Wall cabinet collapsed in Canberra Residences condo unit

Jellandross

In SG, buildings very unlikely to collapse due to kiasi standards by BCA

however do be aware that worksmanship will be poor if u buy a new condo that was constructed in the past 8 yrs

nothing to do with how much u have paid. it is just that rush of projects + thin developer margins = lousy quality

hence another reason why to not buy a new project when everyone is rushing to buy

other than the higher price driven up by demand

the quality will also be generally poorer

Er, just about every damn thing was constructed in the past 8 yrs......

So you advise not to buy. Ok ok i wont buy

Eh, but you still advise people to buy becos price always going up leh?

So you advising to buy or not to buy.

If dont buy and i hv already two extra, should i sell?

Mai confuse leh

Muayhahahahaha

Edited by Throttle2

you are right ... building wont collapse but

cabinet collapse

floor tile crack and popping

glass shattered

door & window cannot close properly (not air tight)

pipe burst

sewage choke

car park ceiling water dropping

what else? lol

what do all these buyers what??

coffeeshop? food court? Restaurant??

building never collapse on you and kill u already very fortunate

don't make VB angry and come and scold the buyers!

Muayhahahahaha

u say also like dont say

no money no job want to buy what??  [laugh]

SG buildings are able to withstand minor tremors. All high-rise are also built to have tolerances for movement/swaying. 

tbh unless friend is architect, gotta take his word with a pinch of salt.  But then again, maybe architect design/planning is all good, but building koyak and never follow. 

Edited by Mockngbrd

Eh, but you still advise people to buy becos price always going up leh?

So you advising to buy or not to buy.

If dont buy and i hv already two extra, should i sell?

Mai confuse leh

Muayhahahahaha

why u so confused?

very simple 

want to sell, up to u. want to buy also up to u

buy sell big ticket item u solely rely on a stranger's advice? esp one that has vested interest?? 

pls lah

anyway u so guru, don't need anyone to advise u one

I think they will say that there are lapses in the installation lor.

If I'm not wrong they might have run out of heavy duty wall plugs to secure the cabinets and they use those plastic wall plugs instead. The foreign workers couldn't care less what they use to secure the cabinets.

400px-Wallplugs_selection_0175-4.jpg

Vs

12325-4890065.jpg

I have done my part of DIYs around the house so I know where to buy them and how to install heavy items on the walls.

For furniture wise there are hardly any solid wood unless you recycle really old furnitures. All are compressed chipboards made to form plywood. All are cheapskate material. Pre-fabricated by a carpenter, size given by the contractor and finish using fake wood finish to give the expensive look. All are cheap to construct. That's why contractors can make a lot of money. Looks expensive but all are made up of compressed chipboards underneath.

If you think your home's cabinet is made out of quality material becoz you paid premium for it you will be so wrong. All of them use the same cheap method.

Bottomline, do check out who is the private developer and contractor.

Check the history abt it's workmanship.

It's always good to do all the groundwork first rather than chionging the showroom and show your Cheque...

If I'm not wrong they might have run out of heavy duty wall plugs to secure the cabinets and they use those plastic wall plugs instead. The foreign workers couldn't care less what they use to secure the cabinets.

Vs

I have done my part of DIYs around the house so I know where to buy them and how to install heavy items on the walls.

For furniture wise there are hardly any solid wood unless you recycle really old furnitures. All are compressed chipboards made to form plywood. All are cheapskate material. Pre-fabricated by a carpenter, size given by the contractor and finish using fake wood finish to give the expensive look. All are cheap to construct. That's why contractors can make a lot of money. Looks expensive but all are made up of compressed chipboards underneath.

If you think your home's cabinet is made out of quality material becoz you paid premium for it you will be so wrong. All of them use the same cheap method.

Iron wall plugs are usually for structural use. to withstand loads in tons... 

plastic wall plugs can serve the same purpose for wall cabinets as long as they are calculated to be able to withstand max load. having said that, i guess no interior contractors do calculation for wall cabinet mountings. 

compressed chipboards should not be used for furniture as they can literally disintegrate when exposed to moisture. 

