HDB Bathroom floor leaks into neighbour's ceiling

Albeniz

Treat it like hdb home improvement programme lo, when they come and upgrade your toilets also very messy and dirty.

My area just did home improvement and now ceiling leaking more than before  [mad]

Went down to Kelantan Lane and bought 3 rolls of waterproofing epoxy and managed to fix leak from the big drainage pipe.  [thumbsup]

Is it? Water-proofing works has always been 10yrs, either the water-proofing specialist 5yrs and contractor 5yrs back to back or 10yrs straight by specialist leh.. I go ask my friends and see if this has changed..

I had thot it was 10 or 5 years but maybe they cut down to 1 year to protect themselve  :mellow:

Just in case any bro need to DIY fix leak, get "Aquapatch" epoxy from the corner shop with sliding glass door. It is next to blk 31. Kelantan Lane.

knead it like plasticine and patch the leak, press hard to make sure it adhere and seal the leak. It cures in 10-20 mins and is rock hard after an hour . . .  [:)]

Edited by Count-Bracula

My area just did home improvement and now ceiling leaking more than before  [mad]

Went down to Kelantan Lane and bought 3 rolls of waterproofing epoxy and managed to fix leak from the big drainage pipe.  [thumbsup]

I had thot it was 10 or 5 years but maybe they cut down to 1 year to protect themselve  :mellow:

From HDB website, it seems like there are 5 yrs warranty for ceiling leakage, wall seepage and 10yrs for spalling concrete. 

Of course there is a note at the bottom that reads: "*The warranty for ceiling leak will cease if floor tiles have been changed; or if the waterproofing system has been tampered with." So if after home improvement works (presumably by HDB), then HDB shall be liable for rectification works caused by their appointed Contractor to carry out the works.

More than 10 years already.

But if I'm not wrong, HDB has this graceful act of footing 50% while the two tenants pays the oter 25%+25% 

top floor ceiling leak leh ?

That's correct. 

Now after waterproofing works done, warranty is only for one year . . . . HDB contractor say one.

this reminds me of the time I was looking for reno contractors to do my resale flat ...

I got one quote from one rather big reno coy in Eunos area who quoted me full floor screeding including living room and bedrooms !!??

other contractors I talked to all laughed at the quote ....

top floor ceiling leak leh ?

mean outside structure got problem, HDB will bear 100% of the cost. 

mine 30 yrs old unit where the aircon 'hole' was always have water sip in during heavy rain, HDB came to check and say is the outside structure problem, they fixed it for free.

You should go bang table at HDB on your ceiling leaking problem, do not let them off so easy lo.

I mellow liao . . . last time bang table will split one  [laugh]

Aiya, such thing cannot mellow de. It is their fault which created the problem ma.

Just in case any bro need to DIY fix leak, get "Aquapatch" epoxy from the corner shop with sliding glass door. It is next to blk 31. Kelantan Lane.

knead it like plasticine and patch the leak, press hard to make sure it adhere and seal the leak. It cures in 10-20 mins and is rock hard after an hour . . . [:)]

Ur flr leak down to below neighbour or the above leak down to urs ?

Btw that aquapatch is for flooring or pipe ? How you find the spot to fix ?

TIA bro

Ur flr leak down to below neighbour or the above leak down to urs ?

Btw that aquapatch is for flooring or pipe ? How you find the spot to fix ?

TIA bro

Bro, above leak down. After fixing got worse!!

This Aquapatch thing will even cure under water.For me it is for the gap between pipe and ceiling concrete.

You should be able to see the watermark of the drip. Have to prepare the surface, use a cloth to wipe clean and almost dry

but moist also no problem for this epoxy. Knead it for 2 mins mixing the compound then you get a dough like substance.

Press it firming against the place where leak is and patch up nicely. Will cure in 10 mins and after 1 hour will harden.

Damn good! At least it worked for me. I tried Selleys gap fillers, silicon sealant but all no use.

This Aquapatch thing will even cure under water.For me it is for the gap between pipe and ceiling concrete.

You should be able to see the watermark of the drip. Have to prepare the surface, use a cloth to wipe clean and almost dry

but moist also no problem for this epoxy. Knead it for 2 mins mixing the compound then you get a dough like substance.

Press it firming against the place where leak is and patch up nicely. Will cure in 10 mins and after 1 hour will harden.

Damn good! At least it worked for me. I tried Selleys gap fillers, silicon sealant but all no use.

Thanks bro .... but wont that cause the water to be stuck in the concrete

haha . . . scary thought  [laugh]  

I think for leakage from big drainage pipe should be fine, can only flow away and hopefully not stuck somewhere until one day . . . .

BOOOMZ!   [grin]

Frankly, this method will not be permanent solution. Leak from the difference in material joints cannot be fixed from the bottom up.your source will find another weaker spot to leak dowm. The wterproofing material has to wrap around the joints. There should be no ponding around the joint to be effective.

haha . . . scary thought  [laugh]  

I think for leakage from big drainage pipe should be fine, can only flow away and hopefully not stuck somewhere until one day . . . .

BOOOMZ!   [grin]

:D it happened to my place recently too . Down stair neighbour (an old couple moved in 2 years ago) , complained there was water dripping from the ceiling in their bathing .  But sometime drip a abit , most of the time dont drip ..... kind of hard to troubleshoot. Went down to help them look at the bathroom . Worst pipe was mostly concealed , but I did felt some moist on the pipe.  So asked them to get contractor to check it out. He got his contractor came over my place to check too ...  open up the big cover on my bathroom floor and said the water proofing around the edge inside  deteriorated . Thus water slip through to down stair . We got it fixed but still monitoring for a month or two.