Singapore Airlines Welcome it's first A350

Shull

I thought Scoot already use this model for their flight to Don Moen Thailand? No more window shade to pull up as it is electronically controlled.

Scoot using Boeing 787 "Dreamliner" .... :yeah-im-not-drunk:

Complete replacing of 777 by 2020..

There's a reason why all airlines will buy a bit of both brands.

Call me a conspiracist, but the big boys want to keep both brands in business, so that they always have a choice.

There was a time when the 777 came out and everyone thought it's downhill for Airbus from then, especially with the doomed A340. But they bounced back and the A320 was seen as a superior product to even the latest generation of 737s.

I simplified, of course. The considerations behind acquisition of aircraft are complex and not often transparent. As far as we are concerned, I just hope SIA realises how far behind the Qataris and UAE they are...

geographically cannot fight lah. UAE is sitting right in the middle of the world. 

with the oil $$ they have they can buy however many aircrafts they want! SIA used to have the largest B777 fleet. u see how Emirates expand. its scary! B77W they have 117 as at end of 2015. 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Singapore_Airlines_fleet

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Emirates_fleet

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Qatar_Airways

https://www.facebook.com/TheStraitsTimes/videos/10153314859652115/

http://www.singaporeair.com/microsite/a350/#/home

A new plane model joining it's fleet (the last one being the A380, and SIA's purchase of B787 "Dreamliner" transferred to Scoot).

The A350 will slowly replace the older B777 on medium and long haul routes (the first one being Singapore - Amsterdam)

Business class will be 1-2-1 configuration, Premium Economy 2-4-2 and Economy 3-3-3

Hopefully this will improve our airline standings, qualities , etc ...  :)

I thought Scoot already use this model for their flight to Don Moen Thailand? No more window shade to pull up as it is electronically controlled.

Scoot flies the B787 Dreamliner (which is originally bought by SIA and transferred to Scoot)

geographically cannot fight lah. UAE is sitting right in the middle of the world. 

with the oil $$ they have they can buy however many aircrafts they want! SIA used to have the largest B777 fleet. u see how Emirates expand. its scary! B77W they have 117 as at end of 2015. 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Singapore_Airlines_fleet

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Emirates_fleet

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Qatar_Airways

and they have 74 A380s, with a further 66 on order.. 

Emirates go by volume one.. you see how they pack their economy class you know liao.. 3-4-3 in 777 is extremely cramped..

SIA cannot compete with them on volume. SIA need to differentiate themselves from the middle eastern airlines by continuing to do what they are very good at, that is cabin hard and soft product..

B777 also 3-3-3, the space is OK what.

Especially the B777 300ER

Why need to talk about 3-3-3. I thought here must be full cash payment for car plus 1-2-1 biz class only? If need to fly economy/take loan for car, means cannot afford trip/buy car?

That's for T2 and his gang..

You referring to Nokscoot? JV between Nok Air (51%) and SIA (49%).

They initially wan to use the B777 from Scoot but the Thai Aviation authority dun allow cos the B777 are too old. Hence, Nokscoot lease newer B777 from SIA.

what this forum lacks is a hand wearing a casio pointing to Today paper

Edited by Karoon

Hopefully this will improve our airline standings, qualities , etc ...  :)

wah, :o .....here also you hope, hopeful and hopefully huh ? [laugh]

any idea when and the destination of her maiden flight ?

I love B777. Going to miss it....

3-3-3 is a terrible configuration.

Find 3-3-3 much better than 2-4-2, hate taking the 2-4-2 flights

wah, :o .....here also you hope, hopeful and hopefully huh ? [laugh]

any idea when and the destination of her maiden flight ?

"The aircraft will be operated on Jakarta and Kuala Lumpur flights on a temporary basis while crew are trained on it, before being put to work on 13-hour flights to Amsterdam from May 9."

guess no chance for me to try SQ 350 ... me no go Amsterdam ...

I love windows seat, which means if I need to vacate, must let the other two smell my ass. [laugh]

@porker would like to sit beside u then :D

how do this aircraft code work

A350 is larger than A380?

Boeing 777 is larger than 787?

no particular pattern.. 

A350 is much smaller than A380 btw...

I love B777. Going to miss it....

3-3-3 is a terrible configuration.

if 3-3-3 is bad. what about 3-4-3

3-3-3 cant get any better liao! unless you buy your own B77W

if 3-3-3 is bad. what about 3-4-3

3-3-3 cant get any better liao! unless you buy your own B77W

1-2-1 or 2-2-2- is best..  [:p]

Find 3-3-3 much better than 2-4-2, hate taking the 2-4-2 flights

I prefer 2-4-2 although a bit cramp but at least our family of 4 can sit together.