HDB Bathroom floor leaks into neighbour's ceiling

Albeniz

On 9/28/2016 at 3:15 AM, Bluepica said:

Latest update, H-lee-bee officer came and take a look, say he had spoke to upstair neighbor, neighbor said no need to inspect, if officer think need to redo the toilet flooring, just go ahead and apply for the 50% subsidise and 25/25 share scheme. So officer will apply to do upstair flooring... hope everything settled

Good for you your neiber very steady.  Last time I encountered similar issue my upstair neiber bo hiu lan say they no money to repair HDB officer also bo pian.  Luckily, the EASE program from HDB happened soon after so everything settled sui sui for only few hundred bucks, including new toilets, waterproofing and new tiles.

On 9/28/2016 at 3:28 AM, Jellandross said:

Good for you your neiber very steady.  Last time I encountered similar issue my upstair neiber bo hiu lan say they no money to repair HDB officer also bo pian.  Luckily, the EASE program from HDB happened soon after so everything settled sui sui for only few hundred bucks, including new toilets, waterproofing and new tiles.

But i also give and take... I told officer I applied two more layers of sealant and gloss paint and last layer of emulsion paint...because this is not some obvious leakage problem, let see if the yellow patch reappear or not, if yes, we go ahead with the plan, if not, he can cancel the request, because such request according to him, takes time too.

On 9/29/2016 at 1:16 AM, Bluepica said:

Is this floortrap acceptable?? will water seep in between the concrete and the pipe and spell trouble for my downstairs neighbor in time to come?

Came across this post in renotalk while i was researching on stuff relating to renovation

http://www.renotalk.com/forum/topic/62505-top-kew-drive/?do=findComment&comment=857733

Apparently, the above (and the way your bathroom is done) is suppose to be the correct way.

It'll be great if there are experts in this forum who can verify this.

On 9/29/2016 at 1:33 AM, Hibeam2 said:

Came across this post in renotalk while i was researching on stuff relating to renovation

http://www.renotalk.com/forum/topic/62505-top-kew-drive/?do=findComment&comment=857733

Apparently, the above (and the way your bathroom is done) is suppose to be the correct way.

It'll be great if there are experts in this forum who can verify this.

hmmm... I thought the whole floor trap need to be in one piece (unlike my current, the cover chopped of from the main pipe) so that water got no chance to seep into the concrete....

On 9/29/2016 at 1:48 AM, Bluepica said:

hmmm... I thought the whole floor trap need to be in one piece (unlike my current, the cover chopped of from the main pipe) so that water got no chance to seep into the concrete....

I have forwarded the photo to the HDB officer attending to my case, he said my contractor cutting corner..... there should not be a joint from the white piping as well.... the floor trap should be in one full piece. Asked me to ask contractor to re do it or I will have to redo it few years down the road when the concrete joint to the pipe gives way and start to leak downstairs. :dizzy:

Looks like cannot trust contractor nowadays, as many of them anyhow do or do shabby works and create problems later. They only know how to collect money but dont know how to produce quality work.

Edited by 13177

On 5/3/2018 at 6:17 AM, carloverguy2017 said:

My unit also encounter leaking from upper floor.

I was informed $1200 job.

HDB foots $600

Upper $300

Me $300

Sounds about right. Then HDB will send a contractor to come and do grouting but will be very messy and dusty.

  On 5/3/2018 at 6:35 AM, Buadongdong said:

Sounds about right. Then HDB will send a contractor to come and do grouting but will be very messy and dusty.

No choice one

This kind of job sure messy one

  On 5/3/2018 at 8:38 AM, Mustank said:

No choice one

Treat it like hdb home improvement programme lo, when they come and upgrade your toilets also very messy and dirty.

On 5/3/2018 at 8:38 AM, Mustank said:

No choice one

Yah.. have to ensure that they close the door and at least lay some canvas over to collect the large debris. Otherwise, clean up is gonna be a headache lo..

  On 5/3/2018 at 6:17 AM, carloverguy2017 said:

My unit also encounter leaking from upper floor.

I was informed $1200 job.

HDB foots $600

Upper $300

Me $300

HDB will still foot? thought always the case of 50/50 between upper and lower floor.

On 5/3/2018 at 9:11 AM, Dafansu said:

HDB will still foot? thought always the case of 50/50 between upper and lower floor.

If within 10yrs, hdb will pay full because water proofing warranty is for 10yrs by the builder.

On 5/3/2018 at 12:51 PM, carloverguy2017 said:

More than 10 years already.

But if I'm not wrong, HDB has this graceful act of footing 50% while the two tenants pays the oter 25%+25% 

That's correct. 

On 5/3/2018 at 12:21 PM, Buadongdong said:

If within 10yrs, hdb will pay full because water proofing warranty is for 10yrs by the builder.

Now after waterproofing works done, warranty is only for one year . . . . HDB contractor say one.

On 9/20/2018 at 12:36 AM, Count-Bracula said:

That's correct.

Now after waterproofing works done, warranty is only for one year . . . . HDB contractor say one.

Is it? Water-proofing works has always been 10yrs, either the water-proofing specialist 5yrs and contractor 5yrs back to back or 10yrs straight by specialist leh.. I go ask my friends and see if this has changed..