Wall cabinet collapsed in Canberra Residences condo unit

Jellandross

Agreed. My kitchen sink cabinet made of plywood gave way after 3 years, partly due to water ingress. The plywood is so soft and weak.

Changed to Ikea cabinet, the compressed wood doors are so heavy, the laminate is well made, overall should be more durable than those plywood doors.

Are you talking about the countertop right ?? If that is the item you can use the so called PVC type Corrian or even granite and I kept the base tiles exposed and the wood frame structure can be seen when the doors are opened so that in case there is water seepage it can be seen easily as there are drainage pipes and this area is always somehow moist due to spillage over the silicon between the basin and countertop and gets smelly - I leave ithe doors open always overnight - I put some pandan leaves always so roaches / chichaks don't come in Edited by BanCoe

Want to rebuild (DIY) part of the toilet door frame. The lower portion rotten due to water. Want to chop off the bottom section and replace with wood. Where to buy blocks of wood cut to dimension or long rectangle strips of woods?

Quality has dropped badly in all houses now, whether hdb or private!

This is due to some greedy developers want to have big profits.

Another type is use low quality materials cut cost to make the selling price looks "affordable" or cheaper compare to other projects.

where got [sly] ... muahahahahaha ...

103415507-GettyImages-492770442.530x298.

This is due to some greedy developers want to have big profits.

Another type is use low quality materials cut cost to make the selling price looks "affordable" or cheaper compare to other projects.

Almost every new development in Singapore have a China partner, either as main-con or sub-con. Be prepared for more mishaps, especially once the developments get older; or maybe as soon as the glue dries.

Want to rebuild (DIY) part of the toilet door frame. The lower portion rotten due to water. Want to chop off the bottom section and replace with wood. Where to buy blocks of wood cut to dimension or long rectangle strips of woods?

if you want in the city area - try Kim Hup Lee 16 King Georges Avenue (opposite Song Lim Bldg and the blue mosque near  on Victoria Street/jalan Sultan ) , I see a lot of planks there last time , there was another one in Balestier Road near Khalsa Assn, but i think they closed down already)

But I dont know if they cut on the spot the size (if not carry a saw and cut on the spot ) unless you got a pick up/lorry or van

But you must check out the different types of wood suitable too;     

Are you talking about the countertop right ?? If that is the item you can use the so called PVC type Corrian or even granite and I kept the base tiles exposed and the wood frame structure can be seen when the doors are opened so that in case there is water seepage it can be seen easily as there are drainage pipes and this area is always somehow moist due to spillage over the silicon between the basin and countertop and gets smelly - I leave ithe doors open always overnight - I put some pandan leaves always so roaches / chichaks don't come in

My counter top was made of acrylic. But all counter tops will have a layer of plywood below. To make things worse, the sink was mounted from below, and not using proper bracket. Over time water leaked through the gap between the sink and the counter top. I had no say in the construction as it was fidone by the previous house owner.

So when I changed to Ikea cabinet and counter top, decided to do top mount of the sink. Aesthetically not as nice, but more lasting and water tight. Very important as my mom cooks 2 meals a day in the kitchen.

There are various ways to "anchor" a piece of wood and the cabinet, to the wall.

Length, width, number of screws used, depth of hole, type of anchors, will determine if they have enough load-bearing.

If properly done, the cabinet will stay on the wall indefinitely.

If you scrimp on something, then it will fall off.

Agreed. My kitchen sink cabinet made of plywood gave way after 3 years, partly due to water ingress. The plywood is so soft and weak.

Changed to Ikea cabinet, the compressed wood doors are so heavy, the laminate is well made, overall should be more durable than those plywood doors.

Ya true.  Mine too was spoilt .  Wonder why they nvr use cement instead of plywood for the sink area. Our parents' time they use cement instead of plywood right?

I always tell my first timers friends who are renovating their house to make sure that their sink area are not made of wood. Make sure it is made with cement.

Now everything made in China.  Even the workers that "do" your renovation also china.

When I ask for replacement of my spoilt heater, I insisted that a Singaporean electrician.  If not later  kena electric shock and die. 

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/this-urban-jungle/18-year-old-dies-during-shower-at-hougang-flat-after-freak-accident-with-water

Still can find Singaporean electricians etc meh?  At most can find Malaysians...

Better equipped yourself with a test pen and have some basic knowledge of electrical circuits.....

Ya true. Mine too was spoilt . Wonder why they nvr use cement instead of plywood for the sink area. Our parents' time they use cement instead of plywood right?

I always tell my first timers friends who are renovating their house to make sure that their sink area are not made of wood. Make sure it is made with cement.

Now everything made in China. Even the workers that "do" your renovation also china.

When I ask for replacement of my spoilt heater, I insisted that a Singaporean electrician. If not later kena electric shock and die.

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/this-urban-jungle/18-year-old-dies-during-shower-at-hougang-flat-after-freak-accident-with-water

Wise choice [thumbsup]

Can, but very old kind. Mine 60+ ownself employ ownself kind.

Still can find Singaporean electricians etc meh?  At most can find Malaysians...

Better equipped yourself with a test pen and have some basic knowledge of electrical circuits.....

sometimes i feel perturbed by the way hdb works.

when the land is released for bidding, the one who bid the highest gets the dough, this pushes up the house prices as the developer need to earn a princely amount of $.

why can't they choose the one with the lowest bidding?

collect money they will take the highest bid.

when choosing vendors for their contract services they will take the vendor with lowest tender amount.

what fxxk logic is this seriously?

they should wake up their ideas and start to accept bid lowest amount from the developer in order to keep competitive and affordable price for hdb peasants like us.

Edited by KumarB

sometimes i feel perturbed by the way hdb works.

when the land is released for bidding, the one who bid the highest gets the dough, this pushes up the house prices as the developer need to earn a princely amount of $.

why can't they choose the one with the lowest bidding?

collect money they will take the highest bid.

when choosing vendors for their contract services they will take the vendor with lowest tender amount.

what fxxk logic is this seriously?

they should wake up their ideas and start to accept bid lowest amount from the developer in order to keep competitive and affordable price for hdb peasants like us.

Is this a joke?