PRC Tourists in Bangkok

Civic2000

DIdn't get a chance to buy formula for my 3 kids. Used the cheapest milk possible.  [:p]

me neither.

S26 compares to others is more ex, so not value for money...hahahhaha

No, its not cheap hor....... its priced almost the same as any other brands.  can go to supermarkets and check prices

my son is taking Similac, and its not made in SG. I rem its made in Swiss or somewhere. Bought from Fairprice.  

And Pedisure also, its not made in SG. 

As a habit, I read everything on labels before buying.

S26 is the only one made in SG.

That's extremely odd considering they have a factory in Singapore.

Closed down already?!

http://www.asiabiotech.com/13/1303/0055_0056.pdf

http://www.foodprocessing-technology.com/projects/abbotpediatric/

That's extremely odd considering they have a factory in Singapore.

Closed down already?!

http://www.asiabiotech.com/13/1303/0055_0056.pdf

http://www.foodprocessing-technology.com/projects/abbotpediatric/

maybe its due to market positioning. 

They might feel that selling made in SG milk to SG market is not well received (compared to made in some ang moh country), so they export to other Asian countries.

And Asian markets are definitely bigger than SG market

DIdn't get a chance to buy formula for my 3 kids. Used the cheapest milk possible.  [:p]

My girl is on breastmilk now.

It is the MOST EXPENSIVE milk..... If you take into account the price of the pumps, payment to lactation specialist, pain and agony of breasfeeding...

Go check out some US forums where they are selling breastmilk and you will be amazed at the price. There are also some perverts there who want breastmilk right from the breast and they are paying a lot of $$$ for it.

They might feel that selling made in SG milk to SG market is not well received (compared to made in some ang moh country), so they export to other Asian countries.

Could be... but anyway, that also means that S26 isn't the only "local" milk company. Just that they are the only ones selling in the local market?

It is the MOST EXPENSIVE milk..... If you take into account the price of the pumps, payment to lactation specialist, pain and agony of breasfeeding...

Go check out some US forums where they are selling breastmilk and you will be amazed at the price. There are also some perverts there who want breastmilk right from the breast and they are paying a lot of $$$ for it.

Could be... but anyway, that also means that S26 isn't the only "local" milk company. Just that they are the only ones selling in the local market?

Breast milk is nature's way of raising the next gen, yet it seemed to be the last option for many.

I guess depends on individual lo. My wife is a SAHM and she has ample supply of milk so never had to get help from any lactation specialist and no need to pump. She feels it is effortless compared to formula. The advantages being we don't need to bring any hot water, formula and bottles out. Can just go out with the baby and a spare set of diapers. I think some women are more sensitive there or feed wrongly? My wife says that it isn't uncomfortable when feeding.

I know it's made in SG (one of my relatives was working there) but you guys were saying that it is a Singapore company?

In that case, the following milk companies are also local companies since they have a factory here too:

1. Similac (Abbott)

2. Pedisure (Abbott)

Ah true.

Apologies for my misleading comments. 

I guess depends on individual lo. My wife is a SAHM and she has ample supply of milk so never had to get help from any lactation specialist and no need to pump. She feels it is effortless compared to formula. The advantages being we don't need to bring any hot water, formula and bottles out. Can just go out with the baby and a spare set of diapers. I think some women are more sensitive there or feed wrongly? My wife says that it isn't uncomfortable when feeding.

Most people stop breast feeding nowadays cos when go back to work, usually they can pump few months only at most.

Once u suckle less during the daytime, the milk flow drops. And the time required for pumping + cleaning the equipment can take up quite a part of the work day.

And going back to work is stressful, so naturally milk flow drops.

Most people don't pump beyond a few mths once they go back to work.

err it's definitely cheaper lah in the long run.

Just make sure your wife is taking DHA supplements. Or eating a lot of fish.

me neither.

S26 compares to others is more ex, so not value for money...hahahhaha

Enfalac is the most expensive. Then followed by similac. 

Then Naan, Dugro and S26.

S26 used to be the cheapest, then they raised price and became comparable to their competitors.

Just did more research on this. Here's a post from another bro in this forum from 2012.

My daughter drinks Similac from JB.

No diff and no complaints.

Similac 1 & 2 made in Spore. Confirmed with cousin who works at Abbott.

3 onwards made in Ireland.

I now trying S26 which is made in Singapore by wyeth.

Price quite reasonable too in medicinal hall.

http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2679140-similac-milk-powder-jb-vs-sg/?do=findComment&comment=4460749

So maybe your Similac is 3 onwards?

No, its not cheap hor....... its priced almost the same as any other brands.  can go to supermarkets and check prices

my son is taking Similac, and its not made in SG. I rem its made in Swiss or somewhere. Bought from Fairprice.  

Enfalac is from holland. I think Similac is also likely from that country. But i stopped reading the label liao. Lol was only paranoid about it when my girl was first born.

err it's definitely cheaper lah in the long run.

Just make sure your wife is taking DHA supplements. Or eating a lot of fish.

Already taking (even before pregnancy).

But I still think it is more expensive if you factor in the effort needed.

Just did more research on this. Here's a post from another bro in this forum from 2012.

So maybe your Similac is 3 onwards?

Stage 3 is the one they drink the longest, cos it's 1 up to 3 years.

Lol always the first stage to be out of stock at supermarkets.

Ah yes, ireland. Correct.

Good info.

At that age for abbott grow, lol just drink normal milk lah. Just warm up the milk in microwave.

That being said, my girl is still drinking stage 4 gain IQ

But now she alternates between farmhouse milk and this.

Already taking (even before pregnancy).

But I still think it is more expensive if you factor in the effort needed.

Good things always require more effort heh.

For SAHM, still not too difficult. For the working mum, it's very tough especially with work demands.

Good info.

At that age for abbott grow, lol just drink normal milk lah. Just warm up the milk in microwave.

That being said, my girl is still drinking stage 4 gain IQ

But now she alternates between farmhouse milk and this.

Good things always require more effort heh.

For SAHM, still not too difficult. For the working mum, it's very tough especially with work demands.

Agree that for SAHM mum, its easy to breastfeed cuz they don't need to deal with the hassle of pumping milk at all if they are comfortable feeding outside. That way, they have nothing to prepare except to wear clothing that can help with breast feeding.

My eldest son also drinking farmhouse milk since he was 3+ or 4. The PD told us that for most children, they can actually start drinking these kind of fresh milk from the age of 1... Just that it is not common and if can continue breast feeding then it will be better.

Hmmmmm............ you son take 'Similac' milk......

You take simi lac milk ? ... :XD:

There are Similac and Pediasure made in SG. I bought before.