also been issued these work 5C's but they knew it was being tracked/read and used it sparingly only for work. And that their family members also carried personal phones to protect their basic privacy.

I can just visualize the terrorist head laughing at the CNN news report about the Americans arguing over the access to iphone when they already deleted all other traces of their existence, closed their illicit bank accounts, kill off their money mules, switch out their fund channels,  flew out the existing terrorist cell members hiding in the country, swapping a fresh set of these terrorist innocuously, revised their planned targets. 

Security is not a monopoly of Apple or Google. Having this breach on billions of devices of innocents just to catch some will-o'-the-wisps is a false security. If these systems become insecure... than hackers and terrorists will just go to the Russians or the Chinese or the Indians or whoever can provide a secure system.

You ask to see the bigger picture... but yet... ignore the bigger agenda. We do not have the utopian idea of a security system that is unheackable, unbreechable, untouchable. As illustrated in this case, given time and tenacity, ANY security system can be over-comed. If Pyongyang decides to dedicate an illicitly funded group dedicated to hacking the IOS security system, I dare say it is not a matter of can or cannot but a matter of when.

Now, out on a stretch here..... if Apple played nice and have given the access for the FBI to get the intel faster, could it have prevented the brussels incident? No one knows. But if I am one of the victims of Brussel incident, I jolly well would have wished for it.

The dick pic joke is my subtle point about the laughable importance of our miniscule personal privacy against the greater good of preventing innocent lives lost.

Wait... Brussels may have happened 'cos Apple was dithering it's feet? If... how... maybe... all hearsay... Have you read before about how many terrorists attacks the mass surveillance of the NSA prevented? Go read about it... you'll be surprised.

Govts., dictators, regimes, white hats and black hats have all formulated and carried out attacks... not just on personal devices... but also on nuclear stations, power grids, banking, etc. But that doesn't mean we are not entitled to our own private thoughts and moments. In this case, Director Comey has lied before... small lies... even before the Senate... Other surveillance agencies around the world have manufactured/manipulated data to bring about this clash of civilisation we are seeing now. Having a backdoor into our lives just fcks things up even further.

One of the most interesting and eye-opening documents I've read is the US Constitution. It is puzzling to me that a constitutional lawyer - Obama - is trampling over many aspects of that document he and every one of his administration have sworn to protect. 

It makes me wonder about the whole separation of the Executive, Legislative and Judiciary that the US is wont to boast.

But do remember... some of the craziest/ruthless dictators around the world were elected in... 

Have you read George Orwell's 1984? Anyway... you have your views on personal liberty vs security and I have mine.

I don't believe these two are mutually exclusive.... they can both work... once they have an honest public debate and legislate laws governing them. Currently, many - who follow this type of case - can only see an over-reach by the executive. 

A simplistic view of apple vs FBI is that apple supports terrorism by standing up to FBI.

Your murderous secrets are safe with them.

Pls come to buy apple products, all ye terrorists.

alamak... that's the public perception that spin doctors have spun. Anyway... sucks to be Apple now.

Edited by ins1dious

Seriously..... now I'm perplexed.. [sleeping] muahahaha

Sorry if I draw on the wrong comparison...but you sounded like a clone of a terminal here...heehee

At this rate of terrorist attacks on Europe, there's going to be a Fourth Crusade....

That's part of their plan...to create hatred to garner more support for a skew holy war...in order to create a new world order that only benefit themselves at the expense of others of ALL faiths.

Cut off their funding and don't play into their game.

没钱鬼都不理你

Have you read George Orwell's 1984? Anyway... you have your views on personal liberty vs security and I have mine.

I don't believe these two are mutually exclusive.... they can both work... once they have an honest public debate and legislate laws governing them. Currently, many - who follow this type of case - can only see an over-reach by the executive.

alamak... that's the public perception that spin doctors have spun. Anyway... sucks to be Apple now.

I see you point of view and where you stand on this issue. What I just want to highlight is that we both are just observers standing on the sideline. Your assumptions are as good as mine.

I too believe that there are no absolute in personal liberty vs security. And definitely not mutually exclusive. On that front, we do not differ. How to arrive at an optimal balance needs both side to yield. It is not a one-sided winner takes all situation.

Yes we can agree to disagree.

That's part of their plan...to create hatred to garner more support for a skew holy war...in order to create a new world order that only benefit themselves at the expense of others of ALL faiths.

Cut off their funding and don't play into their game.

没钱鬼都不理你

If they control lands with oil, they are self funding.

Curse these bloody ISIS terrorists to the deepest level of hell. They planned & carried out mass murders of innocent people to justify their warped ideology & interpretations of a peaceful religion.

Because of them, my planned trip to a conference in Amsterdam in early June has been cancelled.

Curse these bloody ISIS terrorists to the deepest level of hell. They planned & carried out mass murders of innocent people to justify their warped ideology & interpretations of a peaceful religion.

Because of them, my planned trip to a conference in Amsterdam in early June has been cancelled.

Didn't know someone's planned trip became a collateral damage to this attack over 7 time zones away.

It's an international conference/ workshops pertaining to updating of certain medical skills. Boss deemed me too invaluable to risk my life going there.

no lah...budget cut and this is a good reason to hold back...hahahhahaa

Wahlau; u just brought me down to earth fr my self deluded happy thoughts.

That's  true. Anyway i'll be driving, will avoid crowded areas.

Don't worry too much. This things can happens any part of the world nows a day.

Getting travel Insurance these days is a MUST!

Getting one b4 I depart.

can try to claim travel insurance if you have bought already, even if there isnt a clause to cover this.

they might reimburse you on goodwill basis

You've normally posted well researched posts... but in this... you're completely wrong [:p]

Very well written bro.

Because of them, my planned trip to a conference in Amsterdam in early June has been cancelled. ð¤

I was already dithering about whether to go to Barcelona in early April to test the M2 on the Catalunya circuit. My reluctance was because it's my son's PSLE year, and it's a little stressful at home.

After this, my mind is made up. Even if it's not near the attack zone, I bet the security screening etc. will be scaled up to ridiculous heights in the aftermath of this tragedy. Just not worth the bother.

Getting travel Insurance these days is a MUST!

Getting one b4 I depart.

IMO, get travel insurance ASAP. Most people leave it till before they depart. But I prefer to get travel insurance immediately after I have confirmed my holiday plans cuz anything can happen during that period also. Get early or late usually the price no difference unless got promotion.