Vs

12325-4890065.jpg

this type taobao buy very cheap :grin:

http://world.taobao.com/search/search.htm?_ksTS=1456281766742_19&spm=a21bp.7806943.20151106.1&search_type=0&_input_charset=utf-8&navigator=all&json=on&q=%E8%86%A8%E8%83%80%E8%9E%BA%E4%B8%9D%E9%87%8D%E5%9E%8B&cna=TQZUDwMRfBgCAaBg1I4gOFVN&callback=__jsonp_cb&abtest=_AB-LR517-LR854-LR895-PR517-PR854-PV895_2462

nuff said

China developer and contractor - almost guaranteed to have problems. When searching for a condo, I always check who is the developer and if possible (if already appointed) the contractor. The moment it is a China developer I will not waste my time visiting the showflat. Unfortunately many are clueless about this. Their choices also seem to be limited as China developers are now muscling into  all the suburban areas, winning most of the land bids.

It's always good to do all the groundwork first rather than chionging the showroom and show your Cheque...

Bto also have china contractor, right?

yes  they call the wood look " veneer" basically like a piece of shaven eal wood and glued on to the plywood usualy used for wardrobes, but kitchen ones I think still they use solid wood , but never know now-a-days  maybe got good fake ones too; n yes they use those plastic wall plugs many a times (i do it for light wall stuff) but I remember my contractor worker use those so called "Hilti" guns 

just like when we buy a car too.. high tech this n that and latter end up spending more at workshops when a issue crops up  

Vs

12325-4890065.jpg

Bro.... very hard to check if not impossible , they will show always European finishing or designer this n that - and very nice looking  and different, this branded faucets, that branded kitchen appliances, most people would be mesmerised already by then.

Edited by BanCoe

Iron wall plugs are usually for structural use. to withstand loads in tons... 

plastic wall plugs can serve the same purpose for wall cabinets as long as they are calculated to be able to withstand max load. having said that, i guess no interior contractors do calculation for wall cabinet mountings. 

compressed chipboards should not be used for furniture as they can literally disintegrate when exposed to moisture. 

There are many sizes of wall plugs to choose from. Not only for structural use. So long there's significant weight heavy duty wall plugs can be used.

Plastic wall plugs are definitely NOT to be used for wall cabinets. I have seen my contractors installed them. I have to check that they use the correct wall plugs.

Compressed chipboards also come heat treated or non treated, difference in the price of course. This I know as I have bought it for my own home small projects.

you are right ... building wont collapse but

cabinet collapse

floor tile crack and popping

glass shattered

door & window cannot close properly (not air tight)

pipe burst

sewage choke

car park ceiling water dropping

what else? lol

as Wyfitms posted ... whole building wont collapse due to BCA kiasi guidelines

but ... parts broken here there everywhere lor .... so called "imperfection" ... muahahaha

So people now have to bear with the defects found in their flats, even though the building would not collapse. Then have to wait for hdb HIP to rectify the problems on their flat. But i always wonder what is the selection cateria for SERS project on HDB flat? How come some hdb flats only about 30 years old got SERS, whereas some flats 40-50 years old still not selected for SERS?

Edited by 13177

yes  they call the wood look " veneer" basically like a piece of shaven eal wood and glued on to the plywood usualy used for wardrobes, but kitchen ones I think still they use solid wood , but never know now-a-days  maybe got good fake ones too; n yes they use those plastic wall plugs many a times (i do it for light wall stuff) but I remember my contractor worker use those so called "Hilti" guns 

just like when we buy a car too.. high tech this n that and latter end up spending more at workshops when a issue crops up  

Bro.... very hard to check if not impossible , they will show always European finishing or designer this n that - and very nice looking  and different, this branded faucets, that branded kitchen appliances, most people would be mesmerised already by then.

It's just the finishing that looks attractive, European design or what I highly doubt it. To make up the thickness it's that layer of plywood made out of chipboard underneath. In Singapore you won't find solid wood in cabinets or cupboards. You can tell the difference by weight. If it's made out of solid wood you will see your contractor hiring lots of foreign workers to carry your cabinets to your home before installing them. When you see that 2-3 workers can move them like cardboards you know they are plywood made out of chipboards.

It's just the finishing that looks attractive, European design or what I highly doubt it. To make up the thickness it's that layer of plywood made out of chipboard underneath. In Singapore you won't find solid wood in cabinets or cupboards.

agree

the most is the 3ply wood

三合板