Wall cabinet collapsed in Canberra Residences condo unit

Jellandross

I noticed some comments talking about the fact that the rear of the cabinet is un-tiled and also uses strips of wood between cabinet and wood.

I would like to clarify to as far as I know, that is standard procedure when you redo your kitchen for example.

The part that will be covered by cabinets will be left un-tiled by contractor UNLESS you insist on it being tiled - which may in cases lead to additional charge.

Also custom cabinets will have a few strips of horizontal plywood attached to the back of the cabinet. Long mounting screws (self-tarping with dowels; very secure) will punch through the cabinet and the plywood strips to attach to wall. The gap is covered up by formica (laminate) to make the cabinet look seemless.

No leh bro, full tiling should be the standard. Next time change cabinet how? One ugly patch of wall, half tiled half cement.

Not complete tiling is shoddy work and cheating.

Think the cabinet was quite loaded too but really shoddy work. With regards to you get what you pay, I think that even if you pay a lot, will still get cheap products unless you know what you want.

i have a buddy in construction industry

he is not working for developer or main contractor

but he visited worksite frequently

after he has seen how bto / condo structural were built

his confidence also shaken liao and don't dare to live high rise

I dun know about you guys but recently a lot of constructions with slim skinny "stilts" holding up the whole 40 storeys buildings  .. . . . I dare not apply for these kind of BTOs. [sweatdrop]

Bro, SG's buildings structurally are over-designed. To be honest it's safer than a lot of countries. However, the interior in terms of workmanship and durability is  [lipsrsealed] .

thought most are not designed and built to withstand earthquakes? They may be structurally sound, but if minor quakes or tsunami strikes...... [confused]

Bro, SG's buildings structurally are over-designed. To be honest it's safer than a lot of countries. However, the interior in terms of workmanship and durability is  [lipsrsealed] .

This is why nowadays bto can finished construct so fast?

fabricate offsite and assemble onsite

he comented

a. the material is cheapskate

b. constructed as lego set and the "link" that connect them is "weak" unlike in the good old days - rock solid

i ask him isn't there is safety standard to meet

he said ... yeah ... all chinese made stuff also meet simi standard ... do you think it's good and "lasting"?

when he see how things are done ... he has no faith on the overall quality, workmanship and built to last - shit may not happen today or after 1-2 years but what about 10-20 years???

bto and condo should last at least 30-35 years or longer before even considering enbloc & redevelopment

he comented

b. constructed as lego set and the "link" that connect them is "weak" unlike in the good old days - rock solid

he said ... yeah ... all chinese made stuff also meet simi standard ... do you think it's good and "lasting"?

when he see how things are done ... he has no faith on the overall quality, workmanship and built to last - shit may not happen today or after 1-2 years but what about 10-20 years???

bto and condo should last at least 30-35 years or longer before even considering enbloc & redevelopment

the problem is that nowadays they just think after 30-40 years can have en-bloc is not a right way to look at things, population patterns might change and there are indeed some very old apt blocks still up and around (mostly walk up type) and then there are houses here which are more than 100 years old still standing proudly

we have been (so far) quite very so lucky not to have been affected by any earthquakes  n if its tsunami's all better run up to Mt Faber or Bt.Timah        

In SG, buildings very unlikely to collapse due to kiasi standards by BCA

however do be aware that worksmanship will be poor if u buy a new condo that was constructed in the past 8 yrs

nothing to do with how much u have paid. it is just that rush of projects + thin developer margins = lousy quality

hence another reason why to not buy a new project when everyone is rushing to buy

other than the higher price driven up by demand

the quality will also be generally poorer

Yes in a rush to finish projects, don't know if they have even let the concrete mix "cured" properly and with now strict working guidelines of work timings due to space constraints between properties   ........ you know the rest ...... it just never ends

the problem is that nowadays they just think after 30-40 years can have en-bloc is not a right way to look at things, population patterns might change and there are indeed some very old apt blocks still up and around (mostly walk up type) and then there are houses here which are more than 100 years old still standing proudly

we have been (so far) quite very so lucky not to have been affected by any earthquakes  n if its tsunami's all better run up to Mt Faber or Bt.Timah        

tsunami comes, use this:

just need tons of cable tie and gorilla tape :XD:  :XD:  :XD:

355185_orig.jpg

he comented

No wonder there are so many quality problems in new flats now! Hopefully nothing will happen 10-30 years down the road for these flats, as most bto flats now build at least 20-40 story high!

no matter what tape you use , cannot survive... the floating debris will just wash you "knock you out" even if you are the olympic gold medal swimmer too, it all depends on luck, though 

tsunami comes, use this:

just need tons of cable tie and gorilla tape :XD:  :XD:  :XD:

355185_orig.jpg

you are right ... building wont collapse but

cabinet collapse

floor tile crack and popping

glass shattered

door & window cannot close properly (not air tight)

pipe burst

sewage choke

car park ceiling water dropping

what else? lol

In SG, buildings very unlikely to collapse due to kiasi standards by BCA

as Wyfitms posted ... whole building wont collapse due to BCA kiasi guidelines

but ... parts broken here there everywhere lor .... so called "imperfection" ... muahahaha

No wonder there are so many quality problems in new flats now! Hopefully nothing will happen 10-30 years down the road for these flats, as most bto flats now build at least 20-40 story high